We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oi Oi!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sotavento Apartments
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oi Oi!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend in Magaluf, stayed here at the Sotaventa Apartments, had the best holiday ever!!! From the min we arrived we knew we were gonna love it!! Hotel is fab, DJ round the pool is awesome, cocktails fab, staff are really friendly. This place made our holiday! Even the hill didn't take the shine off! Can guarantee 18 Warrington girls will back next year!! Oi Oi ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrsgambs80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Sotavento, we are really pleased that you had such a fantastic stay with us,

I have passed your comments onto all of our team as it is always good to know when you are doing a good job.

If I remember correctly you girls really did get into the pool party on the Saturday - so thank you for your participation!

We do hope to see you all back at Sotavento some time soon, maybe its now an annual event for you and the girls.

When you do want to come back please get in touch with me directly and I will ensure we get you the best deals possible.

Thanks once again for taking the time to leave a review.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    149
    37
    22
    14
See reviews for
15
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Amazing trip to magaluf, very friendly hotel and people around it. Very good security so you know the hotel is well looked after. Good décor in hotel and rooms are good for self catering, clean and nothing is too much. Had an amazing time here and would defo come back.

Good pool parties and brill atmosphere. Go on the carnage bar crawl too as it is carnage!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babybeckton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi,

Firstly thank you for sharing your views of Sotavento with other potential guests we do apprecaite you taking the time to leave a review.

I am really pleased that you had such a fantastic stay with us and have passed your comments onto all the team.

If you do want to come back please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will make sure that we get you the best deal available.

Thanks again for the positive review and we hope to see you here soon.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here last September and had a brilliant time! Perfect for a girls holiday! Food in the hotel was nice too, good atmosphere by the pool and the rooms are really nice, only downside is that it is right at the top of a steap hill! But over all great!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah1894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hi Sarah,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Sotavento. We are really appreciate the feedback and are pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us.

We hope that we will get to see you back with us sometime in the future.

Thanks again for the great feedback.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel for Stag and hen do's etc... Staff very helpful and friendly. Good clean rooms and the food was ok. If your walking back to the hotel late at night watch out for the black women at the top of the hill who want to mug you, they are persistent and seem to target drunk males, two of them tried to drag one of my mates to the ground. The hotel staff do warn you about this on arrival. My advice is to get a cab or come home in groups.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LilleyStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Sotavento.

I am really pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and enjoyed our hotel.

There is an issue throughout Magaluf at this time with prostitutes and we do advise all of our guests at check in to be careful when out late at night and particularly after having a few drinks. We like other hoteliers in Maglauf are working very closely with the police and other authorities to ensure this problem is dealt with swiftly.

Once again thanks for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to seeing you back at Sotavento in the future.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Recently stayed at the sotavento for the 2nd time, I love it here and wouldn't stay anywhere else!!! It's got everything you need.. The rooms are amazing the food is yum the shop has all ya needs what more do you need?? The staff are amazing so lovely the night time guy on reception is such a darling he's so caring always asked if we needed a cab if we was going out late always asked if we had a good night ect... The bar team well what can I say their the nicest group of fellas you could meet...Charlie Lewis Lloyd Sam Reece & Ben all so lovely they jus can't do enough for you!! DJ stu is just what you need playing the best tunes in Maga makes you wana get on ya lounger with ya cocktail and shake a leg!!! Not one bad thing to say about this amazing place will be going back in September to get on my sun lounger and shake my leg!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsealouise89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi Chelsea,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Sotavento, we do appreciate you taking the time to share you experience with other potential travellers.

We are really pleased that you had another fantastic stay with us. We have passed on your comments to all of our team as its always good to know when you had done a good job!

We are so happy that you had another fantastic holiday with us and thank you again for sharing your thoughts with others.

If you do want to come back to Sotavento please do not hesitate to get in touch and we will make sure we get you the best deal possible.

We look forward to seeing you back at Sotavento some time soon.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here May bank holiday for a friends 30th.

6 girlies sharing apartment.4 bunk beds and 2 sofa beds. The sofa beds are pretty hard.....but who's going to sleep here anyway, we were too busy enjoying the beach and nightlife.

Greeted by really friendly reception chaps. You pay 80 Euro deposit, which is returned on checkout or can be used towards late checkout fee. Late checkout, up to 6pm only 40 Euros. Safe key is cheap...think it was about 3-4 euros a day? Split between 6 worthwhile.

Cool décor throughout and lovely pool. Gym room with conservatory...didn’t see anyone use it. Apartment rooms designed Minimalistic, with self-catering facilities. Balcony. We stayed on the backside with view over the car park on the 3rd floor. Quite please as pool part in the afternoons can be a bit rowdy. (Peak season would not be suitable for anyone prudish or adverse to drunken youths dancing around topless/naked hahaha). This is magaluf!

No inclusive toiletries or coffee etc., but the place is cheap as chips so no biggy. Towels included. Kitchen has sink and hot plates. Don't bother trying to cook there though as takes age to heat up, like most apartment hobs to be honest. There is a kettle and plenty of kitchen utensils. Do check when you arrive as you are given an itemised list which is checked before you leave. Beside ample places to eat out along 'the strip' and down by the beach. Only 10 minute walk to beach down the very steep hill.

People complain about the hill, it is very steep but at least you get a bit of exercise ;O). Not for suitable for anyone who is disabled though or the very unfit. Cabs are cheap if you really don't want to walk anyway.

There is a supermarket on the ground, but if you take a right out of the apartments main entrance and then left at the hill there is a cheaper supermarket only a couple of minutes away. The young lady in there is very helpful too.

Robinson Crusoe's on the beach front is good for all day brekky and other grub. Burger is nom.
Bars all along 'the strip' which is down the hill and 1st left...you won't miss them. Be warned the bar reps are extremely aggressive in their approach here. I have never experienced such man- handling. They WILL grab you, drag you and block your path if you allow them too! Be polite but firm. If you interact with them...you will be persuaded to go into their bar. We found it was best to stick together and ignore them and they will leave you to walk on.

It's worth walking a bit further down to get the drinks offers. The local copied booze is suspiciously strong in flavour but does not seem very alcoholic. If you like a decent drink ask for brand names, it will cost you though.

Anything goes here, so not for the weak hearted.it is common place to see very drunken people falling over, being ill and exposing themselves. Don't come here is you can't giggle about it.
We paid 20 Euros for BCM U.V night while we here. Go to the excursion shop near TEX MEX restaurant just before the beach turning on the hill. This includes ‘Free’ drinks (except bottles, they are 1 Euro 50) of the local sort all night in the BCM pre-bar near the start of the strip and then in the actual club. Don’t bother paying the extra 5 Euros for gifts; as if you get to the pre-bar early enough the chap will give you a voucher anyway. You will be given a U.V vest, hat and plastic ring if you go downstairs in the club. Arrive before midnight to get these.

We also went to Palma one night. Was a nice refreshing break to get away from the bar reps. The reception chap was great. He booked out cabs (they only take 4 people maximum) at 20-25 Euros per cab. (Cabs back the airport should only be about 33-36 Euros by the way). I would Recommend little Buddha bar down the side streets. Be careful to check the tab though as I paid for a drink separately and they still added it onto the group tab…not sure if intentional or an innocent mistake, as the bar lady seemed lovely and was dancing with us all?

Back to the apartment staff. Can't fault them. Made to feel really welcome and the chap from Gran Canaria and the other chap who does the night shify were lovely and really helpful and efficient. Thanks guys. I would definately come back.

TIPS ....GIRLS DO NOT go around on your own or even just a couple of you....there are groups that pray girls and take them off...BOYS WATCH OUT too for the lovely ladies that coax you away and then their men friends will come and mug you. Like any holiday resort be sensible and be safe peeps!

Room Tip: GIRLS DO NOT go around on your own or even just a couple of you....there are groups that pray girls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boogy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for leaving probably the most comprehensive review we have received, not just of the hotel but also of Magaluf and Palma!

We are really pleased that you had such a fantastic stay with us and thank you for your fantastic feedback on our team and the property.

Obviously I can only answer on behalf of the hotel and not other bars, restaurants & services in Mallorca but thank you for taking the time to leave your comments for other potential visitors.

We hope to welcome you back to Sotavento some time in the future.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allonby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just got back from a fab stay at the Sotavento apartments. The hotel itself is great, cant fault it at all, the rooms are spacious, clean and decorated really nicely. All of the staff are really friendly and helpful and cant do enough for you. The lay out of the hotel and pool are great as is the location. The hill isn't that bad, but I suppose it depends if you are used to walking up hills or not!
Do not be put off by the deposit, obviously it helps to keep the place so nice and if you respect your room then there is no problem.

The only slight disappointment was that the pool party's and DJ's playing round the pool wasn't on while we were there, tho the weather wasn't the best.
I do realize it was very early in the season, which is why I asked before booking if these would be happening when we were going. If I had been told it was just at weekends then I would have booked to go then instead of midweek, It made leaving ( on Thursday ) quite difficult as loads of people were arriving and the hotel was gearing up for the weekend partying, which was the atmosphere I was hoping for while we were there as there was only a couple of us traveling together :(
However this hasn't put us off this hotel, we will definitely go again, just choose a weekend next time :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starchypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Sotavento. I am really pleased that you had such a fantastic time with us. I have passed on your great feedback to all of the team as its always good to know when you are doing a good job.

The weather this May in Mallorca as been unsually un setteled which has made it difficult for us to plan many of our usual pool parties etc. We have had many events on during the week including our recent pool party on Monday 6th May and also parties on Wednesday´s etc. I am sorry that your stay did not coincide with these events.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave a reivew and we do very much hope that you will come back to stay with us again soon.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
901 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 28 in Magaluf
672 reviews
0.6 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 28 in Magaluf
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
2,066 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.7 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#4 of 39 in Palmanova
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Apartments

Property: Sotavento Apartments
Address: Torrenova 34 | Calvià, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Best Value Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotavento Apartments is in the perfect location to take advantage of everything Magaluf has to offer. Its minimalist style, modern facilities and tasteful Hed-Kandi esque decor help to create a special atmosphere to chill out and relax.These stylish, elegant and up market apartments are situated at the top of the hill, just minutes from the beach, and Magaluf’s famous “Strip” which has numerous bars, restaurants and nightclubs and all just a few minutes’ walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sotavento Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Hotel Magalluf
Sotavento Apartments Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing