We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a few days”
Review of AluaSun Torrenova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
AluaSun Torrenova
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel. Firstly the location is good, just a couple of minutes walk down the hill and then it's easy to get to either Palma Nova or Magalluf. The Torrenova area is quite nice, lots of trees and I would imagine its a bit more peaceful even in the summer. Not really a steep hill as other people have said!
Receptionists really friendly and smiling, we were soon on our way up to our room.
The room was quite a nice size, a little bit dated but clean enough, could do with an update though. We had a free fridge which was nice but strangely had to pay a deposit if you wanted the TV remote! We didn't bother!
Restaurant was a nice size, not too busy but the food was awful !!!! I normally enjoy hotel buffets but this was really bad, nothing had any taste or flavor and the meat was really bad quality, they seemed to have the cheapest of everything. Hotel was mainly spanish pensioners who seemed to enjoy the food but we really hated it!
Pool area looked ok but was far too cold to even go out there, and there were no chairs out even when the sun did come out for a few hours.
The resort was dead. Only a few bars open, even in Magalluf, it's not really a winter resort, definitely wouldn't come back at this time of year. Saw a few stag/ hen parties and felt quite sorry for them - nothing whatsoever to do and no people!
Overall, I would imagine the hotel is ok in the summer but I wouldn't go back - only saved by the lovely smiling and pleasant staff everywhere.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
8  Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,366 - 1,372 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have just returned from a girls weekend and generally speaking the hotel is fine,located a few minutes walk from either Palma Nova beach or Magaluf.Bar and restaurant quite roomy,bar prices are good(6 drinks approx Eu10) considering you're in a hotel,the food wasn't anything outstanding,if you could get close enough to choose.The other guests,almost all of them were Spanish,were so rude and pushy in the buffet I/we often gave up,so maybe room only is a good option.The hill is unavoidable,but why not share a taxi?About Eu3 from beach.Strolling back after a few beers,you don't really notice it anyway.We enjoyed The 3 Lions and Lush in Magaluf,avoid the Bristol Bar,not nice for a female group.Useful having a fridge(under the TV!!)

Room Tip: We had sea view rooms(as against pool view) which seemed to be quiet,but it is March.We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbugBristol_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed half board 5 nights for £20 each per night (2 people).

Clean hotel and friendly staff - top marks to Jose on reception.

Staff all speak English. Most clients are Spanish with a few Brits.

Breakfast is fine - cereals, cheese, jams, sausages, rolls etc - nice coffee but avoid the orange juice !.

Evening meal served 7-30 pm to 9-30 pm is fine too as long as you don't expect prime cuts of meat. Nice puddings, salads, - soup looked a bit watery and a lovely fresh orange to finish with - why are Spanish oranges so good ?.

Parking easy (March 2013) and free.. Cannot see why people complain about the hill unless they are disabled should not be an issue.

Fridge in room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

First time in this hotel and first time in the resort at this time of the year , last week of feb.
The hotel is a good 3 star set on a hill that is going to be a challenge if your not fit , we are in our 50's and were fine with it . There is a couple of ways to the hotel and we found the sea side route the easiest . We booked at short notice a cheap easy jet holiday from their web page and found the whole booking thing easy .
What we didn't expect was the hotel was completely full of Spanish OAP 's . The hotel food and entertainment reflected the clientele but the staff could not do any more to make us welcome .
service in the restaurant was slow with people clearing their own tables between courses and while the food at breakfast and dinner was for a Spanish taste there was alway something we could eat. Food was warm not hot at all .
We booked the Sona Mar dance show with the hotel .The tickets included transport , a meal and the entertainment for 130 euro's . We went to the pick up point at the reception a couple of nights later to be told it was canceled due to lack of interest ,while not the hotels fault a bit more notice would have been appreciated .
Rooms need to be updated but were always clean and staff happy to help .
Over all I would not use this hotel again in the winter season or indeed visit the resort at this time of year again ...everything was shut ... but would think it will be a very different hotel in the Summer months as it looks like a hotel that is better suited for families .
We have been to the Palma area several time before and will return again , just not off season .
Enjoyed our break though .
Don't be put off by this just remember we visited in the winter season and the more positive reviews I have now seen reflect the fact that the hotel shifts up a gear with better food and service during the summer .

Room Tip: No good views from hotel as it is in built up area with little views of the sea .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

11th Sept-25th September 2012
As a party of 3 ladies aged from 55 -66 we were not sure what to expect. On arrival we were greeted by the reception staff,. and after signing in went up to our room. The room was quite small for the three of us but that was'nt a big issue as you dont spend too much time in there anyway.Bad points were the room was quite dated and could do with new modern furniture but beds were comfortable and rooms kept clean. The food was plentiful and breakfasts were the best meal of the day with full english and tasted delicious! We had a very good time over the fortnight, but we all agreed what made the holiday so special was the entertainment team Aleandro especially! (We wanted to take him home with us) Sally and Jonny did a splendid job too. You will have a good time with plenty of laughs and a brill holiday! so go on and book it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alley809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent a week at this Hotel with my friend. It definitely isn't a four star. Three stars would be more appropriate.
The staff on the whole were really friendly.
Natalie on reception always went the extra mile and nothing was too much trouble for her.
Restaurant staff were also friendly.
It was a pity that the breakfasts were so poor. They were obviously aimed at the Spanish guests.
Never any bacon, only hard boiled eggs occasionally, hot dog sausages and uninteresting cereals.
I did complain but was told that they wouldn't do a full range of food until summer.
The steep hill was a challenge but we survived it!
The entertainment was good. Only three or four Hotels were actually open in Palma Nova and magaluf.
Overall You get what you pay for and we didn't pay a lot!!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank foreveryoung62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Cant really remember when we went here. But it wasnt during the summer holidays. Still got burnt :( but did rain, it was nice to swim in the warm water with rain falling. Food was neverending and great! Unlimated slushes came in handy for the heat. Alltogeather, brilliant!

10  Thank xLiNtYRoCkSx
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.6 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.1 mi away
Alua Hawaii Mallorca & Suites (ex Intertur)
0.6 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#18 of 38 in Palmanova
963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alua Palmanova Bay (ex Intertur)
0.7 mi away
FERGUS Bermudas
FERGUS Bermudas
#16 of 38 in Palmanova
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AluaSun Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AluaSun Torrenova

Address: Avenida Torrenova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $75 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AluaSun Torrenova 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Marina Torrenova is located in Palma Nova, in the municipality of Calviá. To be precise, the area of Palma Nova where the hotel is located is called Torrenova, as the hotel’s name indicates. Palma Nova has one of the best entertainment offers on the Island of Mallorca, with a varied choice of bars, pubs and restaurants. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers leisure activities for all the family, making it an ideal place for a relaxing break or having fun.The hotel’s facilities include: children’s play areas where children can enjoy fun-filled holidays, and grown-ups can relax and enjoy everything that the Island of Mallorca has to offer. The Hotel Marina Torrenova offers its guests different board basis, including “All Inclusive”.The area of Palma Nova offers a wide and varied selection of leisure facilities, bars & pubs, restaurants and discotheques. Nearby sport facilities include golf, windsurf, yachting, water ski, diving and other water sport activities, including various water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your AluaSun Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrenova Marina Palma Nova
Torrenova Marina Hotel Palma Nova
AluaSun Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing