We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“very poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Rosa del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Upon arrival the hotel looked extremely dated and was very quiet. We checked in and the man behind the desk demanded a 180 euro deposit straight away which we were not informed about what so ever before this point. When we got into our room which was on the ground floor, we discovered the patio door would not lock so we informed the reception who sent down their security guard who pretended to fix the door and pretended he could not open it and it was locked. I then tried it myself and realised it was still unlocked and he then pushed the sofa against the door and said that noone would be able to get in now. I explained as we were on the ground floor and anyone could just jump over and asked if we could have another room he said no and said to wait until the morning when the maintenence men would look at it. which i did not find satisfactory. i then asked if we could use the safe for free of charge just overnight until the door was fixed and they declined saying the people in charge of the safe were not there until the morning.
the maids came in daily to 'clean' the room. most nights we would go out and have a few drinks in the apartment before hand. we would leave our half/full bottles in the room expecting to drink them the next night. well after a day at the pool we returned to find all our alcohol and food gone! these were not empty they were full! we found the maids trolleys full of all our stuff and informed reception who did not care.
on the last day we were there we checked out a while before our flights and requested to use the complimentary shower room (which was just a shower in a tiny room) and obviously needed towels but the reception would not allow us to and said they were only for guests.

we were there in first weeks of september and expected it to be quite lively and busy. the pool area was dead every day, the entertainment was embarrassing and the cafe rarely opened.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachelsxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    279
    84
    41
    23
See reviews for
470
205
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My experience of the hotel changed, I stayed there for 10 days. On the first week the pool was very clean but on but on my ninth and tenth day standards slipped to a disgusting level. A soggy biscuit had been left in the pool for 3 days it was still floating on the surface on my 10th day after originally seeing it on the 7th day. The pool had bits of hair among an array of other disgusting items. Considering what I had paid for the accommodation I did not think this was an appropriate standard of hygiene. I've given this a 3/5 because on my first week the hotel deserved a 5/5 but the end of the holiday the hotel was so disgusting it deserved to be a 1/5. In saying this it is located close enough to Magaluff that you can walk without being caught up in the mayhem and loud noise at night. The room is basic but has everything you would want and the balcony though small has a nice view.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Rosa was in a great location.
five minute walk to the main strip of Magaluf, Palma Nova Beach was litterally across the road, pool was always clean, plenty of sunbathing space aswell! room was fantastic. we was in the newly renovated part of the hotel! a huge wet room, and a great sized balcony.
Will definatly come back to Rosa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we spent a week here very nice clean hotel food very good easy to get to every where from here very close to beach bars and night life would go back again very good value for money rooms very clean the food is very good value for money

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My experience of the hotel changed, I stayed there for 10 days. On the first week the pool was very clean and but on my 9th and 10 day standards slipped to a disgusting level. A soggy biscuit had been left in the pool for 3 days it was still floating on the surface on my 10th day after originally seeing it on the 7th. The pool had bits of hair among an array of other disgusting items. Considering for what I had paid for this accommodation I did not think this was an appropriate standard of hygiene. I’ve given this a 3/5 because on my first week the hotel deserved a 5/5 but by the end of the holiday the hotel was so disgusting it deserved a 1/5. In saying this it is located close enough to Magaluf that you can walk without being caught up in the mayhem and loud noise at night. The room is basic but has everything you would want and the balcony though small has a nice view.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana-wallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant place to stay and very near magaluf and Palma nova. Plenty of bars and night life! Med ped is close by to those who want to hire a moped or a motorbike! Lovely place and would stay again for sure

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamBD80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed here approximately 10 years ago for a family holiday and had a great time.

This September I finally got the chance to return and headed out with one of my friends, to meet another couple who were staying elsewhere.

First impressions were not good. Upon arrival, after waiting a good 5-8 minutes despite being the only ones in the queue, we were informed by a lousy receptionist that a 100 Euro deposit was to be made. When I asked why, he said it was in case we have a beach party in the room and trashed the place, and that it was "management policy" for guests. Later in the week, we discovered that the deposit was at the management's discretion and spoke to numerous groups who were never made to put down a deposit!

Now I can understand this at the cheaper, "lively" hotels that cater for party animals, but I'm 28, sensible and specifically paid more to avoid this kind of environment. Worse still, the unannounced deposit resulted in us having less money on the holiday - to the point I had no money on the final day until the deposit could be claimed back.

Other guests were not asked for a deposit (likely on account of their age), and some received an upgrade free of charge. Insultingly, we were placed in the scruffiest rooms (we ordered studio). Ground floor overlooking the back of the hotel, which was clearly intended for troublemakers and next to a large group of Spanish youngsters who played music at all hours. This really was the worse corridor in the hotel.

The first room was unacceptable - the worst I've ever seen. The bathroom light did not function, the balcony door had a horozontal crack, and electrics were hanging off the walls. Needless to say, we complained and got another room - still on the ground floor but in better condition. It wasn't great but it was an improvement on the first.

Noise was a factor for the first three nights, but after that it went quieter. However, the maids are rather noisy up and down the corridors and often chat to themselves by shouting. So what we gained with the noise reduction in the next room, the maids/maintenance staff made up for towards the end of the week.

Some other points to consider:

- No tea was served at the bar area, despite coffee being available! I was informed of this by a member of the bar staff. This is like having salt but no pepper.

- The bathroom sink was actually outside of the bathroom, next to the beds and often leaked. Upon closer inspection, we could see damp climbing the walls beneath the sink.

- The hotel just loves deposits: table tennis, pool, etc all require a deposit of 5 Euros or more.

- The clothes maiden was falling off the balcony wall when we arrived. We didn't want to touch this in case it compromised our deposit and ignored it until the end of the holiday.

To sum up, massive difference to my first experience at the Rosa del Mar and I will not be returning. It's unfortunate they treat British under 30s with so much contempt. Make sure you're at least 45 or above to claim the better rooms if you must stay here. The main plus is the Rosa is centrally located to Palma Nova and Magaluf. The pool area is OK but lacking atmosphere. That's the end of my review.

Room Tip: Level 2 has the best rooms, some on the ground floor need gutting they're so bad. Third floor is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wizardswitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.3 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
0.1 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#4 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Playas Ca's Saboners
0.4 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#8 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Rosa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Rosa del Mar

Property: Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Address: Avenida Cas Saboners s/n, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Family Hotel in Palmanova
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aparthotel Rosa del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This excellent complex has always kept up its facilities and service spaces with a lot of care and dedication. Moreover, our guests especially appreciate taking a stroll in the garden as well as enjoying the benefits of the heated pool, gym or sauna. This is definitely the place for nice holidays! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Aparthotel Rosa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Rosa Del Mar Hotel Palma Nova
Aparthotel Rosa Del Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing