We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finca Hotel Son Palou
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orient
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Finca is located in beautiful mountains. Arriving to the finca from the village Alaro, the road is fine. Very quiet surroundings with possibility for good hikes. Beautifully restored house in old style, with homely decoration and atmosphere. Manager Marc Colom has got everything under control with a nice humour. Also the staff was very service minded. The restaurant served excellent food, including gourmet vegetarian dishes. The room was big and comfortable. All our stay was an exceptional good experience, and we would like to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Arne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 1,073 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had a very nice room, not on the main house. Bed was very comfortable, very nice bathroom with generous space. Our terrace faced the north, while others are facing south or West. From October better to take into account. But there are also other common terraces, very nice as well. The restaurant offers very great quality of food. The wine offer is nice. The diner menu costs 34 EUR extra and is excellent. Unfortunately we are obliged to take it for the whole stay, which was at then end too much. For our stay of 7 nights, our child (12 years old) was free, which is quite rare. Difficult to find negative criticism. Only the pool could be heated. Also the road to access the village is very narrow and dangerous, but the traffic is minor.
This hotel is perfect for people willing to find a quiet location, not at the beach.

Room Tip: As they are rooms in the main house and also in the annex, better to specify what we want. A private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Even though we only stayed for one night we still received a most welcoming reception. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The grounds were so pretty. Sleep was super on a big, comfy bed. Breakfast was one of the best I've had at a hotel in this price bracket. There is a reason why so many people WANT to review this place. Keep up the good work guys!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank OnTheRoad045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our second stay at Son Palou more than justified our return. The ideal spot to rewind: a truly tranquil setting with glorious views, comfortable & elegantly furnished rooms, excellent helpful yet unobtrusive service, beautifully prepared food with splendid local wine on the list - despite there being other restaurants in Orient we were not tempted to "eat out". Being keen walkers we were pleased to note that signage of some of the tracks has been significantly improved since 2008; Marc's recommendation of some of the high level walks were helpful although unfortunately we did not have the technology to avail ourselves of his "EveryTrail" guidance, relying instead on maps. Definitely advise hiring a car; the Bunyola route is exciting but can be avoided by using Alarro.
Any quibbles? Hot water in the bathroom was slow in coming early in our stay but this was soon rectified. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We particularly like suites in the separate annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Marc, just an observation, you don't need to respond to every reviewer that makes even a small criticism, in such a defensive way. You have a superb hotel in a breathtaking setting and 97% of reviews rate your hotel at 4/5. Naturally, when people see how highly your hotel is rated they have very high expectations and in the vast majority of case you either live up to or even exceed your guests expectations.

We (my partner and 16 year old daughter) stayed with you from 12 - 17 August and loved every minute of our stay. The tranquility, stunning scenery and beautiful room helped us to unwind from the stress of GCSE exams, work and the drive from Palma - it is a beautiful drive via Bunyola but a little bit hairy.

Breakfasts were delicious, with a wide choice of meats, fruit, cheeses, cereals and fresh orange. We had dinner on a couple of nights and the food was wonderfully cooked and presented, with a lovely atmosphere on the terrace.

I'd highly recommend this hotel - bring some books/Kindle, an Ipod and your walking boots and empty your mind of thoughts of work and home.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank djslippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just spent 6 days at the Son Palou and a more tranquil place I cannot imagine. All the staff were professional, friendly and helpful. Always there if you needed them but in the back ground when we needed our own space. In our haste to stay for as long as possible I forgot to pick up my phone on the way to the airport !! One call from the departure lounge and all was sorted out. They went to my room, found my phone, and posted it back to the UK. Service second to none. Would recommend a trip to Palma to visit the cathedral. We went by train from Santa Maria 3 trains per hour for 4.20 Euros return. Free parking near train station with no hassle. Can not wait to return next year. Thank you for this special place

Room Tip: Room 9 has a lovely double bed, large comfy sofa and a vast ensuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Finca Son Palou from 5th -12th Oct 2012. Weather was glorious, sunny and temperatures 25 - 28 C.
The hotel really is as good as it shows on the website. Very well designed gardens give great views over the valley and there is a good pool for swimming. The bedrooms are beautifully appointed, and have wi-fi as well as the usual mod-cons of flat screen tv, coffee etc. Not that we needed the TV. The place has 100 ha of land to go walking plus there are well signposted walks from the village.
The whole place is tranquil and peaceful and perfectly restful.
The main hotel rooms are just as well appointed and very welcoming as are the staff, the Daily Telegraph was even provided each day !
Food is very important to us and it did not disappoint. Breakfast is a buffet with eggs etc cooked to order. Good selection of breads, cheese, cereals, preserves, fruit etc + good coffee meant you were not left wanting. The evening meals were also very good, providing a good balanced selection with a 'special' each night, all were cooked and presented to a very high standard. Obviously a good chef in the kitchen.
As a birdwatcher I found fewer 'small' birds than expected but saw all the expected raptors - Vultures, Booted Eagle plus others. Should be even better in the spring !
We would have no doubts about recommending the place if you want high quality of place, food and environment.
Downsides - non that we found. You obviously need a car and it's no good if you want nightlife.

Room Tip: We had an outside room but also viewed one in the main building that was just as nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orient
5.8 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
889 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
466 reviews
21 mi away
Hotel Can Mostatxins
Hotel Can Mostatxins
#1 of 57 in Alcudia
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#1 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
861 reviews
3.2 mi away
Finca Ca's Sant
Finca Ca's Sant
#8 of 37 in Soller
234 reviews
12.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Hotel Son Palou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Hotel Son Palou

Address: Plaza Iglesia Orient s/n, 07349 Orient, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Orient
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Orient
Price Range: $181 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finca Hotel Son Palou 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2001, the estate of Son Palou is pleased to offer all the comforts of rural hotels accredited with the latest technology,preserving the character of rural architecture typical of the Majorcan mountain farm, where charm and tradition come together in recapturing the essence of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finca Hotel Son Palou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finca Hotel Orient
Finca Hotel Son Palou Orient, Majorca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing