We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Tropico Playa
Nearby Hotels
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
$125
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Senses Palmanova(Palmanova)
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sol Beach House Mallorca(Palmanova)
$160
$152
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cabau Aquasol(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Alua Palmanova Bay(Palmanova)(Great Value!)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$208
$164
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sol Lunamar Apartments(Palmanova)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
FERGUS Bermudas(Palmanova)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Don Bigote(Palmanova)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,103)
Filter reviews
1,103 results
Traveler rating
325
390
212
88
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
390
212
88
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool baropposite the beachpalma novanext yearleapy leebar staffstar hotelsea viewpool area is smallsaladrooms are basiclocation is brilliantgreat holidaybit datedparrot showentertainment every nightthree star
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
873 - 878 of 1,103 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Hi we have just arrived back from our holiday in palma nova, usually i wouldnt be writing any review, but as iv seen the reviews on here before we went to hotel tropico i feel i should give you our honist review.

the hotel is fairly sized and in a good sea & beach spot close to bars and shops, we were all enclusive during our stay. on arrival we found everyone was friendly and we checked in no problems, our family of four, two adults and two young girls 7 & 2 were given a room at the rear of the hotel. it was up and down a number of stairs which led to our room which was basement-like and felt dark & dinjey the balcony looked over to the rear of the front building of the hotel and the other window onto a very small opening which was mainly wall. I must admit the room was very clean and there was plenty of space. air con worked well and was nice at night. We spent 2 nights in this room as we got on to the recepsionist and complained, they did help us and found a new room that was available on saturday. it did seem as if they had a habit of moving people if the room didnt suit etc. our new room was spot on. It had a lift up to the floor ( ideal for the buggy!) and had a great sea view. Again it was very clean and wasnt crampt. if we had had this room from the start our holiday would have been top notch.
We do have to mention MARY. so so funny and tries really hard with all the kids throughout the day and at the disco at night our 2 really really loved her. she keeps the entertainment ticking over and is keen for all to join in. her bingo was a good laugh after the kiddie disco and everybody played. THANK YOU MARY!! the entertainment after the bingo was great too, we had a really good parrot show ( that we have seen before in hotel torrinova marina ) on the 1st night. we also had a great magic show that had everyone wowed. other things included playing mr & mrs games (very funny) and mr Tropico 2011. There was a female singer on our last night that was also good. so no complaints about the entertainment.
The barstaff waiters etc were all friendly and often made jokes with the kids, the bar itself was good had a wide range of drinks, lager was a good standard! there was a que most times tho.
The food was great we had no complaints about it. a wide range of salads and pastas, the meat was nicley cooked and puddings were all varied day to day. really dont understand where the negative comments on food come from unless they have changed what was happening previous to us going. we all ate well at breakfast lunch and tea. the dining room was not overly big but was big enough.
we did hear things about double bookings and people been turned away on arrival, speaking to other guests about this who said that this seemed to happen with people booking online or in very large groups. to my knowledge first choice/ tomsons/ skytours etc were fine.

overall we had a great time and we all wish we didnt have to come home. i would go again although i would like to have a front of house room from the start.

not the best review for detail but an honist one

THANK YOU HOTEL TROPICO FOR YOU PART IN OUR GREAT TIME.
(seperate thanks to "oh my god" MARY)
hope to see you again one day

family of four from west yorkshire room 208

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank letsgoagainrightnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

seemed pleasant enough to start with , nice location but went down rapidly from there lots of noisy groups now staying at this hotel though we understood that in the past it was mainly for families and couples we stayed here early in may with my elderly mum and dad and had one decent nights sleep in seven .dont mean to sound boring but booked it because of its location in a quiet part of palma nova M ight as well have stayed in magaluf we are no prudes but we heard the Fword so many times from the room above that we thought gordon ramsey had come to stay Receptionists were doing their best but so many people were complaining about various things it must have been a nightmare for them thomsons rep was a young lad of about eighteen also making the best of a bad job Food and drink was among the poorest we have ever experienced ,if u like chips and tinned veg you will be in heaven trayswere not refilled and i am talking about eight oclock in the evening When things ran out the chef brought out a giant omelette we frequently did not even see some items on the menu such as the boiled or diced potatoes. one lunch time we had pork cord en bleu [left over breakfast ham in breadcrumbs] The drinks were poor quality too , my husband tried the brandy on the first night and said he could had his teeth removed without feeling it We have had many package holidays with thomsons and other companies and is the poorest quality ever Dont know if they are cutting back on their budgets but this is not the way to treat customers who are spending their hard earned money in this tough economy . suprisingly thomsons were not interested, they had our money and so bon voyage so to speak

Room Tip: pay for a sea view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank denskid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Like many people we saw the reviews about people being turned away on arrival and its all true, not just groups. I decided to be proactive - see below.

Literally every time we walked through reception someone was being told they had no rooms and were being sent to other hotels. This was a real concern for me so I emailled Seona the hotel manager, her direct email address is [-] - their head office - [-] and direct holiday to ensure this wouldn't happen to us on our arrival. I had to email Seona a few times before I got a response but it paid off and we weren't turned away. The people infront and behind were so I swear it was purely because I had it in writing that we had a room that they weren't given one. I'm not saying emailing will work for you but it may give you some peace of mind.

Great location. Rooms clean. Scottish lady at pool bar very good and helpful. Food repeatative and cheap. Drinks watered down. Expect to queue for a long long time for absolutely everything. Never known an all inclusive like it.

We had a nice enough stay but wouldn't go back due to worry of knowing if we actually had a room when we arrived. I've paid similar and had much better stays elsewhere, look at Club Akti in Kos, not a great set up.

I hope you've read this before you've book because I'd recommend you don't.

Message me if you want further details.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank biscuit6812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Isla_Manager, Manager at Hotel Tropico Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Dear biscuit6812,

We really hope you enjoyed your stay with us at the beautiful beach resort of Palma Nova. We are glad that you found the rooms clean and the staff helpful. Indeed, during peak times the bar might get a bit crowded being all inclusive and we apologize to you for the inconvenience. Regarding the booking issue, we acknowledge that have had problems with our planning systems and therefore had issues with some reservations. That problem was fixed immediately and I can assure you that operations are back to normal. Anyhow, we are glad you did not encounter any issue with your reservation.

We would like to thank you for your post and we hope to see you again. In Gran Isla Hotels we value any feedback as we are constantly trying to improve our services in order to provide our guest with the best summer experience.

Kind regards,

The Gran Isla Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

we arrived at this hotel on 25th may 2011 to have been told sorry but we are fully booked!! we were in shock, we had confirmation on paper infront of us. They did offer us 2other hotels however they were both well out from the centre of magaluff therefore we couldnt walk into the centre and taxis had to required (we were out to party in magaluff). Therfore made our holiday more expensive. We did make a complaint to the managerist who dealt with this complaint very well and after 4days at gran santa ponsa we were brought back too hotel tropico this was very much appreicated however this should never of happened wed been booked up almost 8months. The overall stay was very good, entertainment wasnt great but acceptable and better than nothing. Food wasnt too good but you could always find something to have.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FIONA01068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We loved the locatation but we had 79 steps to climb and I have asthma.
We Loved Vicky and Julie on reception they are good and will help as much as they can.
Dereck in the canteen is good and so is Mary the entertainment god bless her she does her best to insure everyone is happy.
The Best person at the bar is David but whatch out for little hittler we was all-inclusive and I need water for my pills and he stoped us taking (water) out in a little coke bottle.He hid all the water behind the bars which is not on.If he was to be sacked we would go back and also he always shakes the tip bottle which is a hard neck.
We wish the manageress would do something as Shona is a very nice Lady and we would love to go back.
Also The other bar man would not allow my wife to mix drinks wich is silly as they do cocktails anyway.
The people who stayed there are of all ages and we got on well with everyone from othere scots to Irish and English.
The food is good we never had belly ache or anything.Like others have mentioned though the food hall is far to small for to cater for the amount of people staying.The best way to stop confusion in this hotel is wrist bands as some are HB and others All-inclusive thats what I would do.

Room Tip: whatch out when hitlers about
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunseecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews