We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Atrocious”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of HM Martinique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HM Martinique
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Atrocious”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I'm used to staying in cheaper hotels for the experience, but this place was absolutely awful especially for the amount of money we paid to stay there.

Whoever gave this hell hole a good review obviously parties hard and doesn't care about the quality of their living place. The beds are nasty and one of my friends found a bandage on her sheets before she had to dress her bed. The walls were paper thin, so you could here every lad in next door talking, yelling, and blaring music until 8 in the morning. The shower leaked all onto the floor, leaving the bathroom damp and disgusting and the toilet only flushed on occasion. The maids would bang on our door or just barge right in at 9 a.m while we were still asleep every few days to give us new towels and new sheets, but they do not clean your rooms. To make matters worse, our air conditioning didn't work at all forcing us to sleep outside on our porch until the morning when all of the hardcore drinkers would come home totally pissed and really loud, waking us up. Our room was extremely easy to break into by the ways our balconies were set up, and one time we came home to a group of guys sitting on our porch smoking marijuana. All I have to say is that I am happy that we spent the 21 extra euros to rent the safe that should have been included...

For what you pay for, you do not get your money's worth at all. No one in our group was expecting anything great or fancy by any means, but none of the basic appliances that the room comes with didn't even function. I have never been so happy to leave a place in my entire life and I will tell everyone I know not to go there because it was the worst experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frecklez101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    410
    230
    135
    219
See reviews for
133
147
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
n ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and i had to stay here for one night as our hotel room had a water problem,
I felt so intimidated by the group of drunken guys in a neighbouring apartment i could have cried when they hurled abuse at me sitting on my balcony.
The food was the worst we have ever tasted and it was cold I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. One night was enough!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allensNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Magaluf hotels

sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

on just arriving back from this hotel yesterday after spending 3 nights with a hen party of 6 girls i felt i had to write this review to warn others. on arrival at the hotel we were greeted by a lovely big open well maintained reception area and a helpful member of staff .... unfortunatly this is where the positives stop !!. on entering our room we found the air conditioning did not work, holes in the bathroom walls, the roof tiles in the bathroom pushed through, the door stuck tight every time we tried to open it, the shower leaked all over the floor when in use, we had a table on the balcony but no chairs, the bedding was damp, the sofas in the living area (that also doubled as the second and third beds) were damp and stank!!! after venturing down to the pool which i have to say was a very nice pool with plenty of sunloungers and was kept reasonably clean, we found that the all inclusive option which we had did not extend to the pool bar. therefore every time we wanted a drink we had to make sure we were dried off before we was allowed to go into the main bar area where we could only get one drink at a time. snacktime consisted of a platter of ham , salami and cheese and some (very) crusty/hard bread rolls!! there were burgers and toasties ect available at the pool bar at an extra cost. main meals were the same things every lunch and dinner times with a slight variation on the pasta sauces. i feel we did not get value for money as we ate out a couple of times just to have a change for our meals. entertainment ... = NIL. some staff were pleasent enough .... others were just rude !!!! security guard was a man totally above his self who thought it was acceptable to go around beating people up and telling people to leave as he saw fit. i do appreciate the job must be a hard one as this hotel is full of young people but he could deal with situations a lot better. as for a decent nights sleep you have no chance!! in 4 days we got about 12 hours rest ( not actual sleep) as there are people running round the hotel corridoors, banging on every ones doors and patios at all times of the morning. make sure your door is locked at all times as our friends had some lads just walk straight in !!! alll in all i can say i will not be visiting here again any time soon !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scary75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2010

After booking my holiday I read loads of reviews saying how bad the HM Martinique was and that the security was terrible and the doorman was aggressive and was actually fearing for the worst. I was in a group of 8 girls all aged 18, and actually found the hotel to be pretty decent. None of us are that rowdy and I personally like to sleep, and I didn't think it was that bad because it was set further away from the strip. I slept fine every night but one, when I was woken up by some men shouting 'Oggy oggy oggy, oy oy oy' across the balconies to each other and I heard a smashing which was quite worrying, but like I said that was only one night out of the ten.
The ratio of men to women was about 9:1, the pool was literally SURROUNDED by men covered in tattoos, but it didn't really make a difference because they were all civil :)
The staff were okay, although our room keys (cards) kept deactivating and when one person out of my room went to reception to try and get it fixed they said the booking didn't exist and they shouldn't be in that room, which worried us a bit seeing as it had been booked for 6 months in advance.
The maids were average, changed towels and sheets about three times a week although didn't do a thorough job and didn't actually seem to clean anything at all. It was just a good job that we were clean enough in our room to do it ourselves.
I can't say anything about the food because we were self catering and bought our food from the supermarket which is literally underneath the hotel outside reception, although our kitchen was quite handy and pretty modern.
Overall, the hotel has a nice appearance and all of the rooms look great since they have been refurbished. Ignore reviews which say the balcony doors don't lock, because they do. The location was pretty good, about 5 minutes walk away from the beach, and security is fine as long as you hire a safe, which was 32Euros.
I would definitely not recommend this hotel to families with children or couples, but groups similar to ours who are younger or are on holiday for a stag or hen do. Basically, if you go to Magaluf, this should be what you expect!
Oh, and it was a lot nicer than Sol Y Vera Apartments which another group of our friends stayed in, their lift was a nightmare :(

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We travelled in a group of 23 lads on a stag do, most of the people had been before and assured me it wasnt as bad as made out and they were right in all honesty.
The rooms were clean and fairly modern, air con slightly tempremental but other than that, fine. We did get a safe and none of us experienced having anything nicked or heard of anything either.
The pools pretty big but quite dear at the poolside bar and since its about a 20:1 male to female ratio, not worth the expense.
Its also quite a walk to the strip but plenty of bars in between to break the walk up, the walk home however is a dodge the prostitute mission, they dont seem to understand the word no.
As for the security guard, hes not as bad as made out either, we're no saints but he didnt bother us at all from what I can remember.
All in all, its what you'd hope for if you were going with a group of mates, just be sensible with getting a safe and with the security guard etc and you'll find its all you need from a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leaflicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

First to say - NO robbings (at all). No break ins. Some knocking on the doors in the early hours of the morning. This is NOT a place to stay with your family.

Finished our A levels and went out with a group of about 40 lads (madness), although most of the time we were only in groups of 12 or so. We were going on a mad one and Magaluf seemed like a great place to go. We had been to Zante the year before and stayed in Paradise apartments and were expecting the same kind of thing as we'd booked with thomas cook and asked for the same holiday ish..

The Martinique is a big hotel - 400 or so rooms all of 4 so it's always pretty busy wherever you go, being 18 we were the youngest group out there the majority of people are from up North and 20-30. Most people are friendly, we had no trouble with anyone in the hotel. The security guard was a bit unfair at points, he was a very aggressive man but as long as you kept your cool there wouldn't be a fight.

The rooms were large and spacious 4 beds in a room although two of them look like sofas but they are comfy enough and the rooms are clean. Large kitchenette and a good shower - nothing to complain about rooms wise.

There were crazy fines for any breakages, it was 100 euros if you broke a plastic garden chair and 30 euros a glass etc but they had a list so if it broke it was bad news! Thankfully nothing got broken.

We tended to go out about 12 and come back about 6 or 7 and we would be the only ones up at that time and if you were loud the security guy would come in and yell like crazy so generally the hotel wa pretty quiet after about 10 or 11 but most people were out on the pull by then anyway, we all just went for a binge.

The hotel is full of young people as I said before and there is plenty of nakedness and swearing, definitely not suitable for families.

Before we went we had read loads of reviews about being robbed and a mental security gaurd (almost true) and loads of fighting etc etc. This wasn't the case it was absoloutely fine the doors are really secure just remember to lock the patio. Free aircon extra room keys for a euro.

It was expensive to eat or drink in the hotel but there was a shop literally out front which sold beers for 50 cents or so or a litre of shcnapps for 6 euros. Everything was relatively cheap but not as cheap as Greece. Don't do anything the reps say they rip you off completely literally EVERYTHING is cheaper to do yourself. The deals in the bars are generally rubbish so it's better to just have pre-drinks and go to the bars off the strip where you'll be able to haggle for a pint a euro, or 1.50.

All in all we had a great time - no trouble out there but the hookers get a bit annoying. For a large group of southerners we had no trouble (makes a change!). The maids didn't go a great job but to be honest can't really blame them - our room was horrendous!

Nice hotel - big pool (all guys though, hardly any girls). The staff were okay but if you spoke Spanish they were 100 times more helpful, that counts for anywhere in Magaluf.

Have a great holiday and if you are a group of any size - you will love it there! (Just don't break things or that fat security gaurd will chase you and shout DONT PLAY WITH ME, which is hilarious but also terrifying)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charlie_major
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st helens
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2010

This Hotel Was Great
People Below Who Have Complained Obviously Thought The Martinique Was meant to be A 5* Ritz hotel , However Not Far Off !!
The Rooms Were Up To Date With Ikea Bedding
Maids Came Every other day And Left Us A boat load of towels .. If u didnt want her to clean your room that was fine she would return the next day ..
Balconys Great Size
Rooms Great Size And clean
Hotel Full Of Young friendly people
i didnt eat here as was self catering however lived in tom browns !!
Enjoyyyyy =)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstiejane_91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#4 of 27 in Magaluf
1,975 reviews
0.4 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 27 in Magaluf
2,159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.8 mi away
Sotavento Apartments
Sotavento Apartments
#1 of 27 in Magaluf
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Martinique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Martinique

Property: HM Martinique
Address: Tirso de Molina 1, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HM Martinique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HM Martinique is a popular All Inclusive aparthotel in the vibrant resort of Magaluf. Situated in an excellent location just minutes from the fabulous Magaluf beach and very close to all the exciting attractions that Magalluf has to offer! An ideal choice for an unforgettable holiday in Mallorca. At the hotel HM Martinique, we offer a wide range of services and activities which means that you can spend the day by the pool, swimming, sunbathing and taking part in as little or as many of the activities as you wish, and when you get thirsty why not enjoy a cool drink from our pool bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HM Martinique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hm Martinique Magalluf
Hm Martinique Hotel Magalluf
Martinique Magaluf
HM Martinique Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing