We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect for what we wanted!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Palmanova
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for what we wanted!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Perfect for what we wanted!... 3 20 something girls looking for relaxing 5 nights away in the sun, near to somewhere fun to go dancing but also far enough to chill out!

Very spacious, clean modern rooms. Large power shower, comfy beds and spacious balcony!

Food was tasty, great variety multicultural food for all tastes... But get there early as it can be cold towards the end of service!

Plenty of drinks... Cheap wine but drinkable.

Huge pool area!... But loud music throughout the day which was a bit annoying!... Especially with a hangover!

Entertainment was all in French but people were very friendly and got us Brits involved!

Nice 10 min stroll to beach!... But could get shuttle bus down for free!

Good location if looking for quiet area within walking distance to restaurants/bars etc!

30min walk to magaluf or €6 in taxi!... Magaluf does what it says on the tin!.. Fun in small doses!!

Palma is beautiful and worth a visit!... €18 in a taxi.

Overall we absolutely loved it!... Definitely recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dizzylizzie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

982 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    403
    214
    91
    75
See reviews for
378
336
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night break with 10 friends celebrating a pal's 50th birthday. I had read previous negative reviews, but as we were travelling as a group of lads - 40-50 yr olds - didn't think there would be a problem. O.K. to the facts about the hotel.
Rooms - newly revamped, very clean, flat screen telly on wall, nice balcony 9 out of 10
Location - quiet spot -10 minute walk to Palma Nova - 5 mins in taxi to Magaluff - 5 minute taxi to the fabulous Portals Nous - literally from the ridiculous to the sublime.
Pool - Excellent, loads of sun beds, poolside bar 10 out of 10
Bar - ice cold spanish lager on tap ! Help yourself, what more do you want ? 10/10
Food - there had to be a downside for the price we paid. not brilliant but plentiful 6/10
Residents - lots of french who were great if you made the effort - germans, scands, etc who laughed at our antics and generally put up with us - no problems at all.
Value for money - can't believe there are so many people in 2012 who don't expect to mix with other nationalities in a Spanish hotel !!!

Room Tip: Top floor facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandB32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have just arrived home after 5 nights in this hotel. I was a bit apprehensive after booking because I read some of the horrendous reviews on trip Advisor. Personally having stayed there I am surprised with all the negative reviews, English refugees??, seriously. Fair enough there are loads of French people in the hotel, and what? There are also Germans, Belgians and I do believe some Russian travellers. I had no issues with any of them. The Club Lookea staff are obviously supplied and paid for by the travel company that brought all the French here.They were all very pleasant and didnt bother me at all, I had no interest in shooting and Ping Pong anyway, we were welcome to join in if we wished. If you want entertainment in English and English reps etc, pay Thomas Cook to take you on holiday. The hotel itself is clean, five minute walk to the beach, free wifi, all you can eat or drink all day. The rooms were fine, ours looking out to the front of the hotel away from the pool, comfortable with TV and the wifi works well enough in the rooms to make a Skype or Viber call home. The food is fine, i can eat most things, neither me or my girlfriend went hungry or had to go to McDonald's for any extra. The staff are excellent, you speak to them and they will speak to you, nothing was too much trouble for any of them. What i really liked was the fact that you could go out to the pool after breakfast and get a couple of sunbeds with no problems. They hadnt been booked with towels at 0700 any morning. The pool itself was spotless. So without typing too much more. If you want a quiet few days away with a perfect hotel then give this one a go, i would have no issues going back again or recommending it to others. If you want a Hotel full of drunken loud english speaking teenagers pick one in Magaluf

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyky134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We feel that it was misrepresented in respect of the all-inclusive package.
1. The food looked OK, but it was cold and you needed to microwave it.
2. The drinks on the all inclusive were even more limited than we were led to believe - no brandy.
We discovered, only by chance, that there were two bars, but they were not open at the same time.
3. The hotel did not give us any information on the facilities and there was no rep to explain whether there was any entertainment or trips that we may have been interested in.
4. The animation team targeted the French guests to the exclusion of all the other nationalities.
5. We do not feel that the sum paid was a true reflection of the value of this holiday.
6. The only saving grace was that the rooms were a lovely size and the hotel was kept very clean.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the pool if you like to hear background music and to see what should be go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 322Peter322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Palmanova hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I write this having just arrived back home from a five day stay here with my girlfriend and only having booked the room the night before we arrived. I'm 34.
I did stay here a fee years ago with my Dad and it was ok. It has recently been renovated, almost throughout, and only opened to the public again about 8 weeks ago so I'm told.
Having read some of the reviews before booking this time, ordinarily I would have booked elsewhere. We were visiting my brother who lives in Palmanova and so this really was going to be somewhere to crash at night... I'm glad I didn't pay attention to them!
YES, the hotel is predominantly French orientated including the entertainment, but the team engaged with us every day. All the staff, mainly Spanish, always said hello to us EVERY DAY because we actively engaged with them too.

The food is very good, plentiful and varied in origin. All day until 10pm. Unlimited alcohol, if that's your thing, and soft drinks all day and all night. A free sauna for all to use, indoor pool when the weather is pants, it rained every day while we were there, spa treatments for a fee and free WiFi throughout the hotel.

The only negative is, at times - mainly preceding announcements by the animacion team, the music was horrifically loud and the lady making the announcement, even louder!

If you want some peace and quiet during the day, you can sunbathe in another area behind the indoor Pool building. Self serve drinks are there too. There is also a small, fenced, play area for small children too.

Im not sure if this is still the case, but it's worth mentioning that this hotel, out of season, used to facilitate rehabilitation programmes for the disabled and other physically impaired and the hotel, its rooms and both pools have been designed with these groups in mind. Both pools also have working chair lifts and there is also a lifeguard on duty all day.

Overall I would say that, for the money, this hotel is worth the risk. Brits will find themselves a minority group here, but clearly they are staying here, just look for
green wristbands. The rooms are of a good standard, clean and well maintained and the food will suit all palates. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solidsound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed 19th-26th Sept 2012. Hotel in good order and rooms were of good proportion, decorated well.
Overall the holiday was not too bad, mainly because my husband and I are fit and could walk to the beach (and other beaches in Palma Nova - by the way its a lovely resort). Food was good but samey. It was predominantly French throughout. The Anamacion Team seemed all to be French, on a few occasions they looked at our arms and when they could see we had green armbands on - that was it - no dialogue - perhaps they could'nt speak English - I would not know, we were ignored pleasantly.
We spent a lot of time at the beach as we found the pool area too loud.
Anyway, we made it a good holiday. I am sad to say the only very bad behaviour were drunken Brits which probably took full advantage of the all inclusive bar because they were bored senseless.
For what we paid I would say it was ok but would never recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth20112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

What lovely clean warm friendly hotel this is , the staff are fantastic , the food is lovely too and our room is spotless and cleaned every day , yes there is a lot of French here but your holiday is what YOU make it and this hotel cannot be faulted for anything .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Petermartin69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
#9 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#11 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
0.9 mi away
Viva Palmanova
Viva Palmanova
#2 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Gabarda
Hotel Gabarda
#7 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Palmanova
Globales Palmanova
#14 of 38 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 38 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar

Property: Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar
Address: Calle Voranova 6, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 311
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibersol Son Caliu Mar Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing