We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and local specialities” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meson Son Caliu

Meson Son Caliu
Ranked #51 of 137 Restaurants in Palmanova
Price range: $16 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good food and local specialities”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

It was such a relief to find this restaurant serving good food and local specialities close to an area full of low quality food places. It is not centrally situated and away from the crowds and noise of Magaluf Beach - thanks God for that! Suggest you take a taxi to go there although we walked to the place and managed to find it after asking locals in Palma Nova.The place was recommended by a local taxi driver and was well worth it. The local bread produced inhouse, the pata negra ham and the suckling pig are a must. Service is also good. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    72
    21
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a bit off the beaten track but is worth a visit. I arrived as a solo diner and was made to feel very welcome.
The leg of lamb was recommended and was great, the only downside was that the vegetables were cold which leads me to think they were not freshly prepared, and maybe had been standing for a while. Don't be put off by this give it a go, it's a great location and a welcome respite from the usual Palma Nova fare.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Junglelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you go to Majorca you must try this restaurant. Three course lunch (with choices and good size portions) with bread olives water and wine just under 10 euros each. Food staff and surroundings were faultless. Evening meals equally as good the Suckling Pig is a must.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLYMOUTH
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“authentic local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Do not miss this place, it's amazing. Proper local authentic menu, full of locals and exactly the place to eat when abroad. Not in resort itself but head for the main road at the back of the resort, luckily it was close to our accommodation. An undiscovered treasure which we are looking forward to visiting again in a couple of weeks! If you want authentic Mallorquian food look no further

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JACMAR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Maybe the Best Spanish Food You'll eat In Majorca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We make a point of going to the Meson Son Caliu every time we go to Majorca. They have an extensive menu of mainly Spanish food and everything we have had has been excellent quality and cooked perfectly. Last time we visited (last Monday) we had Pimientos Padron and Prawns Pil Pil to start. We shared them and both were beautiful. My wife then had the suckling pig and I had the lamb chops with garlic. The chops were lovely, really meaty and tasty but the suckling pig was sublime; incredibly tender, moist and flavoursome with crispy slightly charred wafer thin crackling, worth the trip to Majorca for that alone. We had some water and I had a large whisky to finish and the total bill came to 50 something Euros, a steal for the quality of the food. The staff, as ever were very welcoming and professional. If you are staying in the North of part of Palma Nova towards Son Caliu it’s about a 10 minute walk if you are further out towards Magaluf it’s a short (5 minute) taxi ride.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank glasgowcouple1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson Son Caliu also viewed

Son Caliu, Calvia
Palmanova, Calvia
 

Been to Meson Son Caliu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing