We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,413)
Filter reviews
2,413 results
Traveler rating
926
849
420
146
72
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
849
420
146
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews family hotel the thomas cook kids club splash pool middle pool palma nova kids buffet gala night steep hill snack bar soft play area next year entertainment team great holiday evening entertainment pools are great walking difficulties main pool
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 2,413 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Travelled 5-12th Sept.
First of all, I cant believe the negative comments regarding the food. Breakfast - cereals, fresh fruit, full English breakfast, continental (cheese,meats etc) croissants, cup cakes, cookies, breads/toast. Lunch - 3 courses, large selection, too many to mention. Dinner - never went hungry, carvery every evening plus theme nights, Mexican, tapas, Chinese, Indian curry etc. Lovely deserts - chocolate fountains, crepes, traditional cake and custards,cheesecakes, crepes, mousses, ice creams etc - what more do you want!! White/red wine and lager on tap. Snack bar available 10-6. Usually burgers, hotdogs, cheese/ham bread, salad, chips, fish, kebabs. Just in case you are still hungry !!
Rooms - lovely room overlooking the pool (209). Spotlessly clean,complimentary toiletries, hairdryer in bathroom. Nice hot showers/ bath in room. Regular towel/bedding change - Do not disturb signs/Come in signs available to place on your doors - no complaints.
Entertainment - Can't comment on daily activities/pool situation as we were out in the days. Evenings- varies from kids disco/entertainment, Kareoke, Flamenco, Men vs Women and a comedian, not brilliant but ok..not what we came for though. Everything done and dusted by 10.30, no atmosphere after that - felt as though it was time for bed!
Bar - All inclusive drinks, San Miguel on tap, all served in plastic cups. Cava by the glass though :) Kids drinks served in outside bar - slush machine, choc milk and soft drinks til 10.
Staff - reception, very friendly and informative, can't do enough for you, especially Jose :). Cleaners - hardworking, cleaning rooms and public areas. Bar staff - mostly friendly - except one (older barman). Young waiters were great, cheeky chappies, always had a smile and so hard working.
Location - within walking distance between Palma Nova and Magaluf - personally preferred Palma Nova. So, the hill - the humidity makes it challenging, but as long as you have no mobility issues, it should be manageable, take your time !!
Absolutely had a great holiday here, don't worry its great. Only a few recommendations to make it even more brilliant.
Water - for an AI hotel, there were signs everywhere, not to refill bottles. In my opinion this could be included in the price, we spent a lot of money on water as it was so hot.
On a personal level, there were a lot of young children (and associated noise!) - booking outside school holidays we thought that it would be quieter, but that wasn't the case. Must be becoming a grumpy old woman :)
Seriously though, don't worry about your stay here, we had a great time and would recommend for a lovely break in the sun. Hope you all enjoy as much as we did.

  • Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank lindseyjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AluaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi lindseyjose,

Thank you for such a lovely and detailed review! We will be taking note from your comments as your suggestions will be very useful for us. Since we truly wish to see you again, we’ll look forward to improve our hotel and be able to give you an unforgettable holiday! Want to visit us again? ;)

Kind regards,
Alua Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is not more than 2 star as the rooms need major overhaul. Rooms are too small to begin with for a family of 2 adults and 2 children and not enough storage space. Beds are temporary ones as they keep on moving forward when we sit on them. Mattress has no hardness and u feel like sleeping in a pit in the night and that gave me a bad backpain. When I complained about the mattress, nothing was done about it. Coming to bathrooms, its the worst place. Shower doesn't work very well. Shower curtainis keeps sticking to you while bathing. Cleaners do very time pass job and many a times, they don't stock up things and you have to call reception to get stuff later. One guy at reception (Mr. Javi) was so rude that he refused to send the toilet paper in room and asked me to get it myself from reception.
Entertainment was ok. Food was ok too.
We could not get sunbed any day as we couldn't get up early to reserve it.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ritu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had an amazing time could not fault this hotel one bit. From start to finish all staff we're brilliant. Especially fillipa who was amazing woth our 3 year old daughter and the rest of the entertainment team..

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
5  Thank rebecca t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AluaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Rebecca,

Fillipa is a wonderful member from our staff, always receiving lovely comments from our guests due to her lovely and unstoppable work! We’ll share your comment with her, sure she’ll be happy to hear from you ;) You’re always welcome at Alua Hotels!

Kind regards,
Alua Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel food amazing beds very comfortable great location you do have to walk down a hill to get to the beach front and shops but its not too bad magaluf is a few streets away if you fancy going there for me it was too rowdy too many drunk young people but very lively if thats what your looking for
I would defo recommend this hotel

Stayed: September 2018, traveled as a couple
5  Thank lwilsons2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AluaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Hi lwilsons2012,

We’re so satisfied to know you spent a lovely holiday in our hotel! Indeed, our location is fantastic since it’s in a calm area from Magaluf. If you ever need another break, feel free to visit us again!

Kind regards,
Alua Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Reception staff: 5 stars
Bar staff: 5 stars
Entertainment staff: 5 stars (These people work around the clock and are fantastic at what they do)
Pools: 5 stars (My 1 year old loved the splash pool)
Room: 5 stars (Great ground floor pool view)
Cleaning: 5 Stars (Fresh towels and sheets every day)
Food: 5 Stars (Chicken, beef, ham, lots of veggie options) something for every taste.
Location: 5 stars (slight hill but my partner managed this daily even with Asthma) close to Magaluf and Palma Nova.
My Girlfriend had a birthday whilst there and without anyone being notified she was given a birthday card and bottle of champagne from staff (Great touch!)
This was our first family holiday and I'm pleased to say we will most definitely be back. Thanks for a great week

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
4  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AluaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Wow Rick,

You’re giving us 5 stars to everything, thank you for being so kind! We’re so happy our detail for your girlfriend’s birthday has been of your liking, we always wish to give our guests a surprise for such special days ;) Once again, thank you for choosing us for your first family holiday, we’d love to see you again in your second family trip!

Kind regards,
Alua Hotels & Resorts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews