We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No going back...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No going back...”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Hotel location was excellent and for the views they were amazing. We stayed there for 11nights, but food not good unless you like pasta and chips, needs some tlc, no animation team to get everyone going, one hour of terrible entertainment each evening.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lebihans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    367
    203
    86
    83
See reviews for
346
403
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Our family stayed from 1st till 11th July, we were worried before we arrived because of all the bad reviews, this hotel is what you get for the money you pay, that is good value,if you want top grade hotel then they are available in Palma.
Yes the hotel could do with updating,but the staff are very helpful from the manageress down to the room cleaners, they are all polite and friendly.The drinks are plentiful,the food is sufficient.

The only thing that spoilt it was single sex groups, and some of the language was bad and not only from the Brits.I have found this a problem in other Palma Nova hotels.

I would certainly visit again.Excellent location.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2014

5 day visit arriving on the afternoon of 5th July and departing early doors 10th July. What makes the hotel is the staff and the situation - right across the road from Bay 2 in Palmanova. A beautful sandy beach with clean, clear, warm seas. The food is very good, and we are pretty fussy! yes simple stuff like nuggets for the kids, but also tasty meats and wonderful fish. The grilled king prawns are to die for and plentiful and were a wonderful surprise for me as I do not eat meat. Breakfast was very good too. Drinks on tap, no queueing for stuff in restaurant or bar as it is a small hotel and even at full capacity no hassle and all was absolutely fine. All the staff are lovely and pleasant at all times. Yes its a bit careworn and not as clean as other hotels we have stayed in (think dusty) but the bathrooms are clean, the shower simple to operate and plentiful supplies of hot water. Beds are a bit hard but we liked this and slept amazingly well. The only thing that tainted it slightly for me were some foul mouthed young british ladies (I use the terminolgy 'ladies' losely!) at the pool bar. Pool is small but clean and warm but rail needs fixing. We prefer the beach anyway. Olaf the pool barman is lovely (the son of the manageress) and fun. The restaurant, bar staff and reception are always pleasant and smiling. Would we return to this hotel when in reality we normally favour 4 and 5* establishments? Most certainly a resounding YES. I would also return as a lone female for a single holiday if the opportunity arose! lovely little hotel and lovely area! Oh and the buses are frequent, making localities such as palma etc very easily accessible.

Room Tip: high sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nannymater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just got back from a four day holiday the hotel was good right on the promenade the food was great somethin for everyone staff on reception bar and restaurant are very helpful we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carol i I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tarn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

stayed for a week in June.
décor dated but clean enough, bath/shower fine, bedding & towels changed 6 out of 7 days.
excellent sea view,

staff work extremely hard so simple good manners isn't too much to ask, for once it wasn't the brits i felt embarrassed for!

breakfast was very good, only once or twice did the other meal times have nothing that appealed to me, just don't eat for the sake of it, better off going out, (did laugh at a person who had bacon & egg on top of a orange?)

didn't have any problems getting a lounger,
pool big enough to have a cold dip, perhaps the pool bar could stay open later than 5pm though,
they keep a few sandwiches there too, also you can ask for a packed lunch (day before) to take to the beach (or airport) which has bread chicken fruit water etc.

only saw a bit of the entertainment, not my cup of tea, but didn't seem too bad what i saw.

would return again , but take extra euros to have a few meals out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank korky69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in June as a couple. The hotel was clean and towels/sheets were changed every day. The food was OK, what you'd expect for the cheap price and nothing to complain about. We tended to eat out most of the time though for dinner as eating at the hotel every day would get extremely boring (we mainly made the most of the all inclusive drinks).

The best thing about this hotel is the location. Literally right on the beach, it's a perfect base for a holiday in Palmanova.

On a negative note, I did seem to lose some of my money on this holiday and after reading previous reviews it is worrying to see that others had their possessions stolen from their rooms. I can't say for sure how I lost it but i did leave my money in my case in my room occassionally and so I can't rule out that possibility unfortunately.

That thought aside, we had a great stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here in June hotel spotless, clean towels every day and sheets every 2 day.
Food great, lots of choice at every meal, entertainment good some acts better than others.
Lovely views from the hotel.
Staff helpful and friendly, only complaint on the day we were leaving our key would not work after breakfast the maid let us in, we paid 20 euros to keep the room as we had a late flight so the key was updated. We opened the safe at lunch time to get some money out and it would not re-lock went to reception and said we would have to pay for another day to use the safe. One of the reasons to keep your room is so your passports etc. are in the safe, therefore to end the safe before you leave is ridiculous.

Room Tip: Ensure you have a sea view one nearer to the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 130201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#20 of 39 in Palmanova
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#27 of 39 in Palmanova
1,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
OLA Hotel Panama
OLA Hotel Panama
#10 of 39 in Palmanova
1,187 reviews
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#32 of 39 in Palmanova
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Property: Hotel Tropico Playa
Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing