We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spa and great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing spa and great food!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked a last minute half term break at the Son Caliu only 48 hours before our arrival and didn't have much time to research our choice before hand. We were pleasantly surprised with the outcome as the hotel proved to be of a much better standard than we expected.

Some of the furnishings are beginning to look a little tired and our rooms on the 3rd floor (west wing) were a little dated and definitely not one of those newly decorated rooms advertised on the website, but it was immaculately clean and the bed was very comfortable so not a problem at all.

The spa at the hotel was just superb and of a standard that you don't often find in European hotels. The range of treatments, whilst expensive were amazing and I can thoroughly recommend the Abhyangam Massage (hot oil massage) as a special treat. The gym, sauna and steam room areas were well maintained and the staff very helpful. We also took the opportunity to attend two Pilates classes during the week and was very impressed with the standard AND the instructors ability to effortlessly instruct in three different languages to accommodate all the attendees.

We had chosen the half board option and the food was amazing. Both the choices and quality at breakfast and dinner far exceeded our expectations and even though the a la carte choice in the evening didn't always appeal to our 'fussy teenagers' they always had more than enough to choose from on the buffet.

The staff in the dining room, bars and reception were very courteous and helpful at all times and nothing was ever too much trouble.

We stayed at the hotel at the very end of the season and therefore I would guess that the hotel was less than half full. Even so we had a problem finding sunbeds round the pool so If our stay had been during the summer then I think we may have experienced more problems with sunbeds/space round the pool and/or space on the beach which is actually very small. As the beach is also a public beach, I would imagine that it gets very crowded during the warmer months.

These were the only minor negatives during our stay and really didn't spoil the experience for us. We would happily visit again and recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly decorated/renovated rooms. The older rooms in the west wing are quite dated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ButcherFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    297
    100
    42
    27
See reviews for
181
351
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of October/start of November, booking a late deal to Majorca. On arrival we were a little concerned as the hotel looked from the street a little tired and in need of a face lift.

It's a different story inside the hotel thankfully, with all the public areas within the hotel very well presented, it's one of the cleanest and well maintained hotels I have stayed in.

We came at the end of season the week before the hotel was due to close, and as such it was very quiet, we were lucky enough to be upgraded to a superior double (room 564) this room had by the looks of it been recently refurbished and was really comfortable and immaculately clean with a good view from the 5th floor balcony.

The breakfast was reasonable and we also had lunch a couple of times in the hotel which on both occasions it was decent enough.

The hotel is situated 5-10 mins from the main Palma Nova beach/promenade, there was quite a few good places to eat but the closer you get towards Magaluf the tackier it gets, wasn't overly impressed with Palma Nova as a resort, but it's only 15 mins from Palma which is a great city.

The pool area was really nice although quite small for the size of the hotel which I would imagine could be a problem to get a sun-lounger in height of the season, that said there is a private beach with further sun-loungers at the rear, with a jetty and ladders into the sea. We enjoyed having a drink in the Bamboo Bar which is a British run bar which is tucked away in the corner of the private beach, cracking cocktails.

The spa and indoor pool is nice and handy as we had one day which was a wash out with thunderstorms, although the treatments were overpriced.

All in all nice stay.

Room Tip: We where room 564 on the 5th floor which is refurbished, and also had a partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, good spa, (if you like walking through reception in a gown) good breakfast. No tea/coffee in room. Overall pretty good. Lovely little beach, and outdoor pool. A few little bars and restaurants nearby but somewhat tacky. Puerto Portal nearby, and that's a big WOW!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Tim M,

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing your opinion about our hotel, it is very important for us as it help us to improve every day.
We would like to clarify that we close on low season because we take the chance to refurbish our rooms in order to improve the facilities we provide to our guests.
We hope that we have managed to solve your doubt and to get the opportunity to welcome you again at Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis!

Kind regards,
Andreea Filote,E-commerce Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the hotel at the end of October til nov 1st arrived back today. Well what can I say, good hotel, excellent staff, we took my dad and when we arrived they placed him in another part of the hotel, we went back to reception and asked for him to be moved, no hassles moved him right next door to us beside the pool... Our daughter who is 4 used the kids club everyday which was run by two great women Olivia and veroniwka... Done great job keeping the kids entertained everyday and worked very hard, give them girls a pay rise!! There worth there weight in gold. Now the one small niggle... Food was excellent plenty of choice and well prepared only problem was at evening meal it got very busy, now we went in October so the evenings were a bit chilly so people moved inside earlier so it got really busy and people were queuing out the door. When you have children this starts to get stressful for everyone... Suggestions would be for the first hour let families with young children eat first.
The pool was cold but it was October so no complaint there really. All in all it's a good hotel, room good, food was good and staff excellent, no major complaints, well worth the money ,would recommend this hotel to my friends but would warn them ' be prepared to eat out in the evening'!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seannoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Seannoi,

Thank you very much for your kind comments about the hotel and our staff. We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed a nice days in our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis. We hope to see you soon again in our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact with us directly, will be a pleasure for us to offer you a competitive rate for your next visit.

Kindest regards,
Andreea Filote, E-commerce Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Rude staff on arrival, room was not ready and was given not before 14 hours, unhelpful and with had maners. We were given a small room for three of us, had to jump to reach the balcony. Food not warm enought..We could not sleep any night ,allways disturb by groups of drunkers banging doors at late hours. This was anything else than a relaxing holiday. This is not a four stars hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Andrew F,

Thank you for publishing your opinion about our hotel in Tripadvisor.
We are sorry to hear that the stay in our hotel has not solved your expectations. We always work really hard to deliver the best service to our guests, and we appreciate of feedback that allows us to become better.
Since your stay, we have looked into fixing this inconvenience and we would love to have the chance to show you our improvements. Please contact us directly, and we´ll do our best to make you enjoy a wonderful holidays.

Kind regards,
Andreea Filote,E-commerce Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a cheap 3 day break and as they say you get what you pay for. Whilst there was plenty of food choice the quality and presentation was poor. Staff ,both at reception and in the restaurant, were very unhelpful and looked miserable. The beds were very hard, 4 adults to our room, and two of us slept on the sofa bed which was very uncomfortable. Better suited for children maybe.However the hotel's location was ideal being only 10 minutes walk from the lovely beach and bars and restaurants. Having said that it was my daughter's hen doo and despite the irritations we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Palma Nova and would recommend the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Veronica ,

We would like to thank you for taking time and sharing your opinion in Tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays and we feel sorry for the impression our staff caused to you.Your opinion is very important for us to make us improve our service quality and we assure you that we will sort out the problem. Please do not hesitate to contact with us to get the best available rate.
Kind regards,

Andreea Filote, E-commerce Hotel Son Caliu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire,scotland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Once you have found this Oasis In The Sun you will be spoiled for any other hotel. Rooms beautiful, food glorious and staff clearly like working there as they all have smiles on offer to all guests at all times. Nothing is too much bother. Entertainment really good, very original. When you walk into the entrance of the hotel you take yourself into another world and realize you deserved this type of treatment all of your life. The spa is out of this world and ladies you will enjoy the luxury on offer - gents too of course. Plenty of books in the library if you forget to take one with you. The beach is amazing, so private. Mercado supermarket 2minutes away as is restaurants and check the ones in the streets around you. Buses great and regular. Felt really safe and relaxed. I do hope after this review that there will be spare rooms for my husband and i to stay again as we intend to be regular guests from now on. Agnes and Andy Steven (Scotland).

Room Tip: Our room was on second floor and beautiful with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnes677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Agness 677,

First of all we would like to thank you for such an important words concerning you stay in our hotel.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed with us and the surroundings had suprised you.We would like to let you know that you can always contact with us in order to get the best rate and offer depending on the season.
We hope to see you back soon!

Andreea Filote
E-commerce Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,204 reviews
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.9 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
1,356 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#13 of 39 in Palmanova
482 reviews
1.0 mi away
Intertur Palmanova Bay
Intertur Palmanova Bay
#12 of 39 in Palmanova
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis

Property: Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Address: Avenida Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis 1*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, located between Puerto Portals and Palmanova, was inaugurated in 1964 and is one of the most emblematic hotels of the Son Caliu area. We are currently undergoing a full renovation, planned in two phases: the first one, during the winter 2015/2016 season and the second one during the winter of 2016/2017. Our main virtue are the facilities, commodities and friendly service we all strive to offer our guests to ensure that they enjoy a pleasant, relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing