We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“More for the French” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More for the French”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 9 night holiday from this hotel. The reception staff were very good always helpfull. The room we had was good I think it was one of the new ones. The food was good plenty of choice.
I would think the hotel was 95% French guests. All the entertaiment is for the French guests, this was not a problem for my husband as we dont really bother with this.
An english family with young children were told the kids could not go the kids club as they were english, the way they were spoken to was very rude, if she had spoken to me in that manner I would have gone straight to the manager.
Would I go back to this hotel, no I will look for a more english run hotel next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilampugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor describing the sensations obtained during your stay with us.

Most of our clients have referred their complaints about the animators, you could distinguish the two animation teams, their uniforms were different. The hotel laments who has been unable enjoy our mini club, and all animation group activities

The group of animation of the French tour operator have worked as a great team with our animators, have created an environment of games and animation without separate nationalities.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    403
    214
    91
    75
See reviews for
378
336
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Me and my boyfriend came to this hotel in October 2012 for our 2 year anniversary and loved every minute. The only thing I would say am a fussy eater and there wasn't much choice of food for me and found my self most nights eating from the kids choice. Also I have a real bad fear of birds and they leave the doors open to the pool area so you can dine outside and they kept coming into the dinning room and flying around so a couple of times I had to take my food to my room as it became really bad. But all in all a really nice place great atmosphere and you get treated with a warm welcome by all the staff on a daily basis whether that be the cleaners to the chefs to the receptionist. I have recommended this hotel to my family and friends since being back as the location is really good to if you don't mind a 5 to 10 minute stroll depending on how fast you walk, not to far and not to close.

Stephanie.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefxball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor describing the sensations obtained during your stay with us.

Sorry that you were unable to enjoy our food, so varied.

The situation of our hotel and outside areas are surrounded by nature and is uncontrollable that the birds can be close to our terraces.

Your comments fill us with satisfaction and encourage our team to improve every day, looking for the greatest satisfaction of our guests.

Reiterating our thanks, hope to soon have it again with his presence.


Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I came from the UK with two kids and husband, This Hotel is not bad but not great either.
I chose this hotel because i love the area and the price was reasonably low, i only get all inclusive as a back up for kids, i'm not a hotel based orientated person and would go insane sitting in any hotel all day and night, i like to eat out and chill on the beach and walk around and do stuff. If you want the whole' first choice', lots of English people and entertainment type of vibe then its not for you.
80% are French guests, this didn't bother us at all, they were all very nice, the entertainment staff were actually really good, full of energy, talented and always asked everyone to join in, There was non stop stuff going on.The kids club seemed great aswell, a lot of effort made for kids. You dont need to understand French to watch a dance or magic show, Being a French based hotel, the food was quite good standard as french people like to eat well and generally the food was nice. There is only one buffet restaurant and another a la carte but you have to pay. Rooms are cleaned daily and the French Travel company get priority over the modern refurbished rooms, the other rooms are very average basic rooms but basically exactly the same just not repainted. I really dont understand how this hotel has a four star rating, ive stayed in real four star complexes in Mallorca, where ive had an apartment so privacy from the kids, 4 restaurants available, waiter service, branded drinks for all inclusive, waiter service to get you drinks in the evening, no self service and plastic cups!! and kids splash pools.
I think this hotel lacks the quality and service factor and is not a 4*, however it was cheaper so i guess you get what you pay for. I did still have a good time and am not disappointed, i would go back if the price was right for sure, all i say is dont expect high quality, just average, and you will be fine, the beach is lovely and lots to do outside the hotel :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sun186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Good afternoon,

We greatly regret that they have not been able to enjoy 100% of your holiday, and welcome your comments on your impressions of the hotel, which did us proud but gives us strength to keep improving.

Hope your family back to our hotel again and give us another chance.

A greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Staying here at the moment (aug 8-15 2013) with my wife and 2 sons (aged 2 and 5). Overal so far we are pleased with the hotel. Took at chance after reading all the mixed reviews. Food excellent so far. Reception staff a bit unfriendly but happy to answer any questions. Confused about a couple of things.....why is everything mainly in French? My wife and I are on our balcony with the kids inside asleep so we can't really go out elsewhere. Entertainment in French and we don't understand a word!....surely they should do some in English? Also the other thing which I don't get is that we have to wear wrist bands which are pemenantly fixed on our wrists for duration of trip. She said its to allow staff to know who's all inclusive, half board etc.......but English, Spanish are in yellow, French in red? ....room is very nice, contemporary style........but loose light switch in bathroom, no full length mirror or full length hanging space for clothes and fridge door won't stay closed. But FREE WIFI is great in communal areas and the rooms buy the pool (like ours) is close enough to pick it up in room! If you want beach, pool, food then just go for it! Kids are loving it. Towels are free with 10euro refundable deposit, safe is 20euros for a week with 5euros refundable at end.......possibly would return but let's see how rest of week goes!

Room Tip: We like ground floor room 2023 as corner room with pool access and not too close to all the noise so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dsg9875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holiday and for writing a review of ibersol Son Caliu Mar.

We regret that some of our services have not lived up to your expectations, we strive to improve our services for all our customers feel comfortable.

Our hotel works with different tour operators including the French Look Voyages, it is true that there are mostly in French client but we also have other nationalities, that for them there are two cheerleaders who work as a single team with Look Voyages animators.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again either at the hotel or at any of the hotels that are Ibersol Group

If you want to give us another chance not hesitate to contact us, we are at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanka pri Nitre, Nitra, Slovakia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was a very good, rooms were clean and the same as on pictures, the pool is a big and beatiful, the beach was near there, a food was very good. They cooked a lot of fishes and vegetables dishes but there was also meat. THE STAFF OF RECEPTION WAS HORRIBLE and also the staff of pool bar, they were unfriendly, arrogant and averse. On the other side, chamber-maids were a very friendly. The hotel is situated in a good location. There is a lot of Frenches but it isn´t problem. I think that this hotel is one from better hotels in Palmanova.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuciaTsuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Firstly thank you for choosing our hotel and for your valuable comments, which are very important to improve our services.

Feel much the treatment received in bar and reception, I would like to tell that from the hotel address will be followed up in collaboration with the heads of the departments involved, in order to improve our services and so make sure that this does not happen again.

Again thank you very much for your comments and I hope you give us another chance and we have the pleasure to see you again in our hotel stay.

A greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

There are a handful of rooms that look like the ones in the pictures and the rest look like the twin room image. We paid extra to have an upgraded room and still ended up in the horrible dated twin room.
We asked at reception could we change rooms and explained we had paid for a upgraded room. To be told all the rooms are the same but having walked past other rooms we noticed some of the first floor rooms were a lot nicer and more like the images.
The reception staff are very unhelpful especially a lady called Cova. She was very abrupt and didn't want to help. We also asked could we have the twin beds put together and made in to a double like in other rooms. We were told this would get done but we got fed up of waiting and ended up just pushing them together ourselves and making do with the bedding we had.

If you want a sun bed around the main pool you need to get up at 6 am. One morning at 7:00 there was not one bed left by the pool as they all had towels on and yet not one person was on any of the beds.

The restaurant was like a school dinner hall and was far to busy to accommodate the amount of hotel guests. It was stressful going in there so we choose to eat out instead.

This should not be rated 4*. I would say it was 2/3*.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Nonameuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holiday and for writing a review of ibersol Son Caliu Mar.

We regret that some of our services have not lived up to your expectations, this is something that concerns us, because we work very hard to make our customers happy and we feel bad when this is not so. We would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused by the reception department.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again either at the hotel or at any of the hotels that are Ibersol Group

If you want to give us another chance not hesitate to contact us, we are at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Blackpool
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel is one of the better ones in palmanova. Clean, nice rooms, mixture of ages etc... Very geared up for french guests. Entertainers speak French almost all of the time and this sometimes isolated what few other nationals there were. We only gave the football a go one of the days and realised this so just didnt go back. Nice chilled out second pool with little cabanas and relaxing music. Bar staff always happy to help. Food wasnt the best, but again i think it was all aimed at the French customers.

Room Tip: level floor poolside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blackpooldave16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your honest opinion of Ibersol Son Caliu Mar hotel and for your loyalty to our brand.

The whole team knows how much you enjoy your vacation in the hotel and we are delighted with your comments, it makes all the effort worthwhile.

our hotel works with various tour operators including one French, it is true that much of hotel has booked but the hotel is orientated for any customer.

We look forward to welcoming you again,

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#11 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Palmanova
Globales Palmanova
#14 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar

Property: Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Address: Calle Voranova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing