We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ignore the negative reviews”
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Just got back from the Don Bigote, was pleasantly surprised to find that it`s not a bad hotel after all! Some of the negative reviews had started to worry me before I went, but the hotel is clean, ideally located and the bar is cheap. The food was good most nights with plenty of choice, and the deserts were lovely. My only quibble was lack of scrambled eggs for breakfast, but not a major concern. Yes the rooms are a bit tired and dated, but aren`t too bad a size, the balconies are ample for two people and relatively private, and the pool area is quite spacious. If I ever return to Palma Nova, would definitely give this hotel another go.

Room Tip: opt for a pool view room if possible, away from the road.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsKaiserjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,395)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Don Bigote
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

920 - 926 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

just got back from palma nova don bigote hotel first time in this hotel didt no what to exspect rooms basic very clean have cleaners in every day went half bourd food was good pool good will defently go back again mixed age groups it wasen;t noisey was on 6th floor over looking pool hotel good value for money had a week got back 11/5/2013 carnt wait to go back banna joes bar walking distance very good .

Room Tip: we was on 6h floor over looking pool facing road to noisey
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have just returned home after another great stay at the Don Bigote. We travelled as a group of 22 age range 22 - 59 and all had a great time. The hotel is spotless and the rooms are cleaned everyday. Yes the hotel is a little noisy on a night as there are quite a lot of stag and hen groups but this didn't bother us as we knew what to expect as this was our third stay here . The food is nice. I would recommend Amigos Bar across the road from the hotel, the owner, Raphael and his wife Maria, are very welcoming and very entertaining. Also, Castaways just around the corner is very cheap, €2.20 for 2 pints and is nice. We will definitely be returning to the Don Bigote.

You need to remember that you are not paying 4 star prices and so you are not getting a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the pool side will be quieter on a night, you can here the coaches coming and going on the...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Ive actually stayed here twice.. The first time we booked to stay here, it was bad... The second time we went as a group/party and didnt know our hotel until we arrived. When I looked up and saw Don Bigote, I wanted to cry. This place is GRIM.

The place is SO unclean, especially if your staying on the higher floors, cleaners seem to get lazy whilst going up! The beds have stains and there was hair all over the bathroom on both occassions. The pool is also just as dirty. Im by no means a clean freak, but i have never stayed anywhere as grim as this.

The bar was good and fairly priced. Both times went room only so never ate any of the food. Im all for basic rooms - when I go on holiday i rarely spend any time in the room, I just use it to sleep, but this is beyond basic.

Ive returned to the island 5 times since, and the only hotel I would rule out ever returning to is this one. I recommend the hotel next door - Aquasol - not much more expensive and a lot nicer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as a hen party, the location of the hotel is good, the outside area and pool are great, the inside bar looks like the best room of a 1990s pub with its wood interior and red upholstery. The hotel rooms are very basic 2 single beds a fitted wardrobe with sliding door and a dressing table. The rooms definitely need a make over. The bathroom had a bath with a shower over it, it has seen better days but was functional. There was a small balcony. There was no television or tea making facilities in the room. The room was cold as we couldn't turn the air conditioning off, but the room was cleaned every day and towels changed. As previously reported the hotel is well known for hen and stag parties so the noise levels at night are rowdy when the parties are all making there way back to their rooms. The good bits of this hotel are the staff who are helpful and the food which was good to say it was mass produced. We were also very pleased with the location 2 minutes walk to the beech and 10 minutes walk to the strip in Magaluf. We paid £290 each person for 3 nights so was quite expensive. Palma Nova and Magaluf are beautiful venues but probably wouldn't stop at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank orange66Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Hotel in good central location but very noisy with the younger generation coming in at between 1-3am the oldies that have been coming for years are now dwindling as the 18-30s are taking over room OK food OK was value for what we paid we were half board for a week probably would not go back

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

me and my boyfriend stayed at this hotel for 10 days in august 2012.

on arrival we were given the keys of our room...it was FILTHY! hairs all over the bathroom and stains on the white bed sheets. Room was in serious need of an update too. we immediately asked to move but had to wait to the next day.

our second room was worse. After 7 nights we arrived back from magaluf strip and spotted a LIZARD run behind the curtain so we called reception who sent the security guard up with a brush (useless it kept running round the walls every time he swiped at it) and in the end my boyfriend grabbed it with his hand and removed it from our room. the security guard checked behind the curtain and found LIZARD BABIES!!!! he scooped them up and threw them over the balcony. i didn't see the small ones my boyfriend told me not to look but there was a tail on the balcony the next morning. just shows how unclean the rooms were if the maid hadn't cleaned behind them.

also over small flies kept appearing in our room and after the lizard incident i got my boyfriend to check all the drawers (we were using the wardrobe and our cases not the drawers - we hadn't even opened them) and about 10 FLIES flew out!! disgusting!! over the holiday i kept getting red marks all over my and booked an appointment at the drs for my return and was told the red marks were inset bites typical from BED BUGS!!!!! which i expected in this dump!

we were unfortunately half board and ended up eating out most nights spending as little time as possible in the hotel!!

Also we paid for a fridge for our room to chill our drinks for the evening, but everyday when the maid came in she insisted on unplugging it so when we arrived from the beach our drink and food would be warm, we repeatedly told reception with no avail.staff are ignorant and claim to not understand when there is a problem.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

We go to magaluf/palma nova every year and this is by far the WORST HOTEL EVER!

We would recommend the marina torrenova, sol magaluf park or sol trinidad!! even the 2* MP is better than this place!

do not ruin your holiday like we did thinking you have got a good deal!! pay extra for decent hotel!! HOLIDAY FROM HELL THANKS TO THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ram186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#11 of 39 in Palmanova
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#17 of 39 in Palmanova
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#32 of 39 in Palmanova
1,078 reviews
0.7 mi away
BelleVue Vistanova
BelleVue Vistanova
#38 of 39 in Palmanova
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Address: Calle Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range: $42 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing