We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay here. First impressions were good reception lovely, as was the dining room, loved the fact you could choose to eat inside or outside which was lovely, was great to sit outside overlooking the sea whilst having our meals. The rooms were ok, defiantly need a refurb which I think will then make this a fab hotel, we had a room overlooking the road but the noise was never too bad and didn't keep us awake at all. We didn't stay around the pool as
previews reviews have said the reserving of sun beds was dreadful at this hotel, we even heard an argument one morning over sun beds with one chap stating he had got up at 5 a.m to reserve a
sun bed absolutely ridiculous and the management need to sort this issue out. Also most of the pool area was in the shade by early afternoon ( except a small area and you had no chance of getting a sun bed there unless you fancy getting up at the crack of dawn).
so if your a sun worshipper the beach is the best place although expensive for sun beds but personally would sooner pay they have the towel on sun bed trauma everyday! The food was lovely, plenty of choice even the fussiest of eaters could find something here.
The staff at this hotel are the nicest I have ever come across in all my years on going on holiday to Spain, from the chap who greets you to collect your luggage when you arrive, the lovely lady who cleans the rooms, waiters, bar staff etc the receptionist could do with cheering up a bit but other than that they were all fab!
Agree with previous review thought it was a bit much to pay to change your towels in other hotels we have stayed in there has been no charge for this service, also as this hotel was a four star would have expected tea/coffee facilities, we found the air con really good in this hotel, fridge was useless, but other than these little niggles we found this hotel really nice and would certainly stay there again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Julie L

Thank you very much for your lovely review, even for the kind words you wrote regarding our staff. We sincerely hope to welcome you again, and surprise you with new improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    322
    113
    34
    12
See reviews for
143
525
42
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Been to this hotel for many years, like many other guests, and many of us said this year it has lost some of its quality.Saying that staff are wonderful as is the food,the rooms looking worn but are due to be updated,please note if you use a wheelchair you cannot get it through the bathroom door!This was a great problem for us and sadly if the doors are not widened or a disabled room is not installed we will not be able to return to this hotel,so hope the refurb does something about this.

Room Tip: Needs to do more for disabled users
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank midgeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear midgeEssex,
Thank you very much for take the time to share with us your opinion. As you well know, we are in the process of refurbishment in all areas of the hotel, and the next step will be the rooms; we will take seriously into consideration to have some rooms adapted for wheelchair users; that will be honestly a great improvement. If you want to visit us again, please contact us before, in order to inform you what kind of installation we have enhanced, or at least, to give you alternatives for your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

stayed here on my own , a 5 day break last week ......... Lovely , friendly bar and restaurant staff.... clean , tidy ,good food , ideal location..good air con (needed ,as the temp got up to 35 degrees ) very comfy bed .....but oh what a tiny room.... my room 294 was so small and cramped, you could hardly trun round in it , + no balcony , it was a twinroom, but if there were two of you would be impossible to be comfortable .The bathroom was so small with a tiny shower, curtain didn't fit properly and caused water to drip all over the floor...had to mop it up with the spare towel . I realise that I was not in one of the better rooms as I'd booked last minute due to work committments , but these small rooms along the side corridor really let the hotel down and I can't imagine they should be awarded 4 star status using these rooms. I've stayed in Sol chain hotels before and had better room in a 3 star hotel.I belive in being honest and one other unfortunate negative point , is the decor is so old fashioned, wood chip on the walls, stair carpet going threadbare , bedroom doors are like cell doors with spy holes in them .... On the positive side, the hotel was very clean , food good, bar prices sensible , and what a joy , a hotel that doesn't require you to wear one of those awful plastic arm bands .....
On the whole it was a reasonable stay , but accommodation a bit dissappoiting compared to the many other 4 start hotels I've stayed at in Majorca

Room Tip: if you stay here , opt for the better rooms , full size with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Redose,
Thank you very much for take the time and trouble to share your impressions with us. We are very sorry to read about your comments regarding the room, next time. Maybe, in the future you can reserve a twin room for single use, in order to have more space for you. We sincerely hope to welcome you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Not long returned from a seven night stay here.Have had to catch up on some sleep! Hotel entrance lovely,as are dining room area and pool area. The rooms, however,are a bit tired but I understand a refurbishment will take place. Despite this, the rooms were cleaned to a high standard on a daily basis by a very cheerful lady who worked very hard.Sheets changed every other day and towels daily and floors and bathroom cleaned.
.On the first day the room smelt strongly of cigarette smoke-we reported this to reception who did offer to change rooms but as I was feeling rather tired we gave it a bit longer and it improved somewhat. As smoking is allowed on balconies I thought it wouldn't be much better in another room. Our room faced the street side and it was so noisy. We had very little sleep ,the noise went on all night. I suspect younger British holidaymakers were the cause of most of the noise! At one point I thought I may as well get up at 4am and join the revellers! On two nights a noisy guest above decided to march across their room and practise furniture removal.The food was good and sometimes great and the ambience in the dining room lovely as you faced the sea and could eat al fresco.
We asked for a safe key which cost 21euro plus 5euro deposit! Last year in Spain it was a lot less! Towels were 10 euro each(returnable) but if you wanted to change them it would be 1 euro(non returnable) so we kept the same ones for the duration as this is the first time a charge has been made for changing them mid stay.The air con was effective but we thought it was recycled air rather than cooled fresh air from outside. Do not use room fridge on pain of death! That's a new ruling now but local shops sell chilled wine so we managed and there were loads of café/bars near.
As there was a lack of sunbeds (why are people still putting towels on these and disappearing so no one else can get a lounger-can this selfish practice stop) we went to the beach which is on hotel doorstep. We only availed ourselves of a beach sunbed for one day ,after that we took towels and lay on the sand at water's edge and we were quite comfortable there. The reason being that the price has been inflated by an extra 4.50 euros! Now,the beds cost 4.50 each plus 4.50 for parasol!! Next year god knows what extras will be charged! Swimming in sea? Making sandcastles?
The hotel pool was clean and managed to swim here in afternoon when the pool area was shaded and the bed hoggers struggled to get themselves ready for the evening.
There were activities provided and a great plus for me was aquafit but last class was cancelled due to lack of support.The instructor/entertainment organiser Carla was great and very motivated. and it was unfortunate that not enough people wanted to do this as it was fun and only half an hour.
Would I come back? Yes, but to a quiet room as the staff were great.I must mention the welcome cocktails and canapés,a lovely touch! Special mentions to Marc who helped with bags and Javier, Carla and the anonymous room maid who are a credit to the hotel. Also the location,lovely not to have to trail to the beach.
I don't want to omit the guys who run the Lady Diana café/bar down the road.(not to be confused with Diana beach bar). It was lovely to come here and have a midday snack and drink and chill. They were a pair of perfect gentlemen.

Room Tip: Seaview for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marinaYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MarinaYork,
Thank you very much for your complete review. We are very happy to read that, overall, you have enjoyed your stay with us. Nevertheles, we have carefully noted your comments about the cigarette smelt in the room, and also told the housekeeper, in order to avoid situations like yours.
We want, also thank you for the kind words you wrote regarding our staff. We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel has 2 things going for it – the location and the staff.
Situated beside a very good beach just round the corner from Magaluf. Don’t let Magaluf put you off as Santa Ponsa is family friendly.
All the hotel staff were excellent. Hard working friendly and professional.

However there were a few things I didn't like for example –
The lack of space in the dining room both inside and out.
None of the seaview rooms have sunny balconies. We were offered one for a supplement of around €11/day.
If you want to sit in the sun it is impossible to get a sunbed unless you join the “Towel Bigade” who set their alarm clocks to head off with their towels at dawn!
There just isn’t room for more beds.
No flat screen TV in our room.
The fridge has a warning not to put your drink in it.
Had to pay around €30 for wi-fi for the week.

The good points are -
As the guests were mostly British the food was more British than German.
I don’t think younger people would like it here – but as an elderly couple we enjoyed the peace and quiet.
The rooms were large and well cleaned.
The pool was small but that was fine because hardly anyone used it.
The music during dinner was lovely.
Some of the entertainment at night didn’t suit me – so we went to the country and western music in the nearby bars.

There is an indoor pool but unused during our stay. This pool goes unnoticed. It is outside to the left of the main entrance as you leave the hotel's main entrance.

I don’t think I would return but it is not the worst place I have stayed in - nor the best.

Room Tip: you can get a seaview for a supplement but not sunny. Our room at the back got some sun in the after...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fined4times
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear fined4times,
Thank you very much for your complete review, we are very glad to read comments like yours regarding our staff. We have carefully noted all your comments and suggestions and we will take into consideration in order to improve our services. Give us a chance and keep coming to the Sol Cala Blanca, next winter we will be in process to do more refurbishments in order to improve installations and services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is something special if you want a nice quiet small hotel, as its adults only. The bedrooms are huge compaired to others with a fantastic balcony overlooking the beaach. The food is fantastic and with a good choose each day, the staff are brilliant right the way from the clearer to the big boss man himself, they all make a real effort to make it special. We have been staying at this hotel for many years, we've tried others but this is the best.

Room Tip: The upper floors are outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharliePearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear CharliePearson,
What can I said, we are very glad to read such a review from every guest. Thank you very much for your lovely words. We hope to welcome you in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We have just returned from 12 nights at this hotel, over all a great holiday. The location is right on the beach when you step out of the back of the hotel you are only the width of the footpath away from the beach. This is just as well as there are a limited number of sun beds around the pool which is a good size and very clean. You have to get up very early to get a sun bed if you don't then you can hire one on the beach but this costs (13.50 Euros for two beds and a sun shade which is not optional). The room we had was a good size and very clean, it was a little bit dated. We were in a road side room and we had the misfortune of being opposite the King Kebab shop. The hotel is on the shortest route between Palma Nova and Magaluf this take away remains open until 05:00 so when the cream of British youth are returning from their night out they gather here to feed, shout and fight with each other. On nine of the twelve nights I was here I was woken sometime between 03:00 - 05:00 by customers of this shop. This did however help with getting a sun bed. We were half board and went with the intention of eating out every second night, as it was we only went out to eat twice as the food was so good, the staff were very friendly and there was a good mix of nationalities staying. The bar prices in the hotel are expensive however there are a number of good bars around the area which are more reasonably priced. I would return but ask for a room at the western end of the hotel or on the beach side.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the western end of the hotel away from the take away
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierBonet, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Jon R,
Many thanks for your review, we sincerely hope to welcome you again in the very near future, keep in contact with us, so we will give you a quiet room to enjoy your next stay at the Sol Cala Blanca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.2 mi away
Sol Palmanova
Sol Palmanova
#18 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Bonanza Playa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 stars 735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
Aparthotel Rosa del Mar
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca

Property: Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca
Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#4 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Beach House Mallorca - Cala Blanca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 16 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Beach House Mallorca - Cala Blanca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Mallorca Cala Blanca Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing