We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at the Don Bigote for 5 nights half board..Returned on Tuesday May 21st 2013.
The rooms are very dated although cleaned daily & clean towels provided daily when used towels are left in the bath. The food was good, plenty to choose from. Restaurant staff were pleasent but we did see a little altercation going on between two of the waiters!! ( older guy in dinner suit & younger guy we nick named the 'Silver Fox') Lol.
The pool area is cleaned every morning is spacious with plenty of sunbeds.
There were guests of all ages staying in this hotel with some stag & hen party groups, however it was not noisey. To be honest the most noise we experienced from our room 306 facing the pool was the staff arriving early morning smoking & talking very loudly to one another outside the staff entrance to the hotel restaurant.
If you have booked this hotel you really have no need to worry! Enjoy your stay :)

Room Tip: Room 306 noisey when staff arrive for work early in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    459
    278
    110
    105
See reviews for
152
431
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We've just returned from our 2nd stay here, and once again cannot complain. Very clean rooms, basic but cleaned daily. Friendly staff, good meals and all at a great price. Pool area very clean, plenty of sunbeds, no mad rush for them, water freezing!!!
Excellent location ideal for the beach, bars etc. Short walk into Magaluf.
Daresay we'll return....

Room Tip: We had a pool facing room, think it's quieter than the road facing ones. Was a little wait for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wade2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Just had a week half board at this Hotel and had read some pretty scary reviews. Try the Hotel for yourself. There was just the two of us. Found the staff in Reception, cleaners, Restaurant all very pleasant and helpful. Food varied and good with hot plates!! As 70+ my husband and I found there was lots of young people but no trouble and we would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Room 328 overlooked the road almost above main entrance. The road was busy and noisy but we had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just got back from a 3 night stay and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is alittle dated but rooms were adequate size and very clean. Maid service every day. Food was basic but something for everyone and deserts were lovely. Pool area clean, spacious and plenty of sun loungers. Ideal location, near to beach and bars/restaurants but couldnt hear any loud music etc on a night. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lauraconga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from the Don Bigote, was pleasantly surprised to find that it`s not a bad hotel after all! Some of the negative reviews had started to worry me before I went, but the hotel is clean, ideally located and the bar is cheap. The food was good most nights with plenty of choice, and the deserts were lovely. My only quibble was lack of scrambled eggs for breakfast, but not a major concern. Yes the rooms are a bit tired and dated, but aren`t too bad a size, the balconies are ample for two people and relatively private, and the pool area is quite spacious. If I ever return to Palma Nova, would definitely give this hotel another go.

Room Tip: opt for a pool view room if possible, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeedsKaiserjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambrige
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

just got back from palma nova don bigote hotel first time in this hotel didt no what to exspect rooms basic very clean have cleaners in every day went half bourd food was good pool good will defently go back again mixed age groups it wasen;t noisey was on 6th floor over looking pool hotel good value for money had a week got back 11/5/2013 carnt wait to go back banna joes bar walking distance very good .

Room Tip: we was on 6h floor over looking pool facing road to noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned home after another great stay at the Don Bigote. We travelled as a group of 22 age range 22 - 59 and all had a great time. The hotel is spotless and the rooms are cleaned everyday. Yes the hotel is a little noisy on a night as there are quite a lot of stag and hen groups but this didn't bother us as we knew what to expect as this was our third stay here . The food is nice. I would recommend Amigos Bar across the road from the hotel, the owner, Raphael and his wife Maria, are very welcoming and very entertaining. Also, Castaways just around the corner is very cheap, €2.20 for 2 pints and is nice. We will definitely be returning to the Don Bigote.

You need to remember that you are not paying 4 star prices and so you are not getting a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side will be quieter on a night, you can here the coaches coming and going on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#8 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#22 of 38 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#10 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Globales Mimosa
Hotel Globales Mimosa
#29 of 38 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 stars 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Property: Hotel Don Bigote
Address: Calle Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing