We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Derby
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great stay at this hotel”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had never stayed at this hotel before. The staff were very friendly, especially Pedro the head waiter. The food was basic but very nice. We were a party of 4, with 2 vegetarians and a fussy eater. There was not a problem with choice for food. The position of the hotel is great. You sit in the dining room and look across the road to the beach and the sea. What more could you want? Overall this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank superram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    372
    207
    87
    85
See reviews for
352
414
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Spent a week all inclusive at the Tropico Playa in October. My friend and I had a great time for a low cost all-inclusive break. Neither of us had stayed here before but we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for it's high standards of cleanliness, food and hospitality. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The food was plentiful with lots of great choices and we both have to admit to putting on a few pounds because we enjoyed it so much. Within the all-inclusive rate the alcohol was local fare and as beer devotees we found the lager difficult to stick with for the whole week. We ended up on shorts, but the alcoholic content was less than we get at home. The evening entertainment could have been better but we spent the last evening in the company of Leepy Lee and happily sang along to his biggest hit Little Arrows (There's a boy, a little boy shooting arrows in the blue). It was also noted that all guests at the Tropico were all-inclusive which did not necessitate the wearing of wrist bands that you often get with these kinds of holidays. The resort itself was quiet with several shops and cafe's already closed for the end of the season. It was sad to see a lot of cafe's struggling. It was still warm and all in all we had a relaxing week. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would encourage travellers to continue to holiday in this charming resort. In Arnie's words - I will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank skyblue07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Palma Nova is a great favourite of my husband and I each October. This is our 1st time at the Tropico Playa and hopefully will not be our last. The food was excellent with a good variety at breakfast, lunch and dinner . The staff were all very friendly and helpful and on the Wednesday, great effort was put into decorating the hotel for Halloween, just a shame not too many people dressed up and there was a 1st prize of a week's holiday and a 2nd prize of a weekend break.
The location of the hotel couldn't have been better and the fact that you could eat on the terrace and watch the world go by was great. The hotel was very clean and tidy and rooms a good size, although basic but you're really only sleeping there. Excellent entertainment. I would definately recommend this hotel and hope to visit again.

Room Tip: Front or side room facing Mini Golf as in winter you get more sunshine on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mogie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

just come back from tropico hotel had to write this review. Hotel clean very friendly staff food very good quite varied during the week. Been to this hotel 4 times this year it just ticks all the boxes so close to the town right on the beach its in the perfect spot, nice bars and restaurants close by. Perfect for couples or families Entertainment good for kids during day and early evening night shows could be better but still not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just back from a weeks holiday and I must say we really had a lovely week in the Hotel Tropico Playa in Palma Nova. The staff were very friendly, the food was excellent and the location was second to none and would definitley recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: request a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just got back today from tropico missing it allready,from time we arrived until leaving we had wonderfull time ,food was lovely drinks i agree with people very strong staff all first class ,the bar staff allways happy as was pedro and the waiting staff .We highly recommend this hotel and we deff going bck nxt year .

Room Tip: Our room was ove looking the pool and mini golf suited us just, right pool shuts at 9 so only noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jacky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

this is the third all inclusive this year and i say it is the one of thebest in the dozens we have been to over the last 12 years.all the staff are good special mention to pedro who works hard to make sure you are getting a good service .we think the layed back and friendly staff are a complemant to the manager who on the last day opened the restaurant ealy to enable us to get tea and toastthere are so many good points and such few bad points in this hotel.but you must remember it is only a three star so dont expect 5 star you get what you pay for and more.okay parts are a bit dated but they are clean and thats all that matters

Room Tip: the pool is small and only a few beds just go to beech across road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CYNWIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#20 of 39 in Palmanova
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Don Bigote
Hotel Don Bigote
#27 of 39 in Palmanova
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,204 reviews
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#33 of 39 in Palmanova
1,003 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marina Palmanova Apartments
Marina Palmanova Apartments
#29 of 39 in Palmanova
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Property: Hotel Tropico Playa
Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing