We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not a four star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a four star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Literally just got back from a 3 night stay here we literally booked on the day we landed in palma due to needing to be out in magaluf for personal reasons. Not a. Bad price for B and B but the breakfast wasn't really up to much and there was hardly any staff in restaurant. Reception staff were very helpful particularly the blonde lady who checked us in and got us our taxi to the airport this morning.
The hotel is slap bang in the middle of magaluf at the end of the strip but never heard any noise at night. Very outdated basic rooms , no kettle and the fridge didn't work , towels need putting in the bin.

Would not return but can't say I hated it just not our usual standard that we would stay in .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubby1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    176
    104
    25
    10
See reviews for
78
235
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We had four days without our teenage children, wanted to visit the sights in Palma, but wanted a pool available at the end of a long, hot day. That led us to Palma Nova, for which we were fully prepared to make allowances. Good points first. The staff are kind and helpful. The view from the sixth floor is great and the building is configured so all rooms face the sea. BUT, this hotel is all but in Magaluf and if you turn the wrong way from the door,prepare to feel a bit uncomfortable if you're over a certain age and lack tattoos. Next, fire regs when this was built didn't require an alternative exit, apparently. Room 602 is 25 metres along a single corridor from the main stairs, the only exit and they seem to turn a blind eye to Spanish families cooking on their balcony. I'm surprised they haven't been required to put an escape at either end of the building. One more serious infrastructure point, our drains smelt dodgy all the time and horrific at a couple of periods of peak demand on the foul waste system. Really this forty odd year old building needs knocking down and rebuilding. Granted the view and the staff, it might still be ok to stay here, but unfortunately the equipment standards are terrible as well. I literally cannot recall the last time I stayed in a hotel of any standard in Europe that didn't have a kettle and cups in the room. The towels were frayed at the edges and the intranet, which isn't cheap, drives only one device per payment and just drops out requiring you to log in again at ridiculously frequent intervals. If you can get a room for, say £75 a night and don't mind a sprint down the corridor if there's a fire, go for it, but at the £140/night rate we got through Easyjet, this was poor value.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank TonyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is spotlessly clean, however, it looks like hasnt been decorated since at least 1972!

The reception staff were nice and friendly on arrival and advised us that since we were on the 1st floor if we wanted to move to a higher up room (for the view) the following day that could be easily arranged. We were given a room at the end of the corridor and since it was at the end it was slightly larger than the rest so we decided to stay put. When we first entered the room there was quite an overwhelming smell of bleach - it was very clean! The room also had a small fridge so you could keep some drinks cool in your room. The rooms also had air conditioning, a hairdryer and a safety deposit box - though the box cost about 3 euros per day.

We went all inclusive - this was a mistake! The cocktails were out of a machine and tasted like medicine! The pool area was not very nice with no parasols so we went to the beach everyday instead so we were buying soft drinks elsewhere. The food was very repetitive although edible but again we ended up eating out. If I was to return I would just go bed and breakfast as this is all I would use.

The hotel is in a great location, very close to the beach, a short walk from both palmanova and magalluf with a bus stop nearby for those who can't/won't walk that far.

(also noticed that it was very wheelchair friendly)

Room Tip: A high floor wll have a great view over the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachel6286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just arrived home from a 5 night stay at Hotel Comodoro. A taxi from the airport is 41 euros one way approx., we arrived at 10.30 am and our room was not ready until 1.15pm request a room on the 7th floor where the views are spectacular. Rooms are very dated and in need of a makeover bathroom has a hairdryer but two very dim lights. The Hotel pool as mentioned before on the reviews is very dark and shady not welcoming at all sun beds are well worn and sag in the middle although you are very close to the beach which you enter through a gate by the pool we enjoy sitting by the pool but found it too dirty and not nice to spend the day at. The sunbeds on the beach are 13.50 euros with the parasol for the day. A must visit is the Welsh Mosquito situated in the bay to the right of the hotel it is run by a welsh couple who are very welcoming and food is very good and cheap. Speaking of food the food at the hotel was not to my taste cold eggs and fish cold in the middle very basic and predictable we had half board but ate out a couple of times. There are no terraced areas to sit outside only in the restaurant bar area which is very small and usually accommodated by smokers. The bar was empty with poor cabaret singers in twice again not very welcoming to sit and relax after dinner. Reception staff were very polite and spoke good English. We took a taxi into Palma 24 euros each way well worth a visit Palma has lots of winding streets bars and restaurants. There are better hotels located in the bay Santa Lucia looked good and the bar was packed with entertainment. I would not recommend this hotel and definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are less noisy and have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Arrived bk today! Couple in our 40's.
We booked the Comodoro for a surprise 6 day bed & breakfast visit to see our son who's working/living on Magaluf Strip for the season.
After reading some of the reviews I emailed the hotel direct requesting a room on the 5th floor or higher, My email was answered within 24hrs saying they would do their best for us, i then changed that to the 7th floor, same reply. We arrived at 8.30am and was told our room wouldn't be ready until 12pm, not a problem as they have a luggage room. The reception was spotless and the young man who dealt with us very pleasant. We went in for breakfast and wasn't dissapointed, theres something for everyone. When we got our room key I was happy to hear that we'd been given the 7th floor, room 711. The room could do with updating but to be truthful we wasn't planning on spending to much time in there and as long as it was clean and tidy we'd be happy, it was. The twin beds are comfortable & large, the shower pressure good.The pool did look shaded but your right on the beach u don't need the pool.
Can't say anything about the entertainment as we went out every night, but if your not happy with it there's enough bars and restaurants nearby to please everyone!.
The location for us was perfect!, only a 5min walk to the strip and Magaluf beach but far enough away to not hear all the noise from the bars & clubs, u will hear the odd drunken straggler go by if ur balcony doors are open late but once closed we heard nothing that would keep us awake. latest we got bk to our room was 2am. Overall we'd definitely go bk to the Comodoro for a short B&B break.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better!.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed for a week all inclusive in the Comodoro. We are both in our early 30's and didn't want somewhere that was too quiet and full of families, nor did we want an 18/30's partying holiday. What we found at the Comodoro was a perfect compromise. It's location directly inbetween the quieter Palmanova and the lively Magalluf meant that you could have the best of both worlds!
The rooms were clean and the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious; plentiful, fresh and varied. Even the snacks served mid morning and mid afternoon were much more extensive than the usual crisps and sandwiches offered on many all inclusives. The Entertainment which was every other night was a little cheesy, but with so many nearby bars to choose from we weren't bothered at all. The pool is partly shaded, but when your hotel overlooks the beach, who cares?? We would definitely return here. It was a fantastic break!! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stringbean06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glos,uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We came home from a week stay here today.
Firstly, the good points:
1. The rooms are ok
2. The location is lovely
3. Some of the staff are very friendly
4. It's small enough that you get to know some of the other guests

The not so good points:
1. The pool is grimy
2. There are not enough staff, the ones who are there work hard, but there is just too much for them to do
3. The food is not good. Out of 6 nights, we ate out for three of them
4. There is hardly any entertainment; out of 6 nights, there was entertainment in for 3. This is a cabaret style, singer or such like. The rest of the time, there is absolutely nothing going on at all
5. The all inclusive is not worth the money; the bar closes at 11, the snack bar is just the good from the previous meal left out, you get one drink only at meal times

The location to the beach and te view absolutely make this hotel. We had a lovely holiday, and we would go to the resort again, but we would choose a hotel with more going on next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familywills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.5 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sol Palmanova
Sol Palmanova
#18 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#11 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,631 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa

Property: Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Address: Calle Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Comodoro)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#7 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comodoro Hotel Palma Nova
Comodoro Palma Nova
Hotel Comodoro
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing