We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"1st time here !"”
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Blackpool
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“"1st time here !"”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Having read some of the earlier comments, before we went (15-29 Sept), we were, shall we say, a little apprehensive, to say the least. Let's just say, I will never listen to the (under educated) minority again, this hotel is like a breath of fresh air. For a 2 star hotel, they really do go the extra mile, nothing is too much trouble for anyone, reception, bar staff, chambermaids, everyone was fantastic.
To the people on here, who claim the chambermaids, wake them up, shouting down the corridors, they don't come up to the floors, till after 10.00am. Breakfast is served from 8.00am til 10.00am, you obviously cannot get up before 10.00am, "DONT" complain, get an apartment.
The food here was good, and plentiful, I don't know what some people expect from a 2 star hotel, maybe they should Google the star rating system, this hotel should be 3 stars, the only thing stopping it is, there are no televisions in the rooms, (thanks to the p*sshead, Magalluf lot, throwing them off the balcony).
Rants over now, other than to say, this place is a gem, we would be back next year, but a few individuals have put us off, some peoples morals are not the same as mine, and my partners.

Room Tip: Try floors 5 and above, the idiots don't get up there too often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank garry069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    534
    327
    129
    116
See reviews for
177
495
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

been here twice before and although recent reviews were less than complimentery it didnt put us off to coming here again . clean room. towels changed . never went hungry at mealtimes.staff friendly and helpful . we love the position of the hotel being near beach and short stroll to magaluf . we used the courtesy room to shower and change for our flight home . we came here during the week so mainly mature holiday makers . cant say what it would have been like at the weekend but as with any hotel there will be the hen/stag element . the resort is winding down now but everything open . plenty bars and restaurants .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie54Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If we would have read the reviews before we booked we would not have gone to this hotel once we arrived we were pleasantly surprised rooms were very clean. It is in a very good location the food was good .we took our own travel kettle and hair dryer, You can hire a safe it is cheaper to hire it for 7 nights and over only 2 euros a day. We had the sun all day on the balcony we asked for a pool view, After reading reviews we fully expected it to be really noisy and took earplugs we did not use them at all. There is no telly in the room but plenty going on in resort . there was a couple of hen and stag parties but they were well behaved , there was a lot of bars near by with pints for 1euro 25 we are a couple in our 60s and was a good mix of ages

Room Tip: ask for pool view it get the sun it get most sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy19501947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Short distance from beach and shops the hotel has 8 floors, 2 lifts.Our room was clean and tidy and was cleaned every day,with clena towels and sheets as required. food was very good,plenty to select from and all good quality.We took a travell kettle for the early morning cuppa and other times.,10 NIGHTS HALF BOARD.Did have disturbed nights caused by guests returning in the early hours from their night out!!!!.Staff very good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tedwards10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

rooms very clean but small inside .. loads of choices of food ,, shud have kettles in bedroom as breakfast dont start till 8 so if you want a drink you have to go find a cafe ..more entertainment in hotel .. if you want a lounger you after queue up at pool doors early because ppl queue and leave there towels on them all day even if they go out of hotel ...

Room Tip: pool side are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We first stayed at this hotel probably about 3 years ago. It was ok, nothing special, it cant have been that bad or we wouldnt have gone back. In the short time since we last visited it has gone down hill. We got a road facing room, the rooms are very small, and the balconies so small that they are practically unusable. We were unfortunate enough to get the room next to the closet which the cleaners use, so were woken up about 7.30 every morning, with banging, chattering and various loud noises (this was despite going to bed around 3-4 every morning), so lack of sleep was an issue, this noise continued until around 3pm everyday, so napped after that!! The room was very dated, and although cleaned every day, was still quite dirty. There was peeling paint, dirty walls, and rust in various locations. The pool area is really dirty if you take a look, the tiles on the pool are covered in a dirty scummy film, and the whole area is dirty, flaking paint, fag buts etc. We ate breakfast probably once, the food was quite cold, and sub standard.

On the plus side the location of this hotel is great, as Magaluf is easily walkable, and we had a brilliant time in the various bars, and clubs. This was a cheap holiday, so we cant complain too much, as you really do get what you pay for. But dont expect any niceties, it is as basic as it comes. If you want better, you need to pay more.

Will definetly be back to Palma Nova, as it offers everything we want in a holiday, but doubt we will be back to Don Bigote, unless things change

The Fountain Bar, near Katmandu, is a nicely run bar if you like tribute acts etc, Goya Viyana on the way to Magaluf is a nice cafe/restaurant, very reasonably priced and lovely food.

Room Tip: Dont get the room next to the cleaners closet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkhan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my friend (both 18) in August this year for 6 nights, when we first arrived it wasn't as I expected, we checked in and went up to our room which was very small but it did as we were only in there to sleep, there wasn't much storage space or anywhere to hide suitcases and the sockets were located far away from the mirrors but these weren't huge issues. The rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard and towels could be changed every day if we wanted. The staff throughout the hotel were always very nice and helpful especially those on the bar and at reception. I would stay again due to the location and ease at getting into Magaluf however I wouldn't go half board as the food was disgusting also the doors out to the pool are locked till after 9 each morning which causes people to gather and rush out. There was also lack of a courtesy room which meant we had to sit about with no shower or anywhere to put our bags on the day of departure from mid-day. Overall I enjoyed my stay at the Don Bigote and it was good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethanyW94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#33 of 39 in Palmanova
1,005 reviews
0.6 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,890 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#24 of 39 in Palmanova
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Property: Hotel Don Bigote
Address: Calle Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing