We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Just spent 4 nights here with my 10 year old daughter. To start with yes the guests are mainly French. This did not bother me at all not an English lager lout or football shirt in sight. Great! What did bother me however is that on our last night after a short stroll into Palma Nova we returned to the hotel to find they were having a 'white' party which we were unaware of. This meant that everyone was dressed head to toe in white except us and the other (very few) non French guests. We stuck out like a sore thumb, couldn't get a table to sit at and everybody kept looking at us as we really stuck out. it was like we were gatecrashers at a party. We therefore spent our last night in our room which I really wasn't happy about. I thought this was very unfair and for this reason alone and for being ostracised I would not return to this hotel. Very poor planning in my opinion and should not be allowed. Daytime activities were non existent for my 10 year old English speaking daughter too.

Food was average. Breakfast was ok, lunch hit and miss and we ended up eating out 2 nights for dinner as couldn't face the restaurant. There was lots of choice but everything (especially the meat) seemed very cheap. The snack bar was a joke it was basically in the main restaurant after breakfast and lunch and was just the leftovers. It was more full board with drinks inclusive than all inclusive in my opinion. My daughter could only get ice cream after lunch and dinner too.

The all inclusive drinks part was excellent, help yourself all day to beer, wine, soft drinks, water, slushes, tea & coffee. The only thing you have to ask for is spirits. I was impressed with this.

The rooms were clean and tidy and very modern. Maid service every day. Only negative were the very hard beds.

If the food quality was improved and they banned evening entertainment for the French guests only to get involved in I would return. Given we had to spend the last night in our room though and had to eat out twice I would not return.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrsp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
First, we would like to thank you for visiting our hotel during your holiday and for writing a review of ibersol Son Caliu Mar.

We regret that some of our services have not lived up to your expectations, this is something that concerns us, because we work very hard to make our customers feel comfortable.

Our hotel has a great team of animation, created by loa animators Look Voyages and two more entertainers to ensure that all our customers can perform all the activities as a whole.

Thank you again for your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again either at the hotel or at any of the hotels that are Ibersol Group

If you want to give us another chance not hesitate to contact us, we are at your disposal.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    403
    214
    91
    75
See reviews for
378
336
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

We were visiting friends in Great Britain and at the last minute decided to go to Palma for a few days! Found this hotel on line and decided to book - very glad that we did! This is such a nice hotel - staff was very nice, food was very good and our room was very, very nice! The service in the dining room was very good also - there were times when they seemed alittle over whelmed but we just "helped out" by clearing our plates off the tables - it does not hurt to help out once in awhile! The food was very good with a wide choice every meal! You could walk into Palma Nova from the hotel which was nice. All in all our experience was very good and if we would have the chance we would certainly return to Ibersol Son Caliu Mar!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbymoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Firstly thank you for trusting us and for your words, which enable us to improve day by day.

We are delighted you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again in our hotel.

A greeting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday at this hotel. I went with my husband&daughter who is 3. WE had a lovely time. We had read some negative reviews on trip advisor which referred mainly to the food &the fact that the entertainment was in French. We found the food lovely always plenty of selection. I would just say it can can get really busy at certain times during the sittungs of the mealtimes so we used to try &judge the quieter times to go. The entertainment was all in French &so was the kids club. I took my daughter alon to the kids club &they were colouring in a picture & I was told she could not join in due to not being French. I tried to tell them I was happy to stay with her while she did it. There is now another company that provides entertainment for kids in the hotel called rainbow tours but this service didn't start til the last few days of our holiday. We also found the smaller pool near the mini club was quieter &better for little ones to play. Even though the entertainment was in French &catered for the French we still used to watch some of the evening entertainment as our daughter liked to go to the disco. we still evenjoyed our trip &thought the hotel was lovely overall. It is a very short walk into palma nova centre &beach which was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grace25sunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time writing your experience in our hotel, which I will share with all our team.

It is a pleasure to read your review and I am most happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at Ibersol Son Caliu Mar .

I am delighted to see that you liked our food and that you found our staff very friendly. We always try to do our best in order to achieve the complete satisfaction of our customers.

Once again, many thanks for choosing us, and I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Depending on your expectations shall determine how you would rate this hotel.

1. Yes it is a predominantly French hotel due to French tour operators leasing out the majority of the rooms in the property, however they keep themselves to themselves and the only real impact felt by british guests is during the evening entertainment which is mostly spoken in French. However, there are other ways to become involved through pool parties etc.

2. There are two parts to the hotel being the main pool, and a separate pool which seemed to cater more for families with young children, having a playground close by. Moreover, there is a well equipped gym and indoor spa pool which was unfortunately ice cold during our stay.

3. The rooms are large and clean and appear to have been refurbished recently, with modern furniture and a large flat screen television which had at least SkyNews as an english speaking channel.

4. In our party of 5, we all shared the same opinion that the food was top notch. We usually went to the buffet restaurant later on towards the end of the sitting and always managed to find tables which were clean, and although we sometimes had to collect our own cutlery this is not a problem at all.

The food standard was excellent, with a wide range of choice during all meals including freshly cooked steaks, chicken etc during the evening and eggs, omelettes etc for breakfast. We did not have a requirement to interact with the staff during meal times and were happy with the overall cleanliness of the restaurant area.

5. Overall the staff we interacted with were friendly. The entertainment staff encouraged us to take part during the evening entertainment and always had a smile on their face as did the bar staff. The reception staff were particularly helpful in fixing an issue with the door keys not working in the power outlet, as well as happily printing our boarding passes and other transfer documents we needed free of charge.

In summary, if you are happy to withstand majority French speakers in this hotel and want an excellent standard of accommodation with amazing food close to Palma Nova beach, then I would not hesitate in booking here. Our party have all said we would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CB-89966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Hotel was very nice on first impressions however it became apparent that this hotel catered for French guests only. The shows, entertainment, signage including in the restauran were all in French. The food was absolutely appalling most of the time. Most lunchtimes and evenings you had to help yourself to cutlery as the tables were never reset. For a 4 star all inclusive this should never have been the case. Coffee machines and soft drink machines were not refilled for days when a product ran out. All in all very poor lots of managers standing around doing nothing ie the young manager with the suit and the goatie beard smoking at the pool bar!!! Maybe he should have been helping the appalling staff reset tables.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. I appreciate all the feedback we receive as it allows us to improve the experience for future guests

I sincerely apologise that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us and have experienced these issues.

I have taken note of their comments so that does not happen in a future.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review and I apologise about the issues you experienced. I hope that you will treat this as a one off occurrence and not what you can expect from ibersol.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Accrington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Me and my boyfriend visited this hotel on the 14th of May til the 21st. When we arrived we were given a room with two separate beds so we instantly went down to the reception to try and get this sorted, the receptionist promptly sorted this for us and got us moved into a lovely double room (the brown room that's on the photos)

After arriving in our room and being very impressed by the standard of the room and the cleanliness, we decided to go down for some lunch. There was a large selection to choose from and even my boyfriend who is a very fussy eater was impressed as he could have sausage and chips.

The bar was open from 10am til 11pm serving SLUSH!, soft drinks, a range of hot drinks eg coffee, tea, hot chocolate, beer, wine and the best thing is that these were all serve yourself, so there was no waiting! The only thing you have to wait for is spirits and these were very generous measures too, they would stop pouring when you asked them too. Francisco was very helpful and he was really friendly and made us feel very welcome.

The food at night was really good and the selection of ice cream was very good too, it was also nice to be greeted by the manager every night on the entrance to the restaurant, she was clearly very proud of her staff and the food. One night they had run out of vanilla ice cream and had replaced it with a sorbet one, but when asked the head chef (Francisco I think he was called?) quickly went to replace this for us and he did it in a very friendly way that didn't make it look like it was an effort for him.

The hotel is about a 5 minute walk into Palma Nova, but it is a nice leisurely walk so we walked this numerous times daily, when we wasn't relaxing beside the quite childrens pool.

One little tip would be to do a tour of the hotel and make sure you find all the little surprises that there are, such as the in-door bar which has a great selection of drinks, numerous pool tables, and table football tables. The French seem to get a guided tour but this might be because they book with an holiday company.

Room Tip: The air con is excellent once you've figured it out. Its worth retuning the tv in English so tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emshorrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Emshorrock,

Thank you for choosing Caliu Sea are once again and for taking the time to share your opinion you.

I was very pleased to read you found the food excellent and great bar service, we will give your congratulations to Francisco.

We hope to see you soon, thanks again for your opinion,

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorient, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just back from Ibersol Son Caliu Mar where we spent a week.It was great .New staff, new cook .Don't believe the negatives rewiews, please !!Nice room Blue &white very clean , towels and sheets clean every 3 days, The restaurant is nice too, and the meals are 'appetissants'we had a great time The staff is smilling and does his best 24h..By the way the Mallorca wines are pretty good we much prefer the White one !We walked a lot and if you like peaceful aera that's the one .
Some excursions are really great :Port Sollerwith Train & tram,Valldemossa and Palma of course.We do recommand this hotel .

Room Tip: Ask for the 3rd , top floor nice and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamynova007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion_Ibersol, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Hello Mamynova007,

A rainy day in Mallorca and from the hotel are Caliu Mar. We give!

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel once again and share your thoughts with other travelers.

It gives us all great pleasure to see how much you enjoyed your stay and all the points have been duly noted. We are glad you have been able to meet our beautiful island.

Hoping to welcome you again soon,

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#11 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Palmanova
Globales Palmanova
#14 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar

Property: Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Address: Calle Voranova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing