We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel
Ranked #22 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Bury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Not 4 star”
Reviewed April 22, 2007

If you're looking for a nice hotel with some 4 star extras, look elsewhere! This was cheap and deservedly so.
There are no porters - you carry your own bags. No waiters, you queue at the bar for drinks or at the dispensers for wine with meals. There's not a crisp or a peanut on the bar unless you pay for a bag.
The Dining Room is cramped, too small for the number of guests, and the Spanish pensioners who were there at the same time as us were ill mannered and impatient. There aren't enough staff to clear your plates away between courses, so you eat amongst a pile of dirty plates. Food is quite adequate with a reasonable choice of main courses, but soups, salads, vegetables and deserts never vary - you can get really fed up with cold rice pudding.
There's no shop in the hotel, you can't even buy a newspaper. At reception, you pay cash in advance for everything - they wouldn't accept a credit card to pay for a safety deposit box. You can't make outside telephone calls from your room unless you buy a prepayment phone card (for cash at reception!)
Decor is not up to 4 star standards - it's dismal and dingy, though my one plus point for the Palma Nova Palace is that everything is very clean and kept very tidy. The pool area is tiny and showing its age with a small rectangular pool (which is very cold in April) and a cramped games and daytime entertainment area. Unless you're there early enopugh to get a good spot, you have to move your sunbed round all the time to follow the sun.
Evening entertainment is in a long narrow room which is very noisy when full of chattering guests. The entertainment is always preceeded by an interminable game of bingo played in Spanish and English. We only enjoyed one night's entertainment out of our week and that was principally beacuse we laughed so much at the chaos of them trying to conduct a quiz in Spanish and English simultaneously. If you want to avoid the evening entertainment, your option is the smoking lounge or outside! There's no quite lounge to sit and read or play cards over a quiet drink.
Overall you get what you pay for, but you're not getting 4 star despite what it says on the front door.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — No service of any kind - Overrated at 4 star
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Young-fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    405
    267
    112
    70
See reviews for
148
582
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2007

save your money. If you do go please leave your mobile at home it WILL go missing its not the guests its the "STAFF" be warned

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank angry_man2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Sunderland
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2007

After reading other reviews i was a little worried but i needed of been, as it was great for what we paid, other people`s concerns were a little over the top. We could`nt fault it ideal for a mid week break.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2007

My wife paid for me and my mate for this short break she is not keen on Spain and I always wanted to go back.
After reading some of the reviews I was a bit apprehensive.
But I was surprised the staff were very friendly and the food was great. We were on all inclusive which you could not fault.
There was a mixture off old young and Spanish people who all seemed to be enjoying them selves, the entertainment was OK and the young ones were up for it which made it even better.
I was talking to some off the British lads who worked in Magaluf and they really rated this hotel.

  • Liked — Food
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lancashirelad03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2007

Having been to this Hotel before, but in the late 1990's, and then reading some of the reports of the trip advisor members, who stayed there during the late part of the year 2006, I really began to worry big time, we were being accompanied by friends, and I had told them our previous stay had been so good, I felt it only right to warn them before we left about the bad reviews, I need not have worried, from the reception staff, bar staff, dining room, and chambermaids, were pleasant and curtious throughout our stay, the food, was of a good standard, something for everyone, and plenty of it, The Spanish Senior Citizens, were in abundance, as their very kind government, give them a free holiday every year, out of season, to keep the Hotels open, and the staff employed, they joined in everything, the language was not a barrier, because having fun, is universal. and everyone joined in, there were two first class shows, in the week we were there, and the entertainment staff, kept things going, with quiz's and bingo, so anyone who has booked, or intends booking everyone's expectations are different, personally I am very fussy, about cleanliness, food quaility, and value for money, I certainly was not dissappointed, and would return to this Hotel, with no reservations.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2007

What can I say?.........We read all the reviews, good and bad, before setting off and did wonder a little at what to expect!

However, on arrival we were greeted by a lady with a good command of English who checked us in with the minimum of fuss and told us how to get to our room. Third floor and well presented clean and spacious room, although after reading the reviews on "the bells" I did wonder at the bell tower being just at balcony height..........I cannot deny that YES! every morning at 9.00am prompt they went off........and if they didn't waken you at 9.00am??? They tried again just 5 or 6 minutes later! lol.......I have no doubt if we had asked to be moved then it wouldn't have been a problem but we looked upon it as our alarm call for breakfast ;0)

The dining room is well laid out and for all of those who complained about the food? All I can say is that what should have been hot was and anything that should have been cold was.........I'm a veggie and Hubby doesn't like anything cooked in a sauce and we both managed to find something we enjoyed for most of the week, although we will admit to eating out once just for a change.....Each evening there is a carved roast and there is always a pasta dish, if not two and there are fish dishes and always a choice of soups with varying breads and rolls.....Anyone who said they couldn't eat all week had to be very "picky" when it comes to eating!

As for entertainment?? Well, I supose some people may have looked for more............In February we didn't expect much to be honest and we were more than happy with what was provided......The two girl team that ran the entertainmant, Suzanna from Croatia and her Spanish friend not only entertained but made each guest feel like a personal friend, which can't be easy when you do the same thing day after day and week after week?......HATS OFF TO YOU GALS! :0) We were little social joiners, playing skittles, connect 4 and even Bingo in the evenings!......."Shakey, Shakey!!!" lol..........And anyone who says that the Spanish people keep themselves to themselves?? Well, they haven't played along and joined in..........One lady made fun of hubby telling Suzanna that he looked like a pirate and we all had a great laugh xx

At this time of year the hotel had a mixed range of clients from people like us who were just looking for a break after Christmas to retired couples who had spent the last 5 weeks there, people who were just having a few nights break to top up on duty free and a few Spanish people who just came over for a few nights away..........all in all a good mix and everyone seemed happy to chat away at anytime.

We would visit again but to be honest?? Next time.........Maybe a little further away from the bells would be nice LOL

  • Liked — Clean and friendly
  • Disliked — Has to be the bells, but not a problem in another room.........
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Scotscouple-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2007

Having stayed at this hotel three years ago, was surprised to see how it has changed. The food and staff are still excellent but it is now been spoilt by short stayers, hen and stag partys and worse the cigarette runners. They come just to get drunk and cause a riot, whilst we were there the Guardia came to the hotel ten times. Having stayed at the hotel for five weeks we would not return again.

  • Liked — Food and Staff
  • Disliked — Cigarette smugglers hen and stag partys
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario4Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Globales Palmanova
Globales Palmanova
#14 of 39 in Palmanova
1,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.3 mi away
Hotel Globales Mimosa
Hotel Globales Mimosa
#30 of 39 in Palmanova
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Hotel Agua Beach
Hotel Agua Beach
#20 of 39 in Palmanova
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel

Property: Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel
Address: Calle Miquel Dels Sants Oliver 15, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#18 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel is a stone's throw away from one of the very best and famous beaches of Majorca. The hotel located in the municipality of Calvia, just 14km from the capital city, Palma de Mallorca. The area is known for its perfect combination of nature, relaxation, leisure activities, gastronomy, shopping and beaches of the beautiful Mediterranean Sea. It has everything you need for the perfect holiday experience in the sun for all the family. The hotel offers 193 comfortable rooms, all well equipped and come with a balcony as standard from which you can admire the stunning natural scenery. The hotel provides excellent cuisine for you to sample, and attractive bars and lounge areas where you can relax and soak up the atmosphere. The Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel is the best choice to experience an unforgettable holiday for all the family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmanova Palace Hotel
Palmanova Palace Palma Nova
Hotel Palma Nova Palace
Palma Nova Palace Majorca
Palma Nova Palace Hotel
Globales Palmanova Palace Hotel Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing