We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Only one thing we didn't like” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Don Bigote
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Only one thing we didn't like”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

The only thing we did'nt like about this hotel was that it caters for groups of hen and stag parties.. The actions and language of drunken people around the pool side during the day was both offensive and embarissing. We heard of complaints of noise at night but being on the top floor it did'nt affect us.
Beaware that it is a 2 star hotel, but in saying that it is a good hotel. The rooms are a little on the small side. They are very clean. There is limited shelf space in the bathroom.The food is just about bearable on a two week stay. The pool is large with an area cordoned off for the youngsters. We would not recommend this hotel to a family with youngish children as there is not much for them to do in the hotel (no daytime activities). The entertainment is sparse and the bar has no stage so the entertaineers perform on the floor in the alley way between the smoking and no smoking section of the lounge area. This is unsatisfactory both to the performers and guests.
As we've said this is a two star hotel, dont expect much more. You get what you pay for. We do recommend the cafe/bar SCANDIA opposite the hotel. Its very good value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alancant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    498
    304
    117
    112
See reviews for
169
464
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sunderland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

If you want a nice quiet holiday - DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL
If you want a decent meal - DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL
If you are offended by bad language -DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL
If you want a decent night's sleep - DON'T GO TO THIS HOTEL
worst Spanish Hotel i've ever been to - young men + women shouting, arguing, banging on doors and swopping rooms until breakfast time. Food was poor quality, with the same thing every day. On a positive note - rooms were clean and the staff friendly

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lilacladySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Excellent hotel, this is the nicest hotel i've ever stayed in ,the staff were excellent always polite and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for them, rooms were cleaned daily, food average but excellent for the price we paid, (£35 for 3 nights half board ). Ideally located, close to beach & palmanova and only 4 euro for a taxi to magaluf. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2010

Location:
* 20mins from the airport.
* 2 mins away from the beaches.
* 2 mins from loads n loads of shops, bars + restaurants.
* 10mins walk from Magaluf.

Hotel:
* Very old looking, could do with updating.
* A nice big pool area.
* Little rooms that only consist of a bed...wardrobe...dressing table and a separate bathroom, don't even get a cup to drink your drink out of, had to ask at the bar.
* Maid service everyday which consist of change of towels, tidy up, make beds but bedding never got changed through out our 10day stay,(Maids are very friendly and helpful)
* Some Reception staff are rude.
* Bar is over priced and snack bar food didn't look up to much scratch. (Defo try the restaurant across the road called "Scandia" really cheaply priced and lovely food,)

Food:
* Breakfast is the same everyday, which is not up 2 much scratch either - it consists of: eggs (which r sometimes under cooked) Spanish bacon, whole tomatoes, sausages and hard beans. cereal is available but they are horrid.! You get free juice,tea + coffee only in the morning. breakfast is between 8.00 - 10.00.
* Dinner does change daily but mainly contains some sort of meat in a sauce or gravy. I am a fussy eater but i did manage to eat every night and enjoy most evening meals. Not really no selection for vegetarians. You get ice cream and cakes for dessert which was nice.

Overall:
The hotel is OK if you are on a low budget and you want to be close to all the amenities. But if your after luxury then this is defo not the place for you.
Just remember you get what you pay for...!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsDuffyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2010

This was the 6th time I had stayed at this hotel and a first for my friend who hadn't had a summer holiday for 10 years. We chose Don Bigote because it was cheap and the location was fantastic for shops, restaurants and the beach. The facilities at the hotel are great too, lots of seating area around the pool and the bar, the pool is a decent size also.
We arrived late evening on the 31st May staying for two weeks at half board and was given the keys to our room on the 7th floor, got to our room which was huge considering there was only the two of us with three beds. Our room overlooked the street ( which sometimes got noisy at night with drunken lads but I soon sorted that out) at the front of the hotel and gave us a good sea view which was great.
Food was excellent lots of choice every breakfast & evening ( I was worried as my friend is a fussy eater) she loved it also and couldnt praise the food enough.
We ventured into Magaluf a few times during the holiday and was shocked to find how expensive things (if its a drinking holiday you want take at least £750 per person or you will definitely run out of money fast) had got since I last visited Palma Nova (as the Euro was in a much better place then) and was bemused that we spent 60 euros between us in one hour so we decided it was cheaper to go to the Spar shop (which is opposite the beach) on the way back from the beach daily and get a few bottles and sat on our balcony each night having a laugh at the drunken holiday makers walking up and down our street.
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to all, it is mainly used by the younger generation but I visited this hotel (my first holiday abroad) with friends who were in the early 50's and had been using Don Bigote for 30 years plus.
The beach is great and can get very crowded, you must visit the Kompas Cafe opposite the beach and next to the spar at lunch times this is great food and value for money.
A must when in Magaluf is Panama Jack's (opposite BCM Club) its air conditioned and great value for money - you get a free shot with every drink. That strip of bars is also great.
Planning other trip to Don Bigote next year for my 30th birthday, I wouldn't want to go anywhere else and my friend agrees!!!! I will definitely take plenty of euros for this holiday.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delle31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west mids
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

We went with a group of friends aged 22-28, we had all just literally wanted some sun so went for this as it was good value.

Rooms were ok, cleaned daily. Food was boring the same thing most nights which was kind of expected!! we just ventured out iinto palma novaand found other places to eat.

Location was good and close to all local ameneties and beach. The beach was really nice but could become packed and the amount of girls trying to sell fruit just became annoying, especially as one of them robbed our disabled friend!!! We informed the police but they didnt really have much sympathy at all.
Palma Nova itself was nice and we enjoyed chilling in some of the bars along the beach.

Overall an ok cheap n cheerful holiday, just what we wanted at the time but wouldnt go back as it lacked appeal.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzil00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2009

We have just returned from Palma Nova staying at Don Bigote.I had read reviews before going and just hoped they were exagerated.I was greatly surprised on arriving there to find a hotel so close to the sea/beach.The staff helped us alot as I am disabled and I even managed to hire an electric scooter from a lovely young man called Timmy.This all took place within the hotel foyer.The room was basic but very clean.A good assortment of food at meal times and the seating around the pool was good.We enjoyed ourselves and intend returning next year

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ABCCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#22 of 38 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#8 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova
Sol Palmanova
#17 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globales Mimosa
Hotel Globales Mimosa
#29 of 38 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Property: Hotel Don Bigote
Address: Calle Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing