We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Tropico Playa
Ranked #22 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I are returning to the Tropico for the 4th time this Oct, having just returned from there in May.
The staff are friendly, ideal location, and the food is so varied, that It should suit everyones tastes. For the people who complained about the food, I would just like to know what they are used to back at home, this is a 3 * Hotel afterall. The public areas could do with a slight revamp, but this Hotel is fantastic value for money, and we now book direct with the hotel itself.
A great deal of people we met last year, were there again this year, and they love returning there the same as we do.
The Nightly entertainment could be improved, but the Stadium Bar is just up the road

Room Tip: Book direct with Hotel, and request a good room, i.e Pool View etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PJRobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

781 - 787 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2012

Hotel very clean,food good,not much selection though.Pool ok but pool area doesn't open until 9am,by approx 9:05am there aren't many sunbeds left as people put towels on them them and disappear !!!. Great terrace area at front of hotel where you can sit and watch the world go by.Hotel directly across the road from fantastic beach,sunbeds/parasols cost 4.50 euros each,so for 2 sunbeds and parasol,13.50 euros per day - quite expensive,many people bought parasols and lilo's and used them instead-much cheaper!!.Now for the bad....the wine is absolutely disgusting !!!. We tried the white and the red and both were awful !!.We ate out a few nights as there as so many great restaurants around,we also bought wine from local supermarket,at only 3 euros a bottle and was really nice Rioja.Hotel is 3* All Inclusive,so you get what you pay for,we would go back to this hotel especially for the great location and good value for money.We were in room 223,fantastic view of pool/mini golf and beach.If you remember this is a basic 3* all inclusive,you'll enjoy,if you're expecting 5*,go elsewhere and pay the price !!. We booked direct through Gran Isla Hotel website and saved a fortune compared to booing via Travel Agent. Enjoy !!

Room Tip: Request room at front of hotel,room 223 great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dawn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

stayed at this hotel end april/may the staff were really nice always smiling, great location across from the beach, rooms were clean, the food was terrible we paid for all inclusive but after 2 days we ate out even the breakfast was very poor.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank troyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

just to say we had a weeks stay at this hotel excellent enertainment for the kids ad would like her to carry on with her entertainment here. we were all inclusive

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blonde P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The entertainment was a el divo cd singing westlife. The entertainer sat down on her bum all nigth nearly every nigth. The food was disgusting, stail, cold on the last day of are holiday there was ants coming out the vending machine about 30 ant was in are drinks, this is the only holiday weve been on that we was counting dowwn the day to go home glad we was only there for 7days pure hell

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulachelswayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We had a five day break at this hotel, 6 adults & 2 children, just got back. I have to say the location is brilliant, beach right opposite and very central to restaurants and bars. We were all inclusive which is where I say "you get what you pay for". It's low budget all inclusive in my opinion, which is expected when you pay as little as we did. You certainly wouldn't starve, but it's a bit "much the same". The staff were lovely in the dining room, but couldn't say the same for the dragon on the reception. Tried to open our room door one day and failed, when we went to reception she stated "YOU NO PAY", much to our shock & disgust, however when she finally cleared that up with her boss, she reinstated the key-card. The rooms were fairly clean and the towels changed daily. Had to request extra pillows which we received on day 3 of 5.
The pool was a complete let down, it was very small and the sunbeds were packed in like sardines, the way the pool is situated only leaves a few feet with sun all day, there were towels on beds...but no people for hours. The all inclusive "Cocktails" were disgusting, out of a box & ready made. Our shower came off the wall one evening & I have to say it was fixed the very next morning. The air con is a single switch in the room. There are safes in the room & you can rent fridges. WiFi is available, but expensive. So on the whole, I would return but only to use the hotel as a base.

Room Tip: Ask for pool or sea view, otherwise you look at the side of another building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cazh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

after reading the reviews about being transferred to the sister hotel in santa ponsa, we were as we expected transferred there but they couldnt be more appologetic about it and we didint mind as we were on holiday!! the hotel was lovely and the service was very good. next day back to tropico playa where we were given use of the fridge and safe for free for the remaining 9 nights and a bottle of wine ( wine wasnt great but when its free who cares ) our room was on the top floor at the front of the hotel and the view was amazing. rooms were cleaned and kept very tidy everyday. the reception couldnt do enough for us, and always went that extra mile for my 8 year old step daughter. the restaurant was ok, bit cramped, food was chips, fish, pasta, burgers and all that which was fine for my step daughter but me and her dad did want a bit more traditional food so we went to a lovely place about a 5 min walk away from hotel. would defo return to this hotel as the staff were very friendly and helpful more so rosie who was a waitress!!

Room Tip: ask for the top room at the front of the hotel as the view makes up for the stairs if you dont mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vixie0859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#19 of 38 in Palmanova
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova by Melia - All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
OLA Hotel Panama
OLA Hotel Panama
#10 of 38 in Palmanova
1,369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#12 of 38 in Palmanova
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
FERGUS Bermudas
FERGUS Bermudas
#17 of 38 in Palmanova
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropico Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropico Playa

Address: Calle Paseo del Mar 38, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $90 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropico Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Tropico is a fabulous waterfront family hotel for beach lovers. Its facilities and activities are specially designed to provide our guests with plenty of fun experiences. Gran Isla Hotels, the boutique hotel chain that operates this charming complex, is unique in giving the "personal" touch in their establishments that only a small chain can give. Our main objective is to provide our guests with an unforgettable summer holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Tropico Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico Playa Hotel
Tropico Playa Palma Nova
Hotel Tropico Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing