We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Views”
Review of Alua Palmanova Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alua Palmanova Bay
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel for a week in October. We had a good view from our room but unfortunately not very good weather. We were on the top floor and the thunderstorm we had meant that our ceiling leaked and water was leaking into our bathroom overnight. We phoned reception who said someone would come up to have a look but no one came so overnight having to use the toilet with water pouring over our heads was not good. I went to reception the following morning and they said the leak could not be fixed and we would be moved. We were moved to another room which had an even better view. The hotel was up a steep hill so would not be suitable for all but on the plus side the excercise meant we didnt put any holiday weight on! There was plently to eat in the restaurant Breakfast Lunch Snacks & Dinner were buffet style so you could pick what you wanted. Rooms were cleaned daily and hotel was generally kept clean. Pool side area was pleasant again with fabulous views but the pools were absolutely freezing as you never got the sun on them. The entertainment left a lot to be desired but i suppose the kids enjoyed their dancing and games. We took a trip to Marineland which was well worth the money as Dolphin, sea lion & parrot shows were good. All in all we enjoyed our trip and felt like we had got a good bargain.

Room Tip: Definately request a seaview - we were on 7th floor facing the sea and the views made our holiday,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shaz1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intertur, Intertur Hotels Team at Alua Palmanova Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Shaz1207. Thank you for your feedback. All your comment are greatly appreciated in order to improve our services.

We will investigate your comment about the leak in your room in order to fix it as soon as possible. Also, we take note about your entertainment comment to improve our services in the future.

We hope you give us the chance to accommodate you again if you come back to Majorca.

Kind regards
Intertur Hotels Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,596 - 1,602 of 2,089 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The hotel itself was ok for basic accomodation and rooms were cleaned everyday. Initially given a room at the back with no visible views from inside felt like a box but on request got moved to another room better outlook. Didn't eat on the restaurant so cannot comment on food. Pool side area felt like a cruise ship deck with great sea views but the hotel itself is not beach front it's on top of a hill by the sea. Not suitable for those with walking difficulties. October was a quiet time in Palma nova in general so the hotel did not feel too crowded. Overall it is what you would expect from a typical majorca 3 star. Be careful who you book with cosmos holidays sold this one way too expensive for what the hotel offers but that's not the hotel's fault.
If you like silence in the night to sleep the sea waves maybe a problem. This may sound unusual but by the end of our holiday we've had enough of the sound and the windows/doors did not muffle it much. I often thought that seawaves would be relaxing but it did got too much. But it was either that or being in a box room with windows facing walls so if you choose this hotel choose your rooms wisely (the higher the better maybe)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MollyJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intertur, Intertur Hotels Team at Alua Palmanova Bay, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear MollyJM. Thank you for your review and for staying with us.

We hope you give us the chance to accommodate you again at some of our Intertur Hotels.

Best regards
Intertur Hotels Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rooms are VERY small, dark, dingy and basic. Complained about our room as there was no way 4 of us could fit in such a tiny dark 'apartment' so we were moved to a studio which was over the bin store where the staff stood and smoked therefore our balcony door was kept shut most of the time and the air conditioning system was outside the bedroom window humming away all night. Eating felt like being in the school canteen and by the end of the week I just wanted some decent food. Entertainment was rubbish and most of the staff had end of season syndrome. Having said that it was very clean. I wouldnt go again or reccomend it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intertur, Intertur Hotels Team at Alua Palmanova Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Sandra D,
Thank you for your feedback.
We have taken into account the aspects you mentioned in order to keep improving our service everyday.
We are sorry we did not meet your expectations this time and hope to get the chance to do it in the future.
Receive our warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Me and my friend stayed here for 5 nights from 22nd October 2012 self catering, we are aged 27 and 28. There were alot of families staying here the week before half term and we were the youngest guests apart from the kids. The room was nice the only fault was the balcany door not locking, cleaners came in every day to make beds etc and we had an amazing view to the bay and you could hear the waves crashing whilst going to sleep. The walls seemed very thin and it was noisy at night and early morning. Their was a powerful shower, bath a kettle, fridge, hob etc. The swimming pool was very cold but the pool area was nice with available sun beds and chairs which also looked over to the bay and we were lucky with the weather sunny most days.There was drinks and snacks available by the pool too. All staff were nice and their was still entertainment in the evening for families although we went out most nights to the local strip near Magaluf where their was pubs and restaurants. Their is alot of talk about the hill but its not too bad, we visited the local beach a few times which was nice and their was a supermarket and nice souvenir shops too nearby. We visited the marine land which was about 7 euros in a taxi, it was fantastic their was a dolphin, sealions and parrot show and we paid extra to meet the dolphins in an encounter well worth the money and a dream come true for me. We would defently come again but not near the end of the season as the resort was starting to close down. We did have an amazing holiday though and we got it for a very good price so really cant complain.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view our room was 388!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intertur, Intertur Hotels Team at Alua Palmanova Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear Lisa P,
We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. On the other hand we have taken into account the aspects you have rated somewhat lower and will try our best to correct them in the future.
We look forward to seeing you next season.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We came to the hotel on 21st October for one week, our party comprised of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We were happy with the one bedroom apartment and there was plenty of room for us all, the view was fantastic looking out all across the bay. We were in room 687 which was one floor up from reception and two floors up from the restaurant, bar and pool area which was perfect. The hotel was perfectly situated 5 mins away from Magaluf and just above the beach at Palma Nova, I have seen some reviews saying about the hill, well we didn't think it was that hilly at all! but we live in cornwall and the beach is always downhill! simples! Besides you could walk along the boardwalk and se the lift up through the Hawaii hotel and just walk up the last bit if you really had to.
The chambermaids came round most days and came in and gave it a clean but we mainly just got towels off them because it really wasn't necessary to clean it everyday, they were very nice and helpful. The room and bathroom was clean and the decor was satisfactory, there was always plenty of hot water and a nice powerful shower with a brand new clean shower curtain. there was also a supply of toiletries if you needed it and a hairdrier. The beds were a little bit hard but each to their own. The kitchen had a fridge, kettle and toaster as well as the essentials although we mainly only used the fridge and kettle.
We had paid for all inclusive and found the food to be pretty good. The breakfast was the best meal of the day, they provided scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fried eggs, bacon or ham, sausages, beans, mushrooms, tomatoes, pancakes, cheese, rolls, toast, danish pastries, cereals, fruit, juice, coffee, tea and many other things so there was always something to choose from. The lunches and dinners were much the same as each other there was always soup, fresh warm bread, a selection of hot dishes, a full salad bar, cold meats and cheeses as well as a whole dessert table. There was plenty of junky food as well if that's your thing such as burgers, chips and hot dogs, that was popular with the teenagers! One night they had a Chinese theme and that was quite nice. At dinner and lunchtime they also supplied free wine, beer, juice and fizzy drinks that you could just help youself to. The dishes we liked the most were the ribs, the soup and fresh bread, the calamari, mackeral, turkey steak and the chilli. The desserts provided plenty of choice, we had these little deep fried things that we thought wre doughnuts but weren't! they came with a custardy sauce that was very tasty. I also enjoyed the pears poached in red wine and the blancmange. The staff in the restaurant worked very hard to keep the place tidy and clear away the plates.
We found the bar staff outside and inside to be very pleasant and they gave you whatever drinks you wanted, we didn't spend much time in the bar as it was mainly geared towards kiddies and parents but they all seemed to be enjoying it. We mainly went out at night after having a few free drinks at the hotel bar, Magaluf was pretty quiet but we had a good night on the last Saturday even though everything was closing down (27.10.12)
There were a lot of children and families at the hotel and it was quite noisy at times, but the type of building that it is (hard floors, concrete balconies, tiles ect) doesn't lend itself to soundproofing. However I am sure we were noisy one night or two as well (but not too late!)
We didn't have much to do with the reception staff but on the last day they took pity on us as we looked so ill and let us have a room to lie down in as our coach wasn't picking us up until 6pm and for that we are truly thankful!!!
All in all we enjoyed our stay and I probably would stay again but we tend to go to a new resort each year so probably won't visit again for a while, Gracias to all the staff, Adios!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SamSEESamDOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intertur, Intertur Hotels Team at Alua Palmanova Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear SamSEESamDOO,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are delighted to know that all in all you have enjoyed your family holiday and that we have met your expectations. We will forward your positive valuation on our staff. Even when you like to go to a new resort everytime, we look forward to seeing you in any of our hotels in the near future.
Receive our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

we went to this hotel 6th oct 2012 it was a fantstic hoilday the room we had was a up todate one very clean and a very nice view if you want a great view think the higher you go the better we was self catring so can not tell you about the food the staff was brill very happy and smiling i would like to thank the reception staff for all there help changeing are first room the room was very nice it was the location so thank you very much and i would also like to thank the girl at the pool bar sorry forgot your name you was a star thank you if i am right all the rooms have cooking equiment in there rooms so if you was all incusive you still can have coffee etc
when it says all incluive it just breakfast lunch dinner if you wanted a snack at the bar you at to pay i would go there again it was fantsic if your self catering the is a very big shop not a little super maket if see the bank santaner go to the left top off the hill all fresh meat and cheap i will be back again thanks for a brill hoilday xxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intertur, Intertur Hotels Team at Alua Palmanova Bay, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear Keithrose,
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that all in all you have enjoyed your f holiday and that we have met your expectations. We will forward your positive valuation on our staff.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future. With best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We landed on 14th October, 17 of us booked in, the apartments were very clean and staff very friendly, there is a couple of things i didnt like, 1 was the hill it wasnt slight, the second was the guests in the next room we were woken up every night with loud talking and on our last night there was a big row outside our room with english women had to call security to deal with it. they were very prompt but i wouldnt stay there again. our apartment was blocked by trees but the views were beautiful and we had good weather except for the last night where there was flood outside our doors.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Intertur, Intertur Hotels Team at Alua Palmanova Bay, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Ann O. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you couldn't enjoy your holiday due to some inconvenience during your stay. We take note in order to improve in the future.

We hope you give us the chance to accommodate you again in the future.

Best regards
Intertur Hotels Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.5 mi away
Sol Palmanova by Melia - All Inclusive
0.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#11 of 38 in Palmanova
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alua Palmanova Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alua Palmanova Bay

Address: Calle Torrenova 3-5, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Intertur Aparthotel Hawaii Torrenova)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#9 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $58 - $1,318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alua Palmanova Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alua Palmanova Bay offers top quality services at competitive rates. These fully equipped all-inclusive apartments in Mallorca for families and couples offer a relaxing and quiet atmosphere in Torrenova, in the very heart of Palmanova. Its studios and apartments by the sea, in Palmanova, offer you fantastic views and a private terrace to fully enjoy Mallorca's sun. For Summer 2017 the Hotel will have undergone a complete and important refurbishment, changing its category to 4 stars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alua Palmanova Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intertur Aparthotel Hawaii Torrenova Hotel Palma Nova
Hawaii Torrenova Aparthotel Calvia
Hawaii Torrenova Aparthotel Hotel Calvia
Alua Palmanova Bay Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing