We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel for the Price Paid!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of FERGUS Tobago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FERGUS Tobago
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel for the Price Paid!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here in June/July 2013 with a group of 4 girls. This was our first holiday away together and we couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The rooms were basic and cleaned every day and also new towels were provided daily. The lobby had free Wi-Fi which was an added bonus! The bar staff were excellent and we received quick service. The food was alright, there was a lot of choice, I think most the bad reviews are from picky eaters because there was enough different dishes to have a different dinner every evening. The soups were really nice! As for reviews saying it was loud... you're staying by Magaluf, what did you expect?! Also they had security guards that threw drunken, noisy people out at night when they got too rowdy! I'd fully recommend the hotel and would stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at FERGUS Tobago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Charlotte C,

We are very happy to hear that your stay with us was what you expected and more, and that your first holiday with your friends met all your needs.
We certainly enjoy positive feedback from out clients, and we certainly look forward to seeing you again!!!

Many many thanks from all out team!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    219
    210
    87
    93
See reviews for
145
261
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel 4th - 7th July 2013 for my friends hen weekend with all of the girls. There was 18 of us staying over here which had been booked for over a year for 7 rooms. When we got there the staff were atrocious, the hotel was extreemly overbooked which left us with 5 rooms instead of 7 which we all had to cram in for the first night.

The second day on the afternoon, one of the girls went back to the room to get some money for the shops to find her purse out of her suitcase and on the bed. This sparked alarms so then everybody checked their rooms to make sure everything was there. It turned out 3 rooms had been broken into and money stolen from a few different people, £150 english money and 160Euro was taken. You could tell that people had been raking around in suitcases as everything was messed up. We all complained straight away to the reception staff who asked the manager to come, he was not bothered one little bit, shrugging his shoulders stating this had nothing to do with them and telling us to ring the police ourselves!

The food was the same plain, boring, disgusting crap every morning, day and night. I stuck to salads, the food looked so greasy and boring I was petrified to eat it incase of getting a bad stomach.

The staff were so discriminating, fattest and sexist it is discracefull! I noticed the larger men kept getting sent away from the bar to put their tops on before getting served however the younger men seemed to be getting served fine without their tops on. The men were serving woman first and the woman were serving men first. This was an absoloute shambles.

Also on the last day, we were so glad we were not sleeping there another night as we found a cockroach run across the floor in a couple of the rooms!!

There were never enough sunbeds, you were only allowed 1 drink per person - most places allow 2.

Sleep, what is sleep? The noise in the hotel and outside of the hotel is an absoloute joke! The amount of times we went into the corridor to tell people to shut up early hours in the morning was ridiculous.

This hotel is 100% for drunken looney toons who are just going to get bladdered and nothing else, this hotel is not for familys, children should not be allowed in this hotel it is more of an 18-30's hell hole. If I was rating this hotel it would hit 1-2 stars at the most, I would never go back here and would not advise anybody else to stay here!

In my opinion, this hotel should be closed down!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at FERGUS Tobago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Kathryn F,

We thank you for writing this review, as it allows us to apologize to you in great extent for the overbooking matter during your first night. We hope this did not cause too much inconvenience as we did our best to resolve it on the following day.
As for the security matter, safety deposit boxes are available on arrival, and we would also like to add that we employ 24 hour security. We take into account your unfortunate experience, but in order to investigate further, a police report is in fact required by the Spanish law.
Thank you again. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 10 nights all inclusive in june/july 2013.
The room was clean and tidy, there were two single beds together to make a double which was slightly annoying. The bathroom was tired and dated and could have done with some updating. There was a small tv which had english channels which was handy.
The view from the balcony was great it is in a really good location a seconds walk from the beach. We preferred the beach to being by the pool as it did get loud at times with guys drinking etc. The Two drinks rule at the bar started two days into our holiday so we had been ordering two each at first, quite a few other english people were annoyed they had suddenly changed the rules. The spanish guests were always served first even if you were waiting before them and they often ordered two each time and were even proper glasses instead of plastic cups?!
we noticed all of the staff worked every day we were there so i felt really sorry for them.
We were on the 9th floor so the waiting for the lifts became very annoying and there are only two for the whole hotel which isnt enough. The food was varied the salad part was nice, sometimes the hot food looked a bit worse for wear especially the meat and I noticed some of the food was posdibly being recycled from lunch to evening which I didn't like.
Overall the hotel was fine to stay in as we went out everyday and just needed it for sleeping and meals but it wasnt family friendly and personally wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at FERGUS Tobago, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Nat T,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us at Fergus Tobago. We acknowledge that in hight season and when we are fully booked the bar is busy and there are delays, and plastic cups are used only during the opening ours of the swimming pool for security reasons.
In any case we are aware of this inconvenience and are looking into ironing out the issue. We appreciate your bringing it to our attention.

Many Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a 11 nights holiday it was ok up until the 8th day when we got back from being at the beach and my brother and his friend had realised there belongings had gone our room was locked so staff members had opened it to the public my brothers money and his phone had gone and my brothers friends money had gone aswell the staff did nothing about this and claimed it wasn't there problem we arnt going back I recommend Alcudia pins or Bellevue not this hotel ps keep your eyes on your belongings.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessiebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at FERGUS Tobago, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Jessiebb,

We would like to express our regrets that you had an unfortunate experience during your stay.
However, we would like to take this opportunity to assure you that our reception and security staff take their responsibilities very seriously, take every precaution to eliminate such occurances, and under no circumstances do we open our room doors to the public.

Once again, please accept our apologies.

Best Wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

to class this hotel at three stars is like classing jack the ripper as a medical care worker, i have stayed in palma nova magaluf many times but this place is the absolute Pitts. The first thing that hits you is the noise, they allow stag parties so watch out for the cave men running around the pool drunk and so making it impossible to relax and sunbathe. Next up is the food, my advice would be to hold your nose while you dash through the restaurant and look at some of the worst food i have ever come across, the bacon and eggs were floating in grease, they have coffee machines that no matter what button you press the same lukewarm foul mess comes out. The bed in the room was like a granite slab, that's even if you could sleep with the noise from the the party people outside. never again not even for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sherryb303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at FERGUS Tobago, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Sherryb303,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay with us, and we regret that our hotel did not meet your expectations. We take on board your comments in order to work towards a solution on the mentioned issues.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Were to begin on this holiday..

Check in - We booked a triple room with a sea view. We arrived to be told the hotel was fully booked and to go the hawaii hotel across the road after 5mins of arguing and saying no they checked us into the hotel to arrive at are room with a view of the trees and two singel beds for three of us. So we went back down to tell them about the view and beds we got a snotty reply of another single bed will be put in your room later (which is was) but told there was nothing they could do over the room as the hotel was fully booked.

Hotel surroundings - 2mins to the beach right in front of the hotel. Pool very tiny and you had to be up at 6am for a bed if you wanted one, for the 4days we was here we didnt sit around it once we went the beach all the time and just walked over from the beach for r drinks and food as it was that close. There are bars and supermarkets and shops all 2mins from the hotel and the magaluf strip is 5mins down the road.

Food/Cleaness/rooms - Very fast turn over for room check in and out so rooms not cleaned properly. You cant get klate check out for this and nowere to hold your luggage from what i could see. OH good luck finding a plug there is one plug in near enough every room NIGHTMARE!! Food is the same everyday apart form maybe one change its horrible, warm milk burnt food. HORRIBLE am fussy but even my friend who wasnt found it a nighmare out of are 3nights we was there we eat out for two!! alcoholic drinks are there own and r very basic and limited tbh. Its basically there own vodka and mixer or beer!! Rooms were small once 3 single beds were but in them. Bathroom clean hardly no towels for 3 of us though. Hotel in general very clean though. An of a night there is security at the front from about 8ish which i found realy good and if you wasnt from the hotel they didnt let you in. The rooms so have a safe in them at 3euros a day and 15euro deposit.

Very basic stay. Wouldnt stay here again. Only good thing was the location as it was everything we wanted and needed.

Room Tip: Dont expect anything you book because u will get the opposite or offered another hotel!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikkiEFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at FERGUS Tobago, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear NikkiEFC,

First of all we would like to express our regrets for the stressful situation which you encountered upon arrival. A hotel overbooking is indeed unpleasant, and we tried to resolve the issue as best we could.
We take note of your comments, and will put great efforts into preventing a recurring problem.
On a higher note, we are happy that you made positive comments of our location, and we would be delighted if you consider our establishment for a future visit!

Kind Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LANCASHIRE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

This hotel is rated 3*, but in my honnest opinion i rate this hotel around a 5* !

The hotel is in great location, not even a minutes walk from the beach, the Magaluf strip is only about 2 minutes away and you cannot hear any noise at all from the strip whilst at the hotel.
The staff are super friendly, especially the security guards... they are happy to help out when possible! The maids are friendly, and do a great job at cleaning the rooms on a daily basis. Fresh towels EVERYDAY, the bedding is changed every 3 days (I think) but the beds are made every morning.

The food is pretty much the same everyday. I went half board, so i only had Breakfast and the eveneing meal. The Breakfast was amazing, a hudge variety of choices: Toasts, beans, eggs, sausages, tomatos, cerials, chorizzo donughts, scones, cakes, fruit. For the evening meal there is ALWAYS: pasta, sauces, salads, meats, chips, vegetables, soups & breads, fruits, ice creams.

The balcony view from this hotel was amazing, beach view, very peaceful when wanting alone time!!! My balcony was facing the pool and could see the beach behind it, very beautiful at night time!

I only got back from this hotel 2 days ago, but me and my friend are already looking at going back! We have both agreed to stay at this hotel again as we had such a great experience.

The only downside is, you can only get WIFI in the hotel lobby and the computer room, but however it is free and the password is avaliable from reception free of charge, so can't really complain there!!

Room Tip: Make soft drinks cheaper for half board customers Wifi expandable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaniShaunaAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose A L, Manager at FERGUS Tobago, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Sharn1993,

On behalf of all the Staff and Management here at Hotel Fergus Tobago we would like to thank you for the fantastic rating you have chosen to give us, and on your high recommendation of our establishment. We are very pleased to hear your stay with us was so enjoyable and that you are already planning a return visit!

We look forward to seeing you again, and many many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
#13 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tropico Playa
Hotel Tropico Playa
#21 of 38 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.6 mi away
Ola Club Panama
Ola Club Panama
#24 of 38 in Palmanova
3.5 of 5 stars 932 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FERGUS Tobago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FERGUS Tobago

Property: FERGUS Tobago
Address: Martin Ros Garcia, 1, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel d'Or Tobago)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — FERGUS Tobago 3*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beach, sun and a wide range of proposals are waiting for you these holidays in Majorca. If you want to enjoy some days with your children at the shores of the Mediterranean and rest without worries, now you do not have any excuses: the FERGUS Tobago, our 3-star hotel located at the seafront of Palmanova beach welcomes you to the paradise. It is a comfortable family accommodation designed for travellers like you and with a personalized attention and a wide range of customised experiences for you and your family, friends and romantic trips with your couple. Make the most of the leisure and outdoor sports proposal Palmanova offers to you, taste the best of the typical gastronomy, sunbathe in the most stunning beaches and delight in the most exclusive night parties of Majorca. At the FERGUS Tobago you will have everything you need within your reach. Buffet restaurant with Majorcan specialties and show cooking, rooms with sea views, welcoming amenities, free wifi at the reception, swimming pool for children and adults, game area, accommodation for pets… And much more surprises, like the new miniclub with activities for children and a new pool bar with snacks and drinks at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your FERGUS Tobago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Or Tobago
d Or Tobago Hotel
Hotel Tobago Palma Nova
FERGUS Tobago Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing