We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun time place for groups of all ages not just 18 - 30.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sotavento Apartments
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2009

Just come back from a lads trip staying at the Sotavento. After reading the mixed reports I did not know what to expect, but I am pleased to say this is a great hotel with everything you need. Admitedly it is not for families, but if you are a group, male or female and of any age (we were 37 - 42 yrs) book Sotavento. It's fun, lively and friendly. THe hill is a bit of a killer though :-)

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaximusWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 860 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2008

The holiday was really good apart from us getting our room broken into due to the very bad security in the room and the hotel. there was no CCTV and no lock on our balcony door bearing in mind we had a ground floor apartment! The reps and hotel staff were not helpful at all. Despite this, the rooms were clean and ideal for a group of young girls. We we very close the the bars and clubs and we got used to the hill every night! WE wouldn't personally go back to Sotavento Apartments again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank pennine100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Stayed at the Sotovento 8th - 12th Sept, The hotel is really good value for money, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the bar and reception areas are decorated really trendy.. Our room had a sea/pool view, and was also decorated very nice. The hotel is a twentys hotel but there was a mixed age group when we stayed, and all well behaved. The only annoying thing was the music they pumped out all day long.. you'll be sick of it at the end of your stay.
The hotel is right at the top of the biggest hill in Magalluf, but hey we had some laughs climbing up it in the early hours, and its in a really good spot the bottom of the hill brings you right onto the strip.
The food/drink prices at the hotel were not too expensive, and there is a little supermarket next door which sell's more or less everything.
All in all this hotel is great value for money, have stayed in many hotels in Magalluf but this one was by far the best value for money and we will definately be returning next year.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank lovestosunMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Just got back from a lads week in Magaluf, and we thought it was spot on as far as our yearly holidays go. When we arrived however, the problems with the staff began...we checked in at 5am and immediately we were asked to pay an 80euro deposit for each room, now normally I don't have a problem with damage deposits for rooms especially for a typically 18-30's hotel, but it would have been handy to have been warned about it beforehand, but it wasn't stated anywhere in the brochure, tickets or by a rep on the shuttle transfer.
The next problem we had, was our room key cards, one of the lads went back upto the apartment to pass out after a few beers, but took all the room keys with him in the bag, and when we got locked out we asked reception to let us back in, and the guy on the desk kept talking to us like we were idiots 'you all have one room card each' which we would reply 'we know, but they are all locked in the room, can you help us out? you must have a spare'...'no, I can't help you, it is your fault you are locked out'...after about 10 mins we eventually got the [--] to let us in.
As for the cleaning staff...apparantly, seeing as there are no 'do not disturb' signs available, 1 violent knock and about 2 seconds waiting is acceptable before bursting in on 4 hungover lads and one scared lass (needless to say we never saw again lol).
The last of our problems came the night before we left, because our flight was 5am on Sunday morning, we didn't have the room saturday night so had to check out by midday, a bit of a hassle as we had to kick our heels around the pool until 2am, but on friday afternoon reception called to let us know, if we wished we could "stay in the room until 6pm, or if we wanted until 10pm for 50 euros", which to us seemed like a better idea, we could go out friday night and not have to worry about getting up until a little later, and we decided to double check when we got in around 3am to which the recpetionist replied "yes thats right, until 6pm is fine, but until 10pm is 50 euros", so imagine our dissapointment at the 11am wake up call telling us check out was in 1 hour, unless we would be paying the 35 euros to stay until 6pm, which was strange as they had never mentioned that fee until then, so we went down to ask reception why that was never mentioned, and while we were chatting, valuable packing time was passing, and one of the lads had stayed out with a room card key because we were under the impression that we could stay until 6pm, now we would have been out normally by midday no issues, but because reception had told us of the option to stay until 6pm being 'fine' NOT '35 euros', we were asking for the option for one more hour to pack, but apparantly this wasn't possible...in the end, we just about got out of the rooms by midday. There is a room to put all the suitcases for those waiting for their shuttle transfers that day/night, which can get very full so make sure your checked out on time otherwise you and ur suitcase will be out by the pool for a long day in the sun.

Other than that, we had a good time, and the facilities weren't bad (tempermental showers but what can you expect for that price) although, some rooms were better than others all for the same cost, and it seemed that they had overbooked the hotel and a lot of people who had booked were being sent away for the night, so if you want good protection, book through a travel agent instead of directly. The bar staff were friendly, and the beer/food was cheap...all in all, dissapointing, but then again we had only paid £280 each for the week including flights, so a room with a mattress would have been expected really. The hotel is at the top of the hill which others have mentioned, its not that bad, just a bugger on the first few drunken nights.

As for those who are moaning about the kind of 'trash' that stay there, my only sympathy with you is if the travel agent has sold it to you as a nice family place, it is a 18-30's holiday and definetly not suitable for couples or families!

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank DiscoStu392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2008

I think you have to bear in mind if you're going to Magalluf you kind of know what to expect. I stayed in this place on my friends stag do a couple of weeks ago and the place itself was fine.

Rooms were clean, facilities fine and the bar and pool area also fine. The problem is the people who stay here! As some previous people have mentioned there are a lot of stag and hen do's and groups of blokes (although we were a stag do we were quite tame compared, for example with the group of lads who were running round at about 5am shouting and knocking on peoples doors...).

I'm guessing its because they are expecting the worst out of all their guests, but the staff are quite rude and unhelpful.

I personally wouldnt stay here again, having said that I would never have gone to Magalluf by choice anyway, so maybe I am not the right person to comment! I guess if youre going on a boozing holiday or stag or hen do this place is fine. Just dont expect a smile from the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimok78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelqueen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 30 in Magaluf
1,760 reviews
0 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#3 of 30 in Magaluf
243 reviews
0.8 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#20 of 30 in Magaluf
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#8 of 30 in Magaluf
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Universal Hotel Florida
Universal Hotel Florida
#10 of 30 in Magaluf
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Apartments

Address: Torrenova 34 | Calvià, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: $62 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotavento Apartments is in the perfect location to take advantage of everything Magaluf has to offer. Its minimalist style, modern facilities and tasteful Hed-Kandi esque decor help to create a special atmosphere to chill out and relax.These stylish, elegant and up market apartments are situated at the top of the hill, just minutes from the beach, and Magaluf’s famous “Strip” which has numerous bars, restaurants and nightclubs and all just a few minutes’ walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Sotavento Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Hotel Magalluf
Sotavento Apartments Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing