We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great family holiday”
Review of AluaSun Torrenova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AluaSun Torrenova
Ranked #17 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a great family holiday”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Food was great first class and plenty of variety although lots of sunbeds you still have to get
up at crack of dawn to get the best spot as some areas are in the shade. it has a great area for
kiddies a splash pool with slides and sprinklers (not shown on google maps its the old tennis court) entertainment is a lot to be desired thats what you get with all inclusive but we did see
rud stewart ( not a spelling mistake) one night the apartment on the poolside was a new experience with young lads on a balcony naked

Room Tip: poolside rooms get the sun pm but you may get noise from adjacent apartments young people coming b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    694
    360
    126
    55
See reviews for
1,046
459
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

just came back from marina torrenova hotel yesterday and we have to say we were disappointed with the hotel. Reasons are. never a 4 star hotel, very dated and needs a total refurb from top to bottom, severe lack of umbrellas around pools and the local beer was flat. we paid £3000 for a weeks stay and did not get value for money. Back with a sore neck from sleeping on pillows that felt they had stones in them. Had to drink from plastic cups day and night, We spent several days at beach and a day at western water park just to get out of hotel. went out everynight and back for last hour at night. we had 2 teenage kids with us and they were bored rigid. Not a hotel for anyone with kids over 11. Paid 30 euros for wifi, that didnt really work and why wasnt it free. we popped in to a couple of 4 star hotels when we were out and about and the difference was night and day. So please do not be fooled with this hotel being classed as a 4 star it is at best a low 3 star. Gave it a 2 for its food which was nice but we will never be back at the marina torrenova

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Literally returned today after a week in this hotel. We booked this after reading up on the good reviews for this hotel we were so disappointed when we got there.
The rooms are very basic and the beds have not been replaced since the 1970s! Very uncomfortable beds and scratchy horrible sheets. Noisey and inconsiderate children and parents screaming and running in the corridors at 12.30am obviously getting their money's worth of the all inclusive drinks - not good when you have a young child.
The evening meals in the hotel are very repetitive, salty and boring. The only night we had a good meal was when they put on a curry. The breakfasts on the other hand are very good. Be aware that you are not permitted to remove any food from the restaurant so if you wanted to leave the hotel for a day on the beach you have to purchase snacks outside of the hotel adding to the overall cost of the holiday.
We tried to book a night I the Al a Carte restaurant but were told it was fully booked every time we tried so we eventually gave up.
The pool areas were constantly 'hogged' by Brits putting towels down and then not returning all day.
The children's area and the entertainment for children was very good (as long as you could get a seat outside to watch it, again these were constantly 'hogged'). Our child is too small to leave in the clubs but enjoyed the parrot show and snake show.
On the whole the hotel would have been a good stay if we had paid half the price we had done - we do not feel that the money we paid for 4 star, all inclusive accommodation was justified - we would rate this hotel a low 3 star so please be aware when booking up and paying full price for this hotel.
We actually spent more time outside of this hotel and found a lovely BBQ restaurant which we highly recommend F&C BBQ and a smashing sandwich/Panini/wrap take away shop called Black Rock on Calvia beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovetravelling190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this review, May 25, 2015
Dear Lovetraveler;
We regret the hotel does not meet your expectations.
Please be informed that it is not permitted to remove any food of the hotel because of the high temperatures in summer.
To provide a fairer use, we have taken the decission that we do not keep sun beds if ther are not being used within one hour.
We take into account all your comments in order to improve our standards every year.
We hope that these explanations are satisfactory for you and look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This is the second time I have been here. I liked it the first time and loved it the second time. It is suitable for children and adults. The only fault was the food selection as there was no variety. But the breakfast was always full English ( But no black pudding ). There was only a 5-10 minute walk from Palma nova beach which we visited nearly everyday and visited western park once, but it was far too expensive. The main pool was big and clean so we had no pool related problems. The bar drinks were great and the bar tenders were so kind and polite. Overall it was a very nice hotel and I definitely would return for a third time.

Room Tip: Ask for a certain view because we did and got probably the hotels best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Just got back from a week at this hotel and I must say I was really impressed. Food was varied and in plentiful supply. Children had their own dedicated serving area. We went all inclusive and tick all the boxes, local beer and wine and all soft drinks included, premium drinks a small charge. The pools were great especially the middle one which is great for little ones.
Apparently we British have learnt from the Germans, So I'd advise during busy periods que up with towels at the ready as door's are opened at 08.30 sharp for the charge of the light brigade for the sun lounger's.The pool staff seemed to enjoy themselves anyway. Palma nova beach is a short walk away and is a lovely with loads of restaurant's around. If you get time I can't recommend enough go to The Pirate's Adventure Show absolutely fantastic. We had a great family holiday and would come back again to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank SHEP2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Ants all over room , food was horrible and not a good selection, stained mattresses, mould in rooms, will never be going back to the marina torrenova, good location in magaluf and the people in the hotel are very nice, loud noise at night sometimes with all the young ones coming in from strip, staff are reasonable

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Leeeeeeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaHotels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at AluaSun Torrenova, responded to this review, May 23, 2015
Dear Leeeeeeee;
We regret the hotel does not meet your expectations.
We have not received any more complaints about ants in rooms , It is an unusual issue
Mould sometimes shows up around the air con. that is removed and cleaned up as soon as chambermaids see it.
Any time you are not happy with your room ask the reception to change it. They will do inmediately if there is availability.
We take into account your comments about food.

We hope that these brief clarifications may suit you.
Thanks for your comments and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel from 5-12 July. Party of 5, 2 adults and 3 children. Overall we had a great holiday. The kids especially loved the pools and the all day access to ice lollies and cold drinks and the extensive breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets. The food is good and always hot with plenty of choice for all tastes. We had a large family room overlooking the pool which consisted of 2 inter joining large rooms opening out onto a large balcony. It's funny to read the points regarding the sunbed rally as we didn't wittiness this at all. Yes we would wake up at 9.30am and look over our balcony at an 'empty' but 100% towel booked pool. However, we simply had a leisurely breakfast, maybe a walk and then headed to the pool and always got a sun bed. Top tip avoid beds under the trees as my husband was hit on the leg by a large fresh pigeon poop!

On the downside the room cleanliness is hit and miss. The maids make the beds and tidy but rarely clean or sweep the floor. When we arrived our balcony screen was filthy and wasn't cleaned the entire stay. The pool area is also not washed down every evening. Sticky drink spills from the day before were usually there the next day.

My biggest issue of the holiday was the fact that the kids club is not always free as is insinuated on booking. We found that some of the sessions such as movie munch did not involve a movie but cost 10euros per child. That's 30euros for us!

Don't let these negatives put you off. We had a great holiday and the other guests are all lovely, young and old. Great entertainment every day and night. The facilities are great and most of all our kids had a ball. All inclusive is just not for me and my husband as we prefer to eat out and we think it would probably have cost less.

One final tip, if you go to western water park, ( which is expensive but brilliant fun) get a taxi and pay at the door and not through the rep. It's cheaper this way )

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amcc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.5 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AluaSun Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AluaSun Torrenova

Property: AluaSun Torrenova
Address: Avenida Torrenova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#12 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AluaSun Torrenova 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AluaSun Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
AluaSun Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing