We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just returned from our first trip to the Son Matias hotel ( for our honeymoon ). We found all of the staff extremely friendly, professional and hard working. Our room was on the first floor with a wonderful view of the bay. We found there was an excellent choice of food in the restaurant and as it was served over a 2 - 3 hour time period there was never a wait for a table and we found that food was constantly replenished, so the full choice of menu was always available.
The pool area was very clean and we never had a problem in finding a sunbed whatever time of day we arrived there.
The entertainment is definately aimed for the more mature traveller but we expected this and it was enjoyable - Ruth works very hard both day and night to ensure all runs smoothly.
The regular guests were very friendly and helpful.
We would definately recommend this hotel and will be returning in the future as we could not fault the hotel or the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thenewlyweds250512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    216
    76
    19
    8
See reviews for
104
939
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

This hotel is next to the beach.In a morning(weather permitting) you can sit on the terrace & have breakfast whilst watching the world go by.The rooms are adequate with a kettle & complimentary tea & coffee replenished daily.The only down side is you have to hire the fridge.The stairs & corridors are all carpeted so cut out any noise from people walking on them.The food is very good & varied with plenty of sweets to choose from.But beware of the dinner plates they are VERY HOT.The entertainment was first class but you had to be in early to get a seat as they let non residents come in to listen.You can also have the services of a hairdresser who comes to your room by appointment.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & will definately go back. This is an adults only hotel.It is also family run with friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vanmollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed in the Son Matias Beach Hotel in Summer 2011. We had spent a week on a Med cruise, and then stayed at the hotel. As such we, perhaps unfairly and unwittingly, compared the hotel to the ship the previous week.

Good points:

Amazing view from the room. We were on the 2nd floor and faced square onto the sea and the lovely boats and yachts that decorated it. Genuinely best view in town. When I was told we were on the 2nd floor I immediately got concerned about noise level. However with the balcony door closed there was no noise; stranger, is when the door is open, there's still little noise! It's very peaceful watching the world go by, and it's as if passers by don't notice you're there.

Hotel kept very clean. Cleaners do a magnificent job.

On one of our party's birthday's the hotel sent up wine and chocolates. We're boring tea-totallers in general, but it was a lovely unexpected gesture. It wasn't something we arranged - I suspect the hotel database flags up birthdays, or it's manually noted at the passport check-in phase?

The breakfast was as good as any other breakfast in Majorca.

Every night the hotel had live entertainment. I'd say 50/50 as to good and bad, but at least there was something laid on (sadly other hotels continue to cut back drastically in this area). Highlights were the Motown boys, ABBA tribute (really because of the patter, 2 of the band had just got married and had family at the show), and the Michael Buble tribute who has good comedy skills too. The lowlight for me, and this might just be my taste, was Barricade Duo. A Welsh comedy duo. The problem is they're not that funny. I genuinely thought it was a couple of lads who are the funniest in their local, and had a wail of time on holiday to the point they decided to stay and make a bit of cash from an act. Turns out they're a 'proper' act - just not to my taste it seems.

A couple of the reception staff were fantastic. The younger chap (Dutch or German?) with fair hair and glasses, and the chap in his 40s with a bit of a goatee beard that may be English?

Bad points

The hotel has a policy of swiping your room card when you enter the restaurant. Fair enough - most, if not all, hotels do this or even tick your room number off. However on a couple of occasions there was no-one around so you had to wait for a bit to get in. Just a slight irritance at this stage but nothing to spit the dummy out over. What was out of order though, was one night when after a long wait no-one appeared at the door, and several times the waiting staff and maitre'd walked around inside, not looking too busy, and didn't come out. As it looked quiet we finally decided to go in - perhaps since it was almost empty they had relaxed the policy for the evening? We went in and took a seat at a table near some other guests. At this point the maitre'd decided he did want to pay attention to us, and told us we must be seated by him and have the card swiped etc. And to that end he asked us to follow him to the front door so he could swipe the cards. Wouldn't it have been more professional and polite to apologise for not seeing to us sooner, asking if he could have the cards, and taking them to the machine and swiping them without treating us like suspects of some kind? Although the restaurant was quiet it was embarrassing for the principle and the fact some other people did see this.

The dinner meals started off great. First night it seemed great - British style chips. Come our last night, which I think was billed as the gala night, it was almost something you couldn't face - an example of the first class food was some kind of curry (I'd imagine it's the type that's sold in the UK as a powder for chip shop curry sauce).

The waiting staff in the restaurant could up their game a bit when it comes to cleaning tables. One night in particular it was a disgrace how messy the place was, leading to people not getting into the restaurant. It was unforgivable how shambolic it was, given that they're not providing a waiter service. Take a drinks order, deliver the drinks, collect dishes, tidy tables is all they have to do.

One of the reception staff, unlike his colleagues highlighted above, was totally obnoxious and unhelpful. I believe, but couldn't be sure, that he may be French? Older chap, beard, silver hair if I recall. It wasn't like we were pestering him, he happened to be there twice when I had questions about transport and obtaining medication. He was so bad that one of the times I had to speak to reception about something I probably looked overly awkward as one of the 'nice' staff couldn't be nicer and more helpful, yet had a glint in their eye that perhaps indicated they could see I was hesitant to speak to them (perhaps they've seen this look before, or can guess why!).

Other guests

Broadly speaking everyone seemed a nice bunch, and this isn't a 'good' or 'bad' section of the review, just an observation.

Alarm bells started ringing on our first day when we went into the lift, a lady was in it too at the buttons, and as the doors started closing another lady came running towards the lift. Rather than press the button to keep the doors open the woman at the buttons done nothing, other than laugh when the doors closed and the woman never made it in time!

There was also a strange vibe in the hotel from the regulars (most people seemed regulars). Insofar as it's all they spoke about, either directly to us, or when in a lift or walking by them or by the pool - that is how many times they'd stayed at the hotel. In the restaurant there's a table, no different to the others and it doesn't bring waiter service or anything, but it's where regulars seem to get a turn sitting. And maybe its just the time we were there, but the folk there acted as if they were in the Royal box. Even though they were queuing for their chips and curry like the rest of us.

I couldn't say we were looked down upon, but there was a slight vibe of "you're not one of us, you've not been here before, you can't be as good as us". The truth of the matter, and ironic thing to their own admission, is you seem to pay a lot more when you book through a travel agent (as we did as part of our cruise-and-stay) as the hotel apparently offer big discounts to people that book direct with them, with the discount increasing the more often you stay. Go figure why I'm not as good as you when I've paid through the nose!

It's not a nightmare of cult like activity 24/7, but it's worth highlighting the culture to people that haven't stayed before so it's not too much of a surpise!

Room Tip: Request a 'good sea view' room - although most rooms have a sea view, I suspect this might h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Antxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

As our previous reviews show,we have had some really good holidays at this hotel in the past. However,having just returned home,we think that we have just spent our last holiday here.We were very disappointed generally and do not think that the hotel's standards are anythihg like as high as they were previously.
On arrival was not very welcoming,the lady did not seem to know we were coming.
The food was not as good as you might expect from a four star hotel.Quarter to six seems too early for dinner to begin serving in the summer season.It meant that if you'd been out for the day and arrived back in time to eat at around eight fifteen you found that popular dishes had run out and had not been replenished .The food was often overheated and was very dry.There was very little variety from day to day.The early morning breakfast served on our departure day in the "quiet room"was pathetic and an insult to the departing guests!
Generally,cleaning was passable,however I wish I could clean a bedroom and bathroom as fast! [it took 5 minutes one day,we timed it].After a week,we had to put out the card to get our bed linen changed for the first time. Our room was one of the last to be cleaned on our floor most days. Toiletries seem to have run out by then because we did not get many.
Typical Brit hotel, in the morning people waiting for almost an hour before 9am to put their towels on sunbeds which they then left for some time.The staff tried to discourage this by putting labels on the unoccupied sunbeds asking them not to do this,to no avail.
Plus points to the hotel are the waiters and waitresses in the restaurant and bar who work very hard and are always friendly and professional.
We feel the hotel is living on its past reputation.Older guests who have been going for many years are complaining about the drop in standards they see but are too set in their ways or afraid to try anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BruceandSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after being on a cruise in the Med. We were there from the 19th to the 26 May this year.

It wasnt the biggest hotel we have ever stayed in, however it was lovely.The staff were very friendly, helpful and polite, nothing was a trouble for them. A lot of the residents were elderly but that was no bad thing if you wanted a quieter holet, Magaluf is within walking distance but we had no problem with noisy groups etc.

It appeared to us that the hotel had not long had a full refurb all expcept the bathroom which wasn't bad always clean,the rooms had loads of wardrobe and drawer space. All the room furniture (wood ) looked brand new as was the balcony furniture ( 2 chairs and a table). There was a drying rack on the balcony as well. Beds were comfortable as well. The cleaning team work very hard as the whole hotel including the pool area is kept spotlessly clean.

The resturant has a very modern theme, the food was good and varied, you had to wait to be seated on an evening but breakfast was just sit where ever you wanted to.

The entertainment lounge was also very modern with all new furniture, the only thing was that it was overcrowded with furniture, and as a result it was like negotiating an assault course when it was full. Having said that they had a variety of entertainment on. For 2 hours after the evening meal it was ballroom styl dancing, then either bingo or a quiz until 10.00 pm then a group or comedian etc, all really good. There was also varied games/ activities during the daytime.

The pool was not the biggest we have seen but it wasnt a problem, as the beach was right outside the back gate of the hotel. There were always plenty of sunloungers, they also ran a strict policy of not reserving sun loungers, if towels were left more than 45 minutes unoccupied they were removed to the reception to be picked up later. There was also jacuzzi on the pool area, as well as 3 large circular leather beds full of big soft cushions if you fancied somthing other than a sun lounger.

The beach was beautiful and long in a lovely bay, it has a nice promenade if you fancy a walk it is all on the flat.

We were on the 7th floor but that wasnt a problem as they had 2 lifts, all the rooms have a sea view, one side overlooks the pool and he sea and the other half just over the sea.

The hotel is surrounded by resturants , bars and shops everything is close to hand should you need it.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel we had a lovely week, and would like to thnak all of the staff for making our holiday so nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trucklady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Just returned from our 4th visit to this beautiful hotel.We liked the refurbished bar and pool area, and the new entertainment girl is doing a GOOD Job and making everyone feel welcome,The food and friendly service were excellent as usual. The entertainment each night was was up to its usual high standard.The whole area is spotlessly clean,even the weather was good. Roll on 2013 for our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view, we have never had a bad room yet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LAKEDISTRICTTED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed at this hotel at Easter , I cannot fault this place at all , the staff are great, very helpfull and friendly, the rooms are very clean and comfortable , and the food is typically British ,but of good quality an well cooked, it is an hotel that caters for the more mature guests and is very relaxing, I would go back like a shot.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.4 mi away
Viva Palmanova & Spa
Viva Palmanova & Spa
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
3.4 mi away
Hotel BonSol Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing