We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pablo of Lancashire”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Ranked #18 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pablo of Lancashire”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Comodoro for 12 nights in September and had a wonderful holiday. Big thank you to Sergio and Ivo, the bar boys and Marcella on Reception for helping to make our stay really good. We had a great time.
As everyone else has said, the views are to die for, both day and night, with lots of boats coming and going and the beach right on the doorstep. Great location to explore all parts of Palma Nova and Magaluf.
The owners and staff are obviously working hard to change the image of this Hotel and doing it very well. The food definitly improved during our time there and was really good, you could tell a big effort was being made to bring the standard up. The rooms are bigger than expected with plenty of storage and coat hangers. Air-con worked day and night, no problems. Yes, the furniture is a bit dated but it was all very clean...first thing my husband does is check drawers for dust! Well done to our cleaning lady, a really lovely lady who always had a big smile on her face.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Comodoro and are already making plans to return.

Sergio get those shots ready!!

Room Tip: Treat the staff with respect and they will respect you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo-of-Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    210
    115
    30
    12
See reviews for
91
266
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from 3rd visit to comodoro and once again no complaints , but have to say the food has really improved, we had smoked salmon,entrecote steak, blue cheese, lovely fish ,chicken , beef, pork, plus ample choice of salads ,veggies,pasta,breads,patries desserts and fresh fruit , I canot see how anyone could complain or be dssapointed.
wonderful view of the bay and great customer service. Love it ,and hope to go back next year.
Barman makes great sangria and mojitos mmmmmmm

Room Tip: If leaving later in the day for return flight home, just ask for use of a curtesy room for a shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Futterby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great location-near to Magaluf - but having said that reasonably quiet. Good views over the bay and straight out of the hotel onto the beach.
Very friendly and obliging staff.excellent service especially in the dining room. the only downside for me is that the hotel is dated
Food is typical of hotels in that area, but was an improvement on other hotels I have stayed at in that area.
Pool area is small, the downside is that it gets very little sun.
Entertainment on alternative nights - reasonable but not well supported.
Overall I would rate the hotel as good- would I go again YES

Room Tip: Higher the floor the better the view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

As other reviews on the panel , I also had an interesting stay at the Comodoro Hotel
After travelling around Spain , I was hoping for a week of R n R in Palma Nova.
I knew there had been a bad storm in Majorca a couple of days before arriving so I also got the now famous " Water Story "...... except I was moved to the Comodoro's Sister Hotel in the German resort of Paguera for 2 nights a few miles away.. I had doubts about the "Water Story" as the front desk attendant is a " Very Bad Body Language " liar !!!! but as I was tired I couldn't be bothered to argue and thought it's all part of the adventure !!
Upon arrival back at the Comodoro after 2 nights I was given All Inclusive as compensation and a carefully prepared document to sign as the front desk said they didn't want a Law Suit !!
On to the rooms, the best thing about the Hotel is the view across the bay and beach, stunning and a place you could sit out for ever.......Room outdated and needed a general makeover like the Hotel, done out in a 1980's decor and charmless.... Pool clean but small area in the shade
Food , glad I didn't pay for All Inclusive , Breakfast was the best point, lunch ok but bland and Dinner the same, just be carefull if you have delicate teeth as the meat was like dried Pasta ! They are very strict on dress code, a shame the food doesn't match the standards they insist on in customers dress code.
Overall wouldn't stay here again as they seem to have a booking fiasco system, but if you like abit of adventure it may be the place for you !! Special mention to the cleaning staff, very friendly and did a great job

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank review5Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in August with my sister. We are both in our 30s. Il start off by saying that i had read many reviews before booking - some were bad, some good. Mine is just really honest. Its a nice hotel, far away enough from the crowds of Magaluf, but still plenty bars and restaurants nearby. And you couldnt get any nearer the beach.

I read in many reviews that people had been put in alternative accommodation due to being overbooked. This too happened to us! And we got talking to 2 other couples it happened to as well! This seems to happen a lot there - i dont know whats so difficult about booking the right amount of guests to the amount of rooms you have!
You will be put into the hotel Hawaii across the road, it must be a sister hotel or something.
Of course this was really inconvenient, we were only there 3 days and couldnt unpack. Then they had no rooms ready there either, so had to wait about an hour before we could change and go out.
They will offer you 'compensation' if this happens to you. We got free wifi and a bottle of champagne. Another couple we spoke to got upgraded to all inclusive. We already were AI or we would have bitten their hand off for that!

When we did get our room the next day, it was nice. The view was to die for, they put us on the 6th floor which is the 2nd highest floor. Views right across the bay. Beautiful. The furniture is not modern, quite old fashioned but i liked this. Beds were really comfy.

Food/Drink -
The restaurant is nice, i had little complaints about the food however if youre a vegetarian you will probably go hungry. My sister couldnt find anything that didnt have meat through it. Even the pastas always had ham or something in it. Poor choice. If you eat meat you will be fine!!
Breakfast is good.
If you sit outside on the terrace its gorgeous, just sitting with views across the bay.
The snacks in between lunch/dinner for AI guests are also just sitting in the restaurant, not at the pool like i was expecting. This was chips, pizzas etc.
The restaurant manager (wish i asked his name) is a very nice man, but be warned he has very high standards in his restaurant so no shorts, dont wear a hat (its not respectful) dont have your handbag sitting on the floor (its not elegant). He is very nice though! All the staff we spoke to were very nice.
Drinks included in the AI are as youd expect. Local stuff. The rose wine was lovely. If you ask for wine with dinner they just give you the bottle! The cocktails were good, think there was 4 or 5 options.

The pool is not great. Its just a big square, with sunbeds along the 4 sides. As you can imagine people put their towels down and vanish all day so you cant get a bed! Also the sun moves round and only 1 or 2 sides are actually in the sun at any one time. So you would have to keep moving beds to get the sun. About half the pool area is always in the shade.
The beach is right outside though.

The entertainment was a bit poor, karaoke with only a few people around. But the bars are not far so we didnt hang around for that.

Location is good, so i would maybe stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carolbscotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We arrived in the evening after emailing the hotel only 48 hours before to advise of a late arrival (an attempt to avoid our room being given to someone else) to be told of the so called 'water' problem, resulting in having to stay elsewhere for the first two nights of our stay. This is course is a complete lie - which the hotel staff admitted the next day, however the gentleman on reception that evening would not admit this - shrugging and insisting the water was indeed the problem. I felt he was most unhelpful and didn't really give a damn. So this really spoiled the outset of our stay. Even more infuriating was having to return to the hotel for breakfast and seeing another couple check in the following morning??!! When I approached reception the lady receptionist and Tarsila, who I believe was reception manager, at least had the good grace to confess it was an overbooking problem. In fairness, they were both as helpful as they could be under the circumstances but really, a long known problem like this should really not have to keep reoccuring.
But aside from that, and once we finally got checking in, we enjoyed our stay. As others have said, the hotel is tired in places but essentially clean and tidy. The rooms were a reasonable size, with plenty of hanging space and drawers. Beds were comfy enough. Shower and bathroom fine, with space for toiletries which is always useful. The location was great. Bars and restaurants close by. We hired bikes from Pepes along the road at a really reasonable cost. On the other hand, we were disappointed to hear a 20 min jet ski hire cost 80 euros for only 20 minutes so didn't do that in the end.

I wasn't expecting much from the food but there was a reasonable choice and always a salad a pasta choice. The restaurant Manager, Manuel was quite a character - running the restaurant like a military camp. I got a telling off the first morning for not using a saucer for my cup - even though there were none there. Apparently the table cloths take some cleaning.... That wasn't the only time either but if you stay you'll quickly see what I mean.
But what really redeemed this hotel was the superb customer service from George and Serge, in the bar and restaurant. They were great guys who were polite and clearly very hard working. Serge's rum suggestions went down a treat with my husband! Nothing was too much trouble for them.
All things considered, I would probably return if I thought the overbooking issues had been resolved but not if I thought this was still likely to be a problem.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raspberryberet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I are home from a fantastic (if not perfect) 10 day holiday at the above hotel/resort.

The Standard: -
We found to be of a good quality for the money, traditional style ‘Spanish Hotel’ that caters for a fully ‘International Clientele’ base.
This is a 3 star +, trying very hard to reach our 4 star rating.

Accommodation: -
Stairs and two lifts serviced all the floors and were good.
Our room/ bathroom was on the 6th floor with fantastic views of the bays.
It is somewhat dated (as is its style) but with fridge, phone, hair dryer, TV and sockets.
The room was large by today’s standards and was cleaned daily.
The bed was a large ‘Queen’ size and very comfortable.
We also had adjustable air conditioning which was effective.

General Service: -
All staff were bilingual, friendly and trying hard to accommodate everyone’s needs.
Though you know what they say: - ‘You can’t please all of the people, all of the time’

The Pool: -
Was adequate, though it doesn’t catch the sun all day and did not appear to be heated.
This keeps it clean though and a few did brave the water.
It did have Showers and plenty of Sunbeds - The sunbeds could do with being updated.
However, with the lack of sun on them most of the day, they were more just loungers to relax and cool-off on. And anyway, the sunny beach is just outside the back door, two or three metres away.

Food: -
As mentioned above, this is a ‘Spanish International Hotel’ of some 84 rooms and attempts to cater for all, which in our opinion, it does with a fair degree of success.
This in turn, means you will not find: - Roast Beef and Yorkshire Puddings with all the trimmings,
at least, not necessarily all at the same time.

After saying that, the variety of food was enormous.
With the various respective buffet mealtimes consisting of plenty of: -
Cereals, Eggs, Cold Meats, Cheeses, Spanish Bacon, Sausages, Breads, Rolls, Biscuits, Spreads, Jam’s and even to my surprise, Diet Marmalade. Teas, Coffee and Water based Fruit Drinks etc.

Lunch and Main Meals consisting of a variety of: -
Salads, Soup, Meats (both hot and cold) Fish, Vegies in all there guises, Potatoes, Chips etc.
Plus various Wines, Waters and Beers etc.
With all types of Desserts, Cakes, Ice Creams, Tarts, Fresh Fruits and Yogurts.
The list seemed endless.

Needless to say you will not go hungry here. However, if you require A’ la Cart quality dinning with waiter/waitress service, go to an upmarket hotel and pay the additional price.
This should not be your hotel of choice.
That said our used plates and utensils were always removed in a timely fashion given the number of staff available under an exuberant Maitre’de. Who worked very hard to accommodate everyone’s needs, as did they all.

There was a rotary toaster in the mornings and even a microwave to boost the temperature of your food if required, though this we found to be unnecessary.

Entertainment: -
Much as you would expect for this standard of hotel, for 4 evenings or so, per week.
Hardly any children there, which was a bonus for couples and us.
(As we're retired and had ours).

Location: -
Fairly, but not too close to Magaluf (but noticeable in the 5 to 6am club turn outs from there) at the end of Palmanovas three beaches. We felt total safe and secure here with regular local constabulary patrols throughout the day. Great for evening strolls along the prom with its shops, cafe's, bars, and restaurants of all kind.

Altogether a wonderfully warm and friendly hotel and resort – We would return again!
If you are flexible and don’t expect 4+ 5 stars for your budget price, then you will have a
Great Holiday here!

Room Tip: The Higher The Better. But even the first floor gave you a sea view over the flat roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThelmaHullbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.3 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa

Property: Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa
Address: Calle Cala Blanca 9, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Hotel Comodoro)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#11 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#13 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comodoro Hotel Palma Nova
Comodoro Palma Nova
Hotel Comodoro
Hotel Seramar Comodoro Playa Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing