We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Palmanova
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at the Son Caliu for a short break at the end of July 2013 and we really enjoyed it. When we arrived we were show straight to our room and didn't have to wait around. The room was nice and clean, if a little dated in terms of décor. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and very helpful.

Breakfast was included in our rate and we were spoilt for choice! The huge buffet had everything you could possibly want, all of which was fresh. The buffet was frequently replenished and there was a chef cooking hot breakfasts at the back of the room to order. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel so I can't comment on the rest of the food but I'd highly recommend the breakfast.

The pool area is very nice as is the terrace bar. We never had any problems getting sun loungers throughout the day and beach towels are provided for guests. The hotel also has its own little beach, however the sea bed there is quite rocky and the water is very shallow. But real beach at Palma Nova is just a 5 minute walk away so it's not really a problem.

The hotel also has an indoor spa and pool which is really gorgeous. We didn't spend much time there as we came for the sun but it really did look lovely.

The hotel is well situated, close to the beach and restaurants of Palma Nova. Magaluf is a 20-30 minute walk if you keep going which is perfect really - it's far enough that the hotel is still peaceful but it's near enough if you fancy a big night out.

I would have given this hotel 5/5 if the rooms were a little more modern. All they need is white bedding and curtains, and this hotel would be perfect. That said, I'd still recommend it to all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Lauren C,

It is wonderful to know that your stay with us was up to your expectations and that you found our staff very friendly and helpful.

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our hotel and facilities, and we are so happy to know that are glad with our food.

Once again, many thanks for your comments and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.

Best regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    286
    95
    41
    26
See reviews for
167
322
47
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Cannot believe it is so close to palma nova and Magaluf, it is so quiet and relaxing.
The hotel is lovely great food and very clean will return to this hotel.
Clean towels every day and bedding changed after 2 days, staff friendly and helpful

Room Tip: If you want a quiet holiday and perhaps a night out on the town this hotel is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 130201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear 130201,

Many thanks for taking time to write your opinion about our hotel and we are grateful for your kind comments about our hotel, staff and our facilities.

We very much enjoyed taking care of you and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I spent 5 days at the hotel at the beginning of July and loved it!

My room was on the fifth (top floor) with a great shower, nice toiletries, welcome basket of fruit and a local bottle of sherry when I arrived. The staff were all really friendly, the hotel was spotless; beautiful ornate fixtures and fittings; lots of areas with sofas for some quiet reading, it really was a home from home so you didnt have to stay up in your room.

I went down to the spa every day - one of the highlights of my holiday and a reason I chose this hotel, and I wasnt disappointed: nice sized in door swim pool, hot sauna, relaxing gardens that I made a beeline for every morning as not many people seemed to use them and you could always grab a sunlounger, freshly made tea and basket of fruit on hand; again really friendly staff. I had a couple of treatments and found them to be very good quality and service.

Across from the hotel there is a gym / pilates studio, and hotel guests are allowed 2 x pilates classes a week free. So that was a great bonus. The hotel also puts on other classes every day in their own gym. So it really

Lots of choice for breakfast each morning and was a great start to the day, eating outside and taking your time. It did seem to get busier as the morning went on but I went about 8am and it was nice and quiet then, where you could sit out under one of the parasols and enjoy a relaxing breakfast.

In terms of location, it was much quicker than I was expecting to walk into Palma Nova.
There are some steps from the back of the hotel that you take and then its about a five minute walk down the road and then road the corner.

The nightlife is very quiet in the area and I would say the choice of restaurants in the area is pretty limited. The best restaurant I found was literally next door to the hotel, on the beach. No frills and not great service to be honest but good authentic food and decent price.

You can walk around the corner to Palma Nova and there you have lots of restaurants and the closer you get to Maguluf the busier it gets.

There is a large supermarket up the road from the hotel across the main road. The bus stops are here too and I was actually very impressed with the service and frequency of the buses. The buses run up to Palma and also down along the coast. And very cheap a couple of euros for the journey.

A couple of things that although not an issue for me, may be for some others:

The outdoor pool is pretty small and there is not a huge area for sunbathing. Most of the sunloungers seemed to be taken earlier on. The private beach is also very small and not many sunloungers. So for me, I either sunbathed in the gardens at the back of the hotel,or walked to the main beach at Palma nova - which by the way is so much nicer than I was expecting!! Extremely clean beach, beautifully clear blue sea and lots of sunloungers available.

Also the nightlife at the hotel was pretty dire - and no atmosphere as clearly the other hotel guests concluded the same so went elsewhere at night.

All in all, a great hotel for a relaxing break!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear mwalker2008,

Many thanks for sharing your opinion and for your lovely comments about our staff.Is a pleasure for us to hear that you had a comfortable stay in our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.We would be very glad to welcome you again in our hotel and will be a pleasure for us to offer you a competitive rate for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very clean and beatiful hotel. The hotel was fully booked which led to a crowdy pool area as well as a very crowdy small beach area, so you had to reserve your sunbeds, which I hate. The two small restaurants on the beach just beside the hotel were both nice (and cheap!). A small skate park opposite the hotel was a nice surprise for my 15 year old son.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jikolp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear jikolp11,

Thank you very much for spending a few minutes of your time in writing your opinion about Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited with friends for a short break to celebrate a 50th birthday. We had newly refurbished rooms, which are very well finished - a contemporary feel, modern light and airy with balcony and partial see view.

There is a lovely spa, with indoor pool, Jacuzzi, steam rooms and sauna. If your thinking of treatments, best to book in advance although some are available on the day.

The dining area leads out into an open covered terrace, and there are plenty of staff so your not left waiting for service - food is self service, and there is a good selection all freshly prepared.

The pool is smaller than you'd expect, but there is an area for families - we preferred to use the small beach which is attached to the hotel. Sun loungers and towels are included, you get a towel card on arrival.

One note, if your arriving early you'll have to wait to check in. We had breakfast on the terrace while we waited, and for an hours delay it was worthy the wait. This is a really good hotel, only 20 mins from the airport. It's a short stroll to the main Palma Nova strip and beach, but out of the way enough so little noise in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tom463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear tom463,

Many thanks for writing your opinion about our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis on Tripadvisor.

It makes me happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and I am delighted to read that you liked our updated rooms.

Once again, thank you for your kind words and we hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

As a couple we were looking for inexpensive quality to get away from the strains of our professional working lives and found it in this hotel. With the free sauna, steam rooms and pool in the spa we were able to feel the cogs slow to a more relaxed pace. We visited in the first week of July prior to the school holidays in England as our kids are now grown up and this meant a lot of space at the hotel to chill out. The outdoor pool and the adjacent beach gave a great contrast, allowing choice of absorbing the rays of the wonderful sun on one of their loungers or cooling down in the spa and pool.
The buses are very frequent for local travel and allowed us to visit some nearby towns and view some from the bus we did not want to visit. Son Caliu is far enough away from those Brits abroad places to enjoy some Spanish culture. We also visited some of the more expensive areas to gawp at the many beautifully opulent ships in the marinas, such as those in Portals Nous. For a last meal we decided to 'push the boat out' and have a meal at one of the restaurants here. The prices of meals advertised outside of the restaurant were reasonable but be careful of the wine list if your purse is not full.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear David P,

Thank you very much for taking time to write your opinion about our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis.
It is a real pleasure to hear that you appreciate our hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel.
Please do not hesitate to contact with us for your next visit, we will do our best to offer you a competitive rate.

Best regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our holiday at this hotel was just perfect from start to finish. We arrived before 10am and our rooms weren't ready (understandable) so the friendly man on reception invited us to have breakfast while we waited.

The breakfast was lovely, plenty of fresh fruit, cereals, juices, pastries,yoghurts and cooked items. Every morning there was champagne available too!!

The evening meal was a good standard too with plenty of starters, soups, salads, vegetables, fish and meat were cooked in front of you too. You could choose your own food from the buffet or you could order a meal to be brought to your table... A nice touch, I thought.

The spa was fantastic and the indoor pool was like having a private pool as there weren't many people using it when we were there. The sauna and steam rooms were lovely too.

There were lots of places to sit and relax inside the hotel and whatever time of the day you went to the pool there were plenty of sun beds available.

Our rooms had not been refurbished but were still very comfortable. Both rooms had a spacious terrace/balcony with two sunbeds so you could sunbathe there if you didn't want to go to the pool.

A big plus was that you don't need to take beach towels to this hotel as you get a card on check in and this entitles you to hire a towel. You can change your towel as often as you want during your stay too.

If you want to go to Palma Nova it is in walking distance (about 10 minutes) and to get to Magaluf only costs 5 Euros.

We would definitely return ... We might even take our husbands next time!!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms on the 1st floor that hadn't been refurbished but were still of a comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JustyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SonCaliu, E-commerce at Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear JustyLB,

Many thanks for your kind comments. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay at our Son Caliu Hotel Spa Oasis. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to get the best available rate for your next visit.

Kind regards,

Juan Font
E-commerce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palmanova hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#2 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
1.0 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ponent Mar
Ponent Mar
#14 of 39 in Palmanova
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Zafiro Palmanova
Zafiro Palmanova
#6 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sol Palmanova All Inclusive
0.9 mi away
Hotel Son Matias Beach
Hotel Son Matias Beach
#1 of 39 in Palmanova
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis

Property: Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis
Address: Avenida Caliu 8 | Son Caliu, 07181 Palmanova, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Palmanova
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Palmanova
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palmanova
#10 Family Hotel in Palmanova
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis 1*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis, located between Puerto Portals and Palmanova, was inaugurated in 1964 and is one of the most emblematic hotels of the Son Caliu area. We are currently undergoing a full renovation, planned in two phases: the first one, during the winter 2015/2016 season and the second one during the winter of 2016/2017. Our main virtue are the facilities, commodities and friendly service we all strive to offer our guests to ensure that they enjoy a pleasant, relaxed stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Son Caliu Hotel Oasis
Son Caliu Palma Nova
Hotel Son Caliu Spa Oasis Palmanova, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing