We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked this hotel before checking its reviews on trip advisor and the reviews were so varied we had no idea what to expect.

It isn't by any stretch of the imagination a 4* hotel, it might have been some years ago but the public areas are dated and look like something out of the late 80's or early 90's, and there are many 3* hotels in the vicinity with more facilities. That said you shouldn't let this put you off staying here, it has a fantastic location and the hotel seems to be in the process of being upgraded

The staff were all excellent, friendly and really helpful, from the reception to restaurant there was a genuine attempt to give good customer service, if you asked for something it happened quickly. The rooms and bathroom were spacious with a large wardrobe with ample shelves and hanging space and were very clean. All the rooms have air conditioning and a sea view, we were given the option of what floor we wanted and chose a lower one, on reflection higher ones are better, the view over the bay is fantastic.

The food in the restaurant was good and there was plenty of choice each night, with at least 2 fish and 2 meat dishes, it also looked fresh and well cooked. Seating in the restaurant wasn't crushed in there was ample rooms between tables and tables near the windows also had great views over the bay and beach.

We were half board and didn't use the bar / lounge, but the hotel did offer an all inclusive option and provided some evening entertainment for guests who stayed in the hotel. The pool area is small and was not well used while we were there, partly due to it spending much of the day in shade due to 2 large trees which overhang the area. A thought for the hotel management how about cutting them back.

We thought this hotel gave us very good value for money and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: Try to be on floor 3 or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    168
    100
    23
    10
See reviews for
70
227
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hamilton scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel needs refurbished, paint and plaster would make all the difference to both the inside and outside. But prices would rise accordinly, It is not of four star quality at the moment.all the staff and manager Pierre, Rafial,Jorro, do a great job. The receptionists were extremely helpful, and the dining area is of a high standard, we had a fabulous view of the bay. As we were on the eighth floor.total peace n quiet throughout out nine nights.

Room Tip: Above the second floor for better views of the beautiful bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fairbairnjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just returned, had a great time, this hotel has fantastic views of the bay, staff are helpful and friendly. Food was good with a great choice. Rooms are a good size and very clean. The hotel reception is a bit dated but don't let this put you off. It is very good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to book a room above the first floor if possible to get the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

hotel is very tired and old fashioned and definitely not of a 4 star standard. when we booked we requested high floors with a good view and were given the very bottom floor overlooking the pool probably the worst room in the hotel, cockroaches in bathroom,towels not changed once over our 3 night stay, no facilities in room no tea or coffee making facilities, tv didn't work, pool area not clean and mostly in shade so had to get up early to get a good spot. wifi 5 euros a day and also you have to pay for room safe. didnt pay for breakfast so can't comment on that. overall a very poor standard and defenately not 4 star look elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ms8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Literally just got back from a 3 night stay here we literally booked on the day we landed in palma due to needing to be out in magaluf for personal reasons. Not a. Bad price for B and B but the breakfast wasn't really up to much and there was hardly any staff in restaurant. Reception staff were very helpful particularly the blonde lady who checked us in and got us our taxi to the airport this morning.
The hotel is slap bang in the middle of magaluf at the end of the strip but never heard any noise at night. Very outdated basic rooms , no kettle and the fridge didn't work , towels need putting in the bin.

Would not return but can't say I hated it just not our usual standard that we would stay in .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had four days without our teenage children, wanted to visit the sights in Palma, but wanted a pool available at the end of a long, hot day. That led us to Palma Nova, for which we were fully prepared to make allowances. Good points first. The staff are kind and helpful. The view from the sixth floor is great and the building is configured so all rooms face the sea. BUT, this hotel is all but in Magaluf and if you turn the wrong way from the door,prepare to feel a bit uncomfortable if you're over a certain age and lack tattoos. Next, fire regs when this was built didn't require an alternative exit, apparently. Room 602 is 25 metres along a single corridor from the main stairs, the only exit and they seem to turn a blind eye to Spanish families cooking on their balcony. I'm surprised they haven't been required to put an escape at either end of the building. One more serious infrastructure point, our drains smelt dodgy all the time and horrific at a couple of periods of peak demand on the foul waste system. Really this forty odd year old building needs knocking down and rebuilding. Granted the view and the staff, it might still be ok to stay here, but unfortunately the equipment standards are terrible as well. I literally cannot recall the last time I stayed in a hotel of any standard in Europe that didn't have a kettle and cups in the room. The towels were frayed at the edges and the intranet, which isn't cheap, drives only one device per payment and just drops out requiring you to log in again at ridiculously frequent intervals. If you can get a room for, say £75 a night and don't mind a sprint down the corridor if there's a fire, go for it, but at the £140/night rate we got through Easyjet, this was poor value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is spotlessly clean, however, it looks like hasnt been decorated since at least 1972!

The reception staff were nice and friendly on arrival and advised us that since we were on the 1st floor if we wanted to move to a higher up room (for the view) the following day that could be easily arranged. We were given a room at the end of the corridor and since it was at the end it was slightly larger than the rest so we decided to stay put. When we first entered the room there was quite an overwhelming smell of bleach - it was very clean! The room also had a small fridge so you could keep some drinks cool in your room. The rooms also had air conditioning, a hairdryer and a safety deposit box - though the box cost about 3 euros per day.

We went all inclusive - this was a mistake! The cocktails were out of a machine and tasted like medicine! The pool area was not very nice with no parasols so we went to the beach everyday instead so we were buying soft drinks elsewhere. The food was very repetitive although edible but again we ended up eating out. If I was to return I would just go bed and breakfast as this is all I would use.

The hotel is in a great location, very close to the beach, a short walk from both palmanova and magalluf with a bus stop nearby for those who can't/won't walk that far.

(also noticed that it was very wheelchair friendly)

Room Tip: A high floor wll have a great view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel6286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
0.4 mi away
Sol Palmanova
Sol Palmanova
#16 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
FERGUS Tobago
FERGUS Tobago
#33 of 38 in Palmanova
3.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marina Torrenova
Hotel Marina Torrenova
#13 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#8 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa

Property: Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Address: Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Comodoro)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comodoro Hotel Palma Nova
Comodoro Palma Nova
Hotel Comodoro
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing