We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another lovely hols at Sol Cala Blanca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yet another lovely hols at Sol Cala Blanca”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Just returned from yet another enjoyable week at this hotel. I really do struggle to understand what some people find to complain about with this hotel. This was our fourth visit and we were well looked after from start to finish. When arriving at hotel our room wasn't quite ready as we had emailed beforehand with a request of the room we would like if poss. The porter looked after our cases while we went for lunch, then took them to our room for us and made sure we knew how to work the air con etc before leaving us. Reception staff are always nice, polite and helpful, organising a late checkout for us [ a perk of joining the MAS loyalty card scheme]. All bar staff and waiting staff are friendly and make stay really comfortable and enjoyable. Food was very good, meat quality a lot better than last year, when we felt it wasn't as good as we would have liked. The boss of hotel makes the effort to regularly go round guests and speaks to them. Really loved the changes made over winter, refurb going well, loved new pool layout allowing lots more sunbeds. New entertainment manager doing a brilliant job, a real asset to the hotel, she got some really good new acts this season, and the water aerobics was great fun, well done Lori [ hope your pool party went well! ] All I can say is you can always find something to complain about anywhere if you really want to, but if you want a lovely holiday in a perfect beach location in a friendly hotel, then try the Sol Cala Blanca! We are looking forward to returning again in September.

Room Tip: We like a road facing room as gets sun right into the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunlover-norfolk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    613
    406
    136
    39
    13
See reviews for
179
700
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just back from the 7 days at Cala Blanca yesterday. Cannot agree withe the positive reviews of this hotel, in my opinion this is a very poor hotel, that struggles to be even a three star. On arrival no one to bring up bags to the room, the decor in the corridors and in the bedroom is awful. walls in the bedroom and the corridors are the colour of mud. The paintwork on the doors is a muddy grey and not clean. The furniture in the room is mismatched and shoddy. other reviewers have mentioned the shabby state of the carpets on the entrance and the spiral staircase - they are telling the truth! The bathroom is dreadful 2 spotlights over the sink but very dark and dingy. There is no power in the shower, it takes forever to get washed. The hand towels were the worse I have ever seen in a hotel. Hard and threadbare. To be fair, the bath towels were better.
The restaurant is reminiscent of butlins circa 1970. It is awful. Like a very old fashioned works canteen. . No tablecloths on the tables, Dreadful cheap looking furniture. this place has no class whatsoever. The food is of poor quality, though it is plentiful.

There are not enough sunbeds by a long way - to secure a bed you will have to be prepared to get up before 7.00am to reserve a bed otherwise you will have to go on the beach and at 13.50€ for 2 beds a day it adds up. The management are fully aware of this and do nothing to increase the number of beds, even though one side of the pool is set out with dining chairs and tables,half of which are never used.

There is a charge for the safe, an old fashioned key - not a coded one, and a charge if you want the pool towels exchanged for clean ones. The best laugh of all is the so called indoor pool. I asked were this was and was taken outside the front entrance and directed along a path to the indoor pool which is housed in a conservatory type of outbuilding - again this is awful.

The staff are nice, and this review is no reflection on them, but the building, food and services are simply not good enough for a 4 star hotel that charges 160€ a night.
This hotel is in a great location, probably the best in the resort, but that is all it has going for it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Wembley446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

just come back from sol cala blanca,this is the fourth time in this hotel and yet again another great stay,food brill,rooms brill,staff brill,every thing was brill. the recption and bar have all been refurbed and was told resturant is being done this year,can not wait to go back again next year or maybe this year again.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view but you will have to pay extra for this but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Arrived and was given room 297. My wife was so unhappy with this room that within minutes she returned to reception and told them that she was refusing to accept it. This room is stuck away to the side of the hotel, overlooking the bins and a park area. it has no view or balcony. It is clearly not what is advertised in the brochures. It does not even appear on the fire escape plans.
Initially the reception staff told us that there was no alternative room. Then one of the staff who carries the luggage in offered us an upgrade to a seaview room for 23 euros per day. I took this and was very pleased with that room. later that day a couple came in from the street and were offered a land facing room with the option of an upgrade to a seaview room for 12 euros per day.
I asked around the pool area during my stay and several guests had had a similar experience. Room 297 is the worst room in hotel and when i was offered it i quickly decided to upgrade, as i am sure most people who can afford to will do. I am sure that the hotel staff also know that this is a terrible room and many of the visitors who see it will pay extra to upgrade.
This feels like a scam to me.
Despite this we got good food, location, cleanliness, friendly staff, etc and excellent entertainments manager (lori) . We enjoyed our stay and would certainly return but not of course to room 297..

Room Tip: do not accept room 297 !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Sol Cala Blanca. Our group were 5 ladies, 3 of us aged 50, 1 aged 60 and 1 aged 70 and the hotel suited all of us down to the ground. The hotel guests were all age groups.
On arrival we were delighted to receive room upgrades to sea view rooms from the pleasant receptionists. These rooms don't get the sun all day but while we were there there was a heatwave, the temperature was in the late 30's but the rooms were still quite cool so we didn't need to use the air conditioning all the time.
The hotel decor is lovely although I do agree with previous reviews that the carpets at the main entrance and on the spiral staircase do need replacing.
We stayed half board and we all thought that the food was lovely. Plenty of choice and hot.
Sunbeds were an issue I agree - it was a case of if you can't beat them join them and we got up early to reserve beds.
All the staff were friendly and helpful. The entertainments manager, Lori was very good. Aqua gymn was great fun. In the evenings during dinner there was a piano player and on one occasion we had a saxophone player which was really nice to listen to while eating on the outside terrace. There were shows at 9.30pm every night - our favourite was Cuban night, we had such a laugh.
I have stayed at other hotels in the area and some of the guests appeared to be 'clicky' but everyone was really friendly here.
Before the holiday ended we had all decided that we will be booking to go back next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrsanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Arrived for 10 night stay and was greeted by very friendly staff,had booked standard room but was offered sea view for extra 12 euros per night.well worth it.the rooms were clean and had good air con. towels changed every day,beds every two days.Downside was small poolside area whlch meant not enough sunbeds,whlch were taken by 8 am and not enough umbrellas.we realy enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel for a quiet and relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melvrosr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We recently decided to revisit the Sol Cala Blanca hotel in Palma Nova, we had been there in 2008, and had not enjoyed it. But I have to say they have started to refurbish the hotel and it is much better. The reception and pool area have been done, the rooms have been repainted. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were very clean, sheets changed every other day. The restaurant is still the same but is due to be refurbished this winter. Food is okay you can always find something to eat, but they do tend to repeat the same menu the second week, breakfast has plent of choice. My only problem with the hotel rooms is the lack of draws to put stuff away in. Overall the hotel is in a lovely position, but can be a little noisy on the road side if you leave the door open. Air conditioning has been upgraded and is very good. I would certainly visit this hotel again

Room Tip: rooms on the sea side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tclb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palmanova
0.5 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.2 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#8 of 39 in Palmanova
854 reviews
3.7 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
951 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Beach House Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Beach House Mallorca

Property: Sol Beach House Mallorca
Address: Calle Duque de Estremera 16 | Palmanova (Mallorca), 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Romantic Hotel in Palmanova
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#5 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Beach House Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sol Beach House Mallorca enjoys a privileged location right on Palmanova beach. This adult only hotel (over 16 years) is ideal for relaxing and enjoying your partner's company, offering an exclusive atmosphere and magnificent sea views. Amongst its facilities is a magnificent pool and terraces with sea views. At the Sol Beach House Mallorca entertainment, relaxation and fun are guaranteed. This hotel will surprise you and exceed all your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Beach House Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cala Blanca Hotel Palma Nova
Sol Cala Blanca Palma Nova
Sol Melia Palma Nova
Sol Beach House Mallorca Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing