We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Hotel Don Bigote

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Don Bigote
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for a 3 night hen weekend and it was perfect! Great location to shops, bars, restaurants and a fantastic White sandy clear water beach. It was also a great location to go into Magaluf which is only a 10-15 minute walk along the sea front! Hotel was great value for money and rooms were clean. Yes there could be a few bits to tidy up but nothing that is enough to bother you. Hotel staff were friendly and food was great! I'm a fussy eater but always found something to eat. Would reccomend and return to Don Bigote.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princess_loz_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    536
    327
    129
    116
See reviews for
178
496
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2011

just back from the don bogote stayed here for 2 weeks with me cousin. i have to say that the standard of the hotel from the cleaning side of the things is of good standard. but the quality of food good be better luke warm food of a morning and not much choice. evening meal sometimes the same. the quality of rooms are of poor standard a fixed base with 2 single mattresses on top we complained about the standard of the room and complained to the rep of thomas cook and filled out a complaint form.the hotel said they good move us to another room but they wanted more money out of us we said no. in the end we had another bed but into the room.with the room being to small for two people it was even smaller you could not even swing a cat in the room.my overall marks out of 10 for this hotel is 5 am sure you can get better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We have just returned home from our 5 day break at the don bigote. For the money we paid we feel we got value for money. The rooms are small but clean. We were on the 6th floor with sea view which was very quite. The food was good with plenty of choice. Felt the breakfasts were cold but there is a microwave there to heat anything up.
The staff were all friendly enough. I was surprised to read from previous reviews some people annoyed at having to pay for drinks in dining room. We did notice a lot of people did not order drinks with their food. Considering a bottle of wine was only 6 euros and water 2 euros I found this very hard to beleive that some people could eat a 3 to 4 course meal without having anything to drink.
We didnt spend too much time at the pool area or in the bar area but all looked clean and organised.
The hotel is close to the beach .
We would definately return to this hotel. You get more than you pay for. Have stayed at 3 and 4 star hotels which havent been much better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed for one week at the Don Bigote 16-23rd September. And it really is a case of you get what you pay for. We found the staff really helpful, the rooms were quite small, but adequate for the two of us. Parts of the hotel do need upgrading. The radiator in our room was rusty, the carpets in the hallways were worn and shoddy, and just generally tatty. The maids cleaned our room every day, and did a good job. This is a great location, very good to dip in to Magaluf, if and when required. We frequented the fountain bar, across from katmandu, which had great entertainment, suggest you go see Mike Jones as Elvis, very entertaining and Lady GaGa at Baco's Bar was very good. We didnt pay much for this holiday, and went bed and breakfast, the breakfast was luke warm every day. If it had been warm it would have been very nice. I would go back again, there are better Hotels in Palma Nova as I have stayed at them, but you pay more for them. Again you get what you pay for!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arkhan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

just stayed for 5 nights at the don bigote and had a great time,the hotel was clean,the pool area excellent and the food was far better than expected always lots of choice.Only issue is that as we were a group of 10 lads on the razzle we seemed to have been transported to the film set of cacoon,and even though we were very well behaved,not loud or abusive,found that we were looked down upon by a majority of the elderly population of the don bigote.
my advice is if you want a good hotel but dont mind getting elbowed in the ribs at dinner by rude oaps the don bigote is for you,if you want a lively place with people under 40 go elsewere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisdawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel was literally falling apart. We had booked a room for three of us and the room was so small we barely had room to put our suitcases down (the beds were concrete blocks so they couldnt go under there!). The room was graffitied and stained, the air con barely worked and was as loud as a lawn mower - we asked the hotel to fix it twice and they sent an engineer straight away...however he did not fix it properly both times. In the bathroom there was green mold on the bidet and the flush broke at one point flooding the bathroom.
We were half board and the food was horrible. The first night we had spag bol...the second night they had turned that same spag bol into a pasta bake!! It was mostly chips, mushy veg and other stodge.
The pool had cracks in the paving surrounding it and it was not clean. I got in the shallow end and there were hundreds of dead flies etc floating around me, yuk!!
I appreciate that this is a cheap hotel, however i have stayed in a few 2 star hotels and it has always been 50 times better than this. I would certainly never want to go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dani5550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

1 week spent here, mid september. Chose the Hotel on price and location overall.
The stay here was very pleasant and I enjoyed every minute.
When we arrived, we checked in and got our room key within 5 minutes, luckily on the first floor, so we never used the lifts, however compared to a previous hotel we stayed at they did look very presentable and clean.
When the rooms were cleaned, the maids did a fantastic job. Air-con worked fine and for just the 2 of us there was enough room.
Personally, I didn't really enjoy the breakfast. It was quite basic, and if you didn't go down at 8am it did begin to get cold as it was piled up. However the dinner was very nice, with a good variety to chose from. Although they had a small print out of the menu outside the restruant, it would have been more convinient to have signs next to the food, as one day i took what I thought was chicken to the table, to realise it was fish - I hate fish!
Location was great, right across from a supermarket (although it's pricey so I would reccommend the spar just around the courner), Banana Joes and easy walking distance to Palma nova beach, centre and 10 minutes to the magaluf 'strip'.
The pool area was clean, tidy and a comfortable environment with a the bar area - connected to the inside bar area.
Some of the staff were nicer than others, and some didn't speak english as well as others, but if you had a problem they generally sorted it out.
Overall I enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are much brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
655 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#10 of 39 in Palmanova
490 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#33 of 39 in Palmanova
1,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#25 of 39 in Palmanova
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cabau Aquasol
Cabau Aquasol
#16 of 39 in Palmanova
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Bigote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Bigote

Property: Hotel Don Bigote
Address: Calle Paris 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Don Bigote 2*
Number of rooms: 231
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Don Bigote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Bigote Hotel
Hotel Don Bigote Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing