We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best locations in Palmanova”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“One of the best locations in Palmanova”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Visited this for the first time after reading through the many reviews of hotels in Palmanova and I was not disappointed.The location could not be better as it is on the promenade and the lovely sandy beach. Adults Only and this suited us as many hotels are catering for the children often at the expense of adult enjoyment. The ground floor of the hotel has been upgraded and looks really good. The upper floors are I believe going to be refurbished which will turn this into a top class hotel. The room we had (315) was a good size and had 3 beds and will benefit from the planned refurbishment. We booked with Jet2 which did not say if the rooms faced the sea or not and when we discovered ours did not we paid the extra to get the sea view as one was available.The seaview rooms only got the sun in the morning but the views and being able to sit in the balcony in the evenings and catch the entertainment was good. Reviews mentioned the rooms facing the back suffered from noise from those passing from the discos etc in Magalluf but this did not seem to be a problem (September ?) The food was varied and mostly very good. There was nearly always sunbeds available.
WiFi has become fairly important for those of us wanting to use our tablets etc and really should be provided free but this hotel was charging 32 Euros to use their WiFi for a week even 2 euros for 15 minutes. Connect up to the free WiFi from the beach. Hiring the use of a safe are something else that we are getting ripped off with and this hotel was no exception.
The dining room serving was a problem that really needs to be addressed by the management.
The queue is often one long chain past the various areas such as soups, starters, carvery, main courses, sweets. Having got your starter and returning for your next course you either went back to the start of the queue or had to force your way into the queue at the appropriate place which could be an annoyance.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are cheaper and get the sun in the afternoon and evening BUT at peak times of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neepdocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    394
    135
    38
    14
See reviews for
172
668
55
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langbank, Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Spent a week here in early April in the knowledge that the area would be quieter than in mid season. We were not disappointed. One of only a small number of hotels on this particular bay, it was very peaceful indeed. As everywhere, you get what you pay for - it is not cheap, but neither is it expensive.

Took advantage of the advice on earlier reviews and booked a sea view room. If you are a sun lover the road side rooms catch all the afternoon and evening sun, but if not too worried about missing that, the sea view rooms are great, with calming views over the bay - see photos taken from room 310.

The rooms are a good size and typical of good quality Spanish hotels. Plenty room for two, very adequate bathroom, reasonable hanging space, clean room.

In the style of many Spanish hotels, food is generally self service, buffet style. Very good range of cold and hot dishes. Surprised to read another's comment about no butter. Our breakfast buffet, hot and cold, was well stocked with butter portions, low fat spread portions, individual jams and much more. I agree that, if you plan a journey to the toaster, take sandwiches! It was very slow but, in April, never was a problem. I think it was set to holiday mode. No problems with the coffee machines and hot water was hot enough for a decent cup of tea. Evening meals were very good. No complaints at all. Good range of wine and there is a room off the restaurant, where your unfinished bottle of wine will be kept for your next meal.

If you wanted it, there was evening entertainment, if not, there was comfortable seating outside to enjoy the evening air.

One of the most impressive aspects to this hotel is the friendliness of the staff and also their helpfulness. Often observed them go the extra mile for someone. Was very obvious that there are repeat customers, many on first name terms with the staff. Apparent that the staff stay, always a good sign.

The level promenade on the beach side of the hotel, stretches for miles and provides lots of leisurely walks with places to take a breather, wherever you are.

Would, nay will return to this hotel.

Room Tip: For me the sea view is important, so as high up as possible on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank senex-sum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, Notts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Second time at this hotel, we all stayed there again because of location and very good food. First time was in a twin room, very good size, this time in a single room the room was very good apart from trouble fitting in the shower.(294)..food was of great quality again, all the staff are very polite. Will be booking again next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJERetford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel's greatest advantage is its location right on the beach. The room amenities are not all that spectacular for the price and, while the hotel itself is kid-free, the public beach is not so I'm not sure there's any net advantage. Housekeeping was a bit too eager on the morning of our departure; we had until noon to check out but they started poking their heads in around 9AM. Still, it was clean with air conditioning and that's pretty good for Spain in July. Try not to get stuck in a room on the end. The windows are tiny! We asked to move and they were pretty accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My partner and myself have just spent a week at this hotel, classed as adults only this appealed, however, they should have stated adults over the age of 75!
think we were the youngest there, everywhere you looked there were zimmer frames, wheelchairs and walking sticks! The hotel itself was in a superb position right on the beach so not far to hobble for a swim. Rooms very shabby and old fashioned, however they were clean and well serviced. Restaurant, nothing to shout about, the food was good and freshly cooked and varied from day to day and breakfast also good and plentiful. Another downside was no free wi fi, couldnt understand this at all, 4 euros i think for an hour , we just used the free stuff in the nearby cafes and bars if we needed to to. And when are these hotels going to enforce the no reserving of sunbeds rule?? The clientele may have been elderly but that didn't stop them placing towels etc at early hours of the morning! Beach came in very handy as the sun disappeared to the front of the hotel around 2.30pm, take something to lie on and a beach brolly as the charge was a rip off at 10 euros for a lounger and parasol. All in all wouldn't race back to this hotel, there are better in Palma Nova, just have to look and you can see that. Sol Cala Blanca classes its self as a 4 star, we beg to differ, it comes in as an average 3 star in our opinion.

Room Tip: A sea view if you want sun in morning or a garden view if sitting on balcony in afternoon/evening is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was my second visit this year, 24th to 29th September, having stayed in May for a few days. I had booked a single room for the first time and it was much as I expected, adequate. That was untill I opened the balcony door.The door hardly opened for the chair, it was so small out there! Next morning I changed to a twin room (90 euros extra) sooooo much better, even if expensive. I was still on the 4th floor street side and so had the glorious sunshine all afternoon and into the early evening. No noise at all at night!
Having stayed here in the past, before the refit to parts of the Hotel, I still prefer it as it was but, you have to move with the times. The big let down for me and always will be is the fact that there is no breakfast service with tea and coffee, just the machines. For a four star Hotel this is a short fall in service and reflects badly on the standard expected. Little things like no butter at breakfast only marg, no individual jams and only the one toast machine thats seen better days,may be grumbles but, makes you think when again when it's time to book another trip.
I really noticed the room cleaning was well below par this trip too.
Grumbles done with, the Hotel is really well positioned in the resort and the staff are polite and helpful. Clean towels everday and toiletries replaced as they were used.

Room Tip: Street side rooms are the best for the sunshine. Room 418 is a really good position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adventuremaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed at the Calla Blanca end of September, found the hotel was everything I was hoping for, the rooms were very spacious and very clean, we had clean towels every day and sheets changed twice in the week, we also had enough toiletries to last a life time. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and we were given a free pass to Katmandu or Golf Fantasia which was very welcome, Food I thought could of been better but their was always a good variety.We stayed on the fourth floor on the street side which could be a bit noisy but once you shut the patio doors and put the air con on it was fine, I would stay there again if I was going back to Palmanova.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Mallorca, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Linda L
Many thanks for your review; we would like to welcome you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
817 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Mallorca

Property: Sol Beach House Mallorca
Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Beach House Mallorca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 16 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Beach House Mallorca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Sol Beach House Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Mallorca Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing