We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel, but very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a 4 star hotel, but very good”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We get a room at 7th floor, the view is fabulous and one of the best on that hotel. Hotel is right at the beach, that was very good. Food is average, soups are not very good exception two - onion and fish soups. Breakfast are all the same - english breakfasts - eggs, omelets, baked beans, beacon etc.. and cereals, jams etc. and fruits. Fruits was very good quality and variety. Diners and launch were ok, always some fishes, meats, vegetable, sweets, ice cream. Pasta was not very good, other was OK. Botle of wine, water, beer, cola, good selection. Snack was normal, sandwiches was the bests. The dinner room was almost empty, not many people was there, so place was always, but sometimes was problem that waiter works in a bar and also in dinning room, so you have to wait a bit.
Bar was ok, good selection of drinks, and a few people was there. The best barmans was Sergio and Pierre - thanks. Mixed drinks was always different, it depends on barman, so it was strange. Best cocktails makes Pierre.
Pool was average, water is clean and lots of deckchairs, always some free.
Beach was big, but water not the best and cleanest.
Clientele of this hotel was mainly mid-aged and old people, all was very polite.
Hotel has own parking, so if you have a car, you can park here. Position of the hotel is at the border of Magaluf and Palma Nova, so you have it near to everywhere, but that was a bit bad, because party people everyday stoped right in front of hotel and make a big noise, so the sleep quality was not very good if you have open the balcony and we have room on 7th floor!
Room was normal but very stinky smell from bathroom. They tried to do something with it, but after a while smells was back. Cleaning was good, but we have never cleaned balcony and we was there for 11 days. Also mirros and windows wasnt cleaned. And cleanness of the hotel was the worst. Dinning room was full of dust on shelfs. But floors was clean. Problems was as I write shelfs and places with worst acces, but it was seen.
For conclusion it is wery good hotel, but definitely not 4 stars.

Room Tip: 7th floor is with fabulous view on whole bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    210
    115
    30
    12
See reviews for
91
266
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is a mixed review and will no doubt annoy the regulars but we will not be returning. We booked this hotel for the location to the beach and the all inclusive aspect and due to the late booking it was not our first choice. The location was ideal but the meals were very very poor and by far the worst we have experienced in any class of hotel.
There is a mixed European clientele and the age group was mainly 40+. There were some children but only a handful and one group of men who were there for the closeness of Magalluf but were well behaved.
Back to food, the menu after day 2 was predictable. Breakfast was typically Spanish ingredients which I expect but the bread was rock solid. The coffee machine was in need of some ingredients to make it taste like coffee, which was better quality from the machine behind the main bar. The mid morning snacks were breakfast for those that had missed it and comprised of the things that those who had made it for breakfast had left behind. Lunch was basic and would just about get two of the four stars the hotel possesses. Afternoon snacks were a repeat performance of the morning snacks as the leftovers from lunch remained. Evening meal again was very poor, many of the special types of meat and fish were cooked to the dryness of the breakfast bread and any sauce/gravy that was present was flavourless.
There is a dress code for evening meal but people who did not adhere were not challenged. All other meals were come as you please so they did.
The staff was fantastic and would do any hotel proud; they were helpful throughout from reception to the cleaners.
The entertainment was ghastly when it appeared (3 out of 7 nights) not helped by the lack of any audience. The hotel was full, 90+ rooms and I never saw more than 20 in the bar.
The Bar was well stocked and well run; the choice of All Inclusive drinks is good. Drinks were also dispensed into Pepsi cups for use at the pool and for taking back to the rooms which I thought was good.
The pool area I did not use as I prefer the beach. It comprises of a medium size pool surrounded by loungers of which there always seemed to be some or most free. There was a shower but I did not notice an external toilet which would mean having to walk through the reception to use one.
The rooms were a good size with a firm bed and were equipped with fridge, air-con and TV. The bathroom had a decent shower and the necessary porcelain devices and a hairdryer. We did mention that the drains stank in the bathroom and were told that it was the wind, we were offered another room immediately but we have come across this before and just needed something pouring down them. The problem had gone by our afternoon return. All rooms appeared to have good sea view.

The hotel overall was aged and in need of some major work and refurbishment, the hotel is open 10 months of the year and the staff do not seem confident that any work will be done soon. All areas seem accessible for wheelchair users but some ramps appear steep and I did not notice the access in the ground floor toilet.There are two lifts which were never out of order and never a long wait but are fairly tight for anything larger than the standard wheelchair.

The hotel has very good potential but I fear Seramar has not got the urge to plough any money into it. I did also notice that although we booked the holiday not as a package, the big tour operators are leaving this one well alone.

Room Tip: Any high floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the 3rd consecutive year my girlfriends & I have stayed at the Comodoro all inclusive for a 3/4 day relaxing break.
Fabulous location ,practically on the beach, good selection of food, exceptionally clean.
The staff are always polite & accommodating this year more so than ever....
Unfortunately the day before we were due to fly home one of my friends received news that her father had passed away un- expectantly.
The hotel staff were brilliant, not only did they offer to try & arrange flights home that evening but every one was very caring & compassionate which went a long way to help ease the upset that we all felt for our friend.
I have emailed the hotel manager thanking her & her staff and said that we will be back again next year but also wanted to write this review as I think people are often quick enough to complain but not to praise.

Room Tip: Three of my friends stayed in room 101 as it is a family room, unfortunately as it is right on the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank minnieWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lon, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My mother and I stayed at this charming hotel for 14 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our experience!
The staff were welcoming at all times of day and we felt like honorary guest at all times.
The food was exciting and diverse, each night the hotel on an amazing spread: ranging from your average to exotic and native dishes.
The bar staff ( Sergio and Pierre) were just fabulous, making all guests feel special and welcome; constant smiles on their faces and could make any drink, even if like me you want a cocktail for every colour of the rainbow :)

We absolutely loved it and will definitely be returning, the calibre of people are also a plus, very friendly and smiling!

Perfect location, off the beach front and if like us you like jogging you can pick up the island circuit quite easily.

Loved it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Have stayed in several hotels in Palma Nova but this one was by far the best. The location is perfect, right next to the beach, all rooms have sea view. All the staff went out of their way to be helpful and friendly. The food was really good, nice variety at every meal time and able to eat on terrace overlooking beach. When we go back to Palma Nova will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gs1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I would just like to say before I begin that I have no conection with this hotel.The comments made by Debra,are "Neboulous and Wolly" To set the record straight,this hotel does not do groups Male or Female.Now to begin. My wife and I stayed at this hotel because it has one of the best views across the beach of Son Matius.We asked for a high floor by E/M prior,and were allocated one on the roof.10/10.Room 814.Wow Sunloungers 2 .Table and 2 Chairs. Big Thanks to Tarsila on reception for being so kind and helpful.We went A/I,and Food was superb.Bottle of wine at meal times (not plonk) Bar staff and Restaurant staff where so friendly and most helpful.Entertainment is a bit low key.However lots of bars in the area.We do not go back to same hotel as some folks do every year.However on this occasion we would.as for the mahogony wardrobes,well thats all you gotta moan about all I can say is dont be put off by unsavory comments.Thanks to all staff and not forgetting the kitchen and chiefs for a nice week.In conclusion this hotel caters for mostly adults and folks from sweden who are very polite and similar to us Brits.Billy Wizz/Tony Vauxhall.Liverpool5.

Room Tip: Ask for Roof or higher floors.View across bay of palma nova is to "die for"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TonyVauxhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Never disappoints! When you go on holiday you want a good location, good food, helpful staff and the Comodoro Playa ticks all those boxes. The staff listen to your needs and go out of their way to fulfill your request and that extends across the board from reception staff to restaurant/bar staff and housekeeping too!!
The food is of a high standard and plentiful, offering lots of fresh fruit and veg too with a nice variety and selection of European and English dishes.
What's not to like? Keep up the good work.
Thanks again!

Room Tip: Corner suite are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ayrlassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,888 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,355 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa

Property: Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Address: Calle Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Comodoro)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comodoro Hotel Palma Nova
Comodoro Palma Nova
Hotel Comodoro
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing