We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Read Me - honest, fair review!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel TRH Torrenova
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Read Me - honest, fair review!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2009

My best friend and I, both 28, stayed here for 4 days and had the best time! We loved it so much, we are booking the same hotel in August for a week.

STAFF
From the moment we arrived, the staff were polite, helpful and friendly. Most people has absolutely no problems, except the rowdy, noisy, rude, abusive stag do that turned up. The staff received complaints and the boys were told to behave or be removed. Here they do NOT like noise! We rolled in at 5:30am and were greeted nicely - but we were polite! Another stag party of 20 were fine because they were polite and just had a laugh without being rude and abusive.

LOCATION
At the top of a steep hill! If you are not able bodied, don't come here! After a few drinks I found it a LOT easier to get up!!! My friend had to be pushed up by some lads from our hotel! It's not that bad if you take it slow though, it'll do you good!! A very quiet area away from the bars, although they are only a 5 minute walk away.

ROOM
FAB air-con! Dated furniture but it was clean, tidy and the balcony had amazing views. The room and bathroom were spacious too. TV has BBC1, BBC 3 and a foreign music channel. All in all, if its just a place to sleep, shower and change it was great. Very quiet too.

POOL
The pictures don't do it justice. When you look at the pool, beach bar and view over the balcony it is AMAZING! Simply the best view. No complaints there.

There is a life guard on hand who watches the childrens play area and pool. When a young girl fell off her inflatable and couldn't get back up the life guard had her out of the water before her parents could even get out of their chair!

Small children's play area, seperate shallow toddlers pool and the main pool are all lovely. Some of the sun loungers need replacing though, again, rather dated.

OVERALL
If you're polite and don't cause trouble, no problems! One older lady was there with her family and had last visited 10 years ago. She commented that it hadn't been refurbished in all that time, but we were happy with it. If you're looking for clean and comfortable in a quiet location with good access to bars, shops and the beach then ENJOY!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SueEllenLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    226
    259
    165
    261
See reviews for
162
265
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2009

My friend and I both in our late 20's early 30's decided on a budget last minute break and booked for the 26th May to this Hotel for £260. Having read the reviews i have to say we were really concerned about the terrible reviews of this hotel but hey ho there was nothing we could do! When we arrived late at night at the hotel, we were informed that there was no water or electric and a room was temporarily booked for us at the nearby TRH Palmanova. On arrival here we were not impressed at all and our room was awful. Oh well we thought were only here for a night. The next day we arrived back to our the Torrenova and first comment was how helpful the staff were, contrary to all the other peoples reports on here. I am therefore of the opinion if you are courteous then they will be nice in return! When we arrived at our room 411, we were taken aback at the size and cleanliness of the room, crisp white sheets, no dust in site and a view that was to die for of the med sea. We had heard all the horror stories about break ins and all i can say is dont leave valuables lying around and they wont get nicked! I wouldnt do it in england so why leave stuff lying around here?? Credit Cards and passports were with me at all times and I left my stuff locked in the suitcase just as an added precaution however my friend left her phone and other bits around and nothing was tampered with. The hotel was clean, yes the plastic on the deckchairs is cracking but jesus if thats what you have to moan about! The pool area was sooo quiet, these so called rowdy lads were well behaved and the pool bar's food was excellent. I truly cannot fault this hotel or the staff and feel that strongly that I wanted to leave a postive comment! At the end of the day we paid £260 and after all Magaluf is a party place, so why visit it if you dont like lively places??? As for the hill, it was fantastic on the calves and thighs and has toned us up no end!! I feel us brits take things tooo seriously and whinge far tooo much!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gouldie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2009

Having arrived in Palma Nova 1st part of the horror story was we were dropped off at the wrong hotel, walked to the designated hotel and upon check-in we were informed they had a water problem on 3 floors thus we have to go to the TRH Palma Nova which was in walking distance however on arrival at the TRH Palma Nova and entering our room we were horrified to discover the following (please read on we only stayed here for 2 day...TRH Torrenova details to come!!) disgusting room, no cooking facilities, no kettle, no toaster, beds that were crawling with wot we dont know, howling drunk people banging on doors at all times of the night, during the day drunk stag parties stripping off jumping in the pool shouting screaming etc. children were party to this behaviour!! We were already wanting to go home but had nearly 2 weeks left so my husband went to complain to the manager who was very sympathetic but had no choice seeing as i was in such an upset state. She rang TRH Torrenova and told them we were coming back and gave us 3 days free breakfast. So....back we walked to TRH Torrenova upon arrival given room 712 which had a lovely view...thats about it. On the first night we had barking dogs all night, bruises from the springs in the mattress on my ribs and pillows like concrete. Eventually we moved our beds into the lounge area were it was a little quieter. Next day we decided to make our way to the pool for a bit of sun...the sunloungers were falling apart, people were on top of 1 another like sardines, there were weeds, rubbish scattered just very uncomfortable indeed. Beach from now on!! The information given from the brochure was inaccurate, we were indeed in Magaluf...the most rowdy place on earth. The "HILL" was beyond comprehension even though my husband and i are quite fit found this excurciating even looking at it. Even the local t-shirt shop had t-shirts you could buy saying "no one told me about his [--] hill" Having come self catering went shopping at the local spar etc. only to find that a loaf and bottle of milk was 5.80 euros...on a budget as most people are these days we found it impossible to budget because the prices of food are extortionate!!! We are by no means boring or old has beens... but we felt out of our depth amongst the stags and hens living it up 24/7. The best parts of this holiday was 1) coming home 2) the weather 3) a trip around the island to show that it is a beautiful island just dont stay in Palma Nova or Magaluf!!!!!! I am complaining to every`1 i know about this hotel...we hated every moment here and spent a fortune on 2 weeks from hell at the TRH HORRENOVA!!! To anyone who books this hotel...we wish you luck. Be prepared...if you are british and they dont like the look of you...they class you as [--]...we were actually told that!!!! We were not the only ones complaining...you could hear people upset at different things all the time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shannysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

belfast
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

I stayed here last week and found the hotel very clean it was a bit seventies in decor but otherwise ok. great views from the balcony. we were told on arrival the safes in the rooms were not to be used as they has a problem the previous season with theft, we were advised to use the safes at the reception area, there were plenty of safes.... we were given a key and used this all week with no problems. I found the reception staff very nice and there was a courtesy room provided on the day of departure to allow you to shower before going to the airport. the apts were noisy at night young people coming and going but thats not the fault of the apartments, you will get this anywhere in Magalluf. The apts cost us only £140 for the week for 2 people I therefore feel it was great value for money.
when walking to the beach go right out of the apts and down this more gently sloping hill its quicker and easier it takes you to Son Matias beach which is the nicest.
We found a beautiful chilled out bar/restaurant right on Magalluf beach with sofas and candles etc set in a garden of an old spanish house its called Ibizza and is highly recommended for couples or people with young kids wanting a relaxed evening away from the party goers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newryholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2009

I arrived back in the UK last night after a week in Spain. There were 3 of us going but as we had booked separately we had two rooms between us. Thank god we did! the hotel room that was booked for one person was appalling! there were two tiny sofas no bed the fridge had been left wide open with towels and sheets inside it. the entire room stunk of cigarettes. We had already planned to stay in the bigger of the two rooms so we didn’t think too much of the state of the second. After arriving on the Friday 2 days later on the Monday we left our room to go down to the beach. we are only young girls so had to keep to a tight budget. because of this we knew exactly how much money we each had. on returning to the hotel early Monday evening one of us noticed there was money missing from her bag. alarmed, both me and the other girl checked ours also to find we had money missing and to find that all of our stuff had been mixed up between the suitcases. our room was locked and we had the key on us. We immediately went to reception to report what had happened. I could not believe the reaction of the staff. they literally shrugged it off and said (and I quote) well, something worse happened yesterday. before turning round and carrying on with answering calls. we asked to speak to the manager and we were told that was impossible. they had no way of contacting them and didn’t no where to find them. they wouldn’t even give us a name. after about 20minutes the girl on reception (Nora) stated that the only thing she could do was leave a note for the morning on the unlikely event the manager came in. we told her we were not happy
to leave a note and asked for the police telephone number,. again, she wouldn’t help us. she told us the police wouldn’t be interested and the civil guards didn’t speak a word of English. at this point we were starting to get a little frustrated with the lack of interest they seemed to have in our situation. also at this stage the receptionist was obviously annoyed we wouldn’t leave until something was done and was waving her arms around shouting what do u want me to do?!| I cant leave my job and walk down to the police station for u (baring on mind she wouldn’t give us a number or directions to the police station) so, being obvious we weren’t getting anywhere we decided to for now ask that a cleaner did not come into our room for the remainder of our holiday, again we were told this may not be possible. Luckily, whilst we were at reception a young couple waiting to leave had over heard us and were telling us that they had g=had a similar thing happen to them and the staff wouldn’t help them. when we were walking back to out room another group of 3 girls stopped us and told us one of them had their money taken from her room ( at this point you may be wondering why we didn’t use our safe but ill come to that) this young lady went up to reception and reported her money as stolen too, as did the first couple and also a lady who had underwear and jewellery taken. a young British girl told us to walk down the road to the British doctor who may be able to help us. the doctor swas a young English lady who was very helpful. she printed us out a map to the police station and gave us the phone number.. after arriving at the police station about 6.30 Monday evening we discovered they didn’t speck very good English and we needed to hire a translator for 40euros. we had our police report and Thomas cook said we needed to had a letter from the hotel reporting stating we had reported something missing. after going into another rof the TRH hotels we managed to locate the manger. she sat down with us and told us she would do a letter no problem. we told her about the other guests at the etorrenova who had also reported missing items to which she was very surprised. she w
called the torennova reception to ask how many other cases like ours there had been to which she was told apart from us not a single person had reported anything. which we no is untrue as we were in reception when at least two of the other guests reported it. we told the manager we were not using our safe because people had told us they were regularly broken into. to which the manager replied well the safes in the rooms joint work anyway. we were not one told about this or offered an alternative, and the manager replied if u didn’t use ur safe its ur responsibility. the manager then turned round and told us it would not be possible to write a letter and we had no further explanation. The response of the hotel staff was unacceptable. there was obviously a problem with security/cleaning staff in this hotel and they did not wasn’t to know. when we left the hotel yesterday morning. they had a brand new notice stuck to the desk stating the hotel was not responsible for any thefts. over 5 people had things taken from their rooms and all reported it but nothing g was being done about it, we didn’t have a cleaner for the rest of the week, which we didn’t really notice as one couple has been there for two weeks and were still using the same sheets after continually asking for fresh ones, and when they eventually did gave new ones they were left on the side for them to change themselves. It was s an appalling hotel. you dint expect this nit even from a 3* hotel. I would not go back to this hotel if u paid me (besides that would only get stolen too) it was awful. there was a gentleman who sat out ion his balcony overlooking the pool who would sit there all day singing extremely inappropriate songs, especially while there were young children about and the hotel stated they could do nothing about this until after 10pm. do not stay here. this hotel ruined our holiday and Thomas cook have made official complaints against the hotels staff. also the hotel is advertised a lot of places as having a spa a gym and hairdryers .not true,. the rooms are beyond basic. going to the extent of having to rent a toaster from the reception desk.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2009

Apart from the view and location the hotel was a big disapointment. Ive seen cleaner hostels the beds where maid with the same sheets and towels where not changed after 2nd day I complained and was left a bundell to make ourself the floor was never washed because maybe the maids where to busy stealing stuff i had a jumper stolen and three girls next to us had all there money robbed BEWARE BANDITOS

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kay1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2009

The best thing about this hotel is the view - situated on a rockface overlooking the Med; it really does have spectacular sea views from a lot of the rooms. The rooms are nice enough; spacious with free aircon and TV, and the pool area is nice too. The decor is pretty 70s; but that's more a source of fun than a complaint. The sun beds are like medieval racks though, so I'd recommend lilos on them as a "mattress" first. The pool bar serves food and drink at OK prices; but they are completely happy for you to bring your own food and drink also which is a nice touch.

It does get noisy as you'd expect being so close to Slagaluf; so if you want peace and quiet, go early in the season AND bring earplugs... Palma Nova is a bit more pleasant and is quite a pretty, if somewhat soulless, resort. However, be prepared to eat chips every night; there aren't many varied restaurants, which is a shame really.

There is a supermarket right opposite the hotel which is handily placed, but shockingly expensive for most things. However, just 4 Euros in a cab from hotel reception will take you to a large air conditioned supermarket called Eroski in palma Nova (probably a 20 minute brisk walk) which is amazingly cheap with a large selection of just about everything - kind of like Asda or Morrisons.

Only real complaint wasn't the hotel itself, or the resorts, but some of the people staying there - you know, the type covered in Argos gold and tattoos who spit all over the place; drink themselves into a stupor from morning to night and shout obscenities in front of kids. Shame really. Someone should just introduce some sort of virus to take care of these people, then we could start again.

Wouldn't recommend this place for families really for this reason alone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSunDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.2 mi away
Alua Sun Torrenova
Alua Sun Torrenova
#17 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
0.2 mi away
TRH Magaluf
TRH Magaluf
#37 of 39 in Palmanova
3.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.2 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#7 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Universal Hotel Florida
Universal Hotel Florida
#10 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sotavento Apartments
Sotavento Apartments
#1 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel TRH Torrenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel TRH Torrenova

Property: Hotel TRH Torrenova
Address: C/ Torrenova 25 - 27, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel TRH Torrenova 3*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel TRH Torrenova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Torrenova Hotel
Trh Torrenova Palma Nova
Trh Palma Nova Apartments
Hotel TRH Torrenova Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing