We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best Hotel on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Son Matias Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Hotel on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We have stayed at the Son Matias 12 times,The rooms are very comfortable all with amazing sea views. Staff are extremely friendly and very efficient. The food is of a very high standard as is the entertainment. Fabulous location,well maintained,modern and very clean hotel. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    208
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
96
902
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

After staying at a nearby hotel on the beach of Palma Nova for the last 10 years , and finding it slowly deteriorating, I was advised by my friends, Richard and Sandra , to change to the SON MATIAS. What a difference !!
This Hotel is superior in every way to the other Hotel,
It is clean and comfortable,quiet at night,with excellent accomodation, entertainment,location and food.
Free water in your room on arrival, along with tea/coffee making facilities , flat screen T.V with 7 English Channels and comfortable balcony furniture.
Staff and Management are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.
I cannot praise this Hotel enough.
They even police the sunbeds at the poolside, no one is allowed to utilise the beds for the day when they are away from the pool.Allowing everyone equal opportunity to use them.
However there are still the sick fools who queue up an hour before the pool opens to grab the same bed every morning, these selfish people are the only fault I could find, but this is not the fault of the Hotel, and after they have grabbed their beds there are still plenty left.
I have already booked again for next year,and will never stay again at the nearby SANTA LUCIA.

Room Tip: Email the Hotel before going and ask for the room of your choice, they will gladley oblige,but all r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

the food was excellent couldnt fault it, hotel very clean and all the staff very friendly and the entertainment very good thoroughly enjoyed ourselves had heard lots of reviews on having to be old to enjoy this hotel, well we in 40s and low 50s and dont consider ourselves old and had a great time

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dianeswom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel a few times including June and August this year. Great locaation, friendly staff and good food. The daytime entertainment is not great but the evening entertainment is good. As I travel with a disabled person I have tried to book a disabled room. You have to book a Junior Suite as three of these are adapted but you don't know if you have got an adapted room or not until you arrive!!! I have tried for next June and all are taken.

Room Tip: all rooms are seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LINDY1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

stayed here in 2007 and in April this year, very good service all rooms have sea views and are bright, very clean and comfortable. The staff are very good and make you feel welcome. The food is suited to british taste, with a little local choice as well. Only negative was that evening entertainment could do with a little updating, (no Bingo please !!)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annemariejob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

First class hotall in every way, location and room views are the best you will get, Food Excellent,Service 1st class in all areas (Reception,Bars and Domestic Staff)Entertainment Top class.
Entertainment staff very friendly and always ensure your stay is not boring what ever the weather something going on all day and night from Games,Quizzes,Bingo,Wii games and Evening Entertainment very good. Bar staff very professional and drinks presentation very good.
Rooms spotless with Flatscreen TV's Full Tea and Coffee facilities in all rooms. All rooms have a stunning view over the Palma Nova Bay (BREATH TAKING). ONLY PROBLEM IS REBOOKING ALWAYS FULL. ANOTHER PLUS THE HOTEL IS ADULTS ONLY.

Room Tip: Book early best rooms are Suites with Double balconies, but all rooms 1st class
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harvie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

cant fault this hotel, food, location and staff very good, if l was to fault anything it would have to be the entertainment they do have shows on some very good, we were there for ten days and just missed the same chap been brought back again, asked one of the entertainment girls about doing water aerobics, she said she wasnt asked to do that for the past three years. whatever, we had a lovely time and a great holiday.would recommend this hotel but not for the young people

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank zac02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.3 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova
Sol Palmanova
#17 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 587 reviews
37.9 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Matias Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Matias Beach

Property: Hotel Son Matias Beach
Address: Calle Duque de Extremera 2, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Son Matias Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Son Matias Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Matias Beach Palma Nova
Hotel Son Matias Beach Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing