We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome 5* Hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sotavento Apartments
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in the Sotavento at the end of May and the start of June 2012, went with 5 mates and we were able to get a 6 person room which seems to be a rarity in Magaluf! The rooms were perfect, good size, nice bathroom and kitchen area, beds were mostly comfy, sofa beds were a bit hard but when you're drunk who cares!? A very young crowd at this hotel and quite a number of stag/hen groups. The pool was packed every day and one day a week there is a workers party, but you can still go, hundreds of people at a pool party is where its at! Although most of the people were young that stayed at the hotel it wasnt overly noisy at night. Staff were great, helpful and friendly. Had one issue with the ceiling in the bathroom leaking but this wasnt the hotels fault, it was the idiots above who flooded their bathroom, when staff were informed it was quickly sorted!

Tried to book the hotel again this year but fully booked for the week we're going to Magaluf... GUTTED!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2013

Hi Martin,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Sotavento, very much appreciated.

We are really pleased that you and your friends had a great stay with us and we are very sorry that we are already fully booked on the dates for your next visit to Magaluf. You are of course more than welcome to come and join in the fun around the pool each day of your stay in Magaluf so please do not hesitate to come and enjoy the pool parties whilst you are in the resort.

If you want to make a reservation for Sotavento in the future please get in touch via the email shown on our website and I will be happy to give you all the help I can.

Thanks again for sharing your experience of Sotavento with other potential visitors.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
There are newer reviews for Sotavento Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 840 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in Sotavento for 2 weeks aug 2012 with 3 friends, and we couldn't be more satisfied!
The hotel was beautiful, the cleaning was excellent and the staff was awesome!
I see that some people cries about the hill, really, it's no biggie at all! the stairs up from the beach was a bit of a challenge though, when you're dehydred after a whole day at the beach. but it never bothered us at all, as long as we had a bottle of water on the hand!
but again, the hill? it's nothing.

I deeply reccomend the restaurant ''Roma'', it's close by the hotel, just a few metres down the hill, and the food is EXCELLENT! so was the staff! went there almost every night for dinner.

there was parties and music by the pool every day, wich was awesome!
one negative thing about the hotel was one day, when we ordered lunch, we all got really sick, and throwed up. it was the chicken burger we ordered, but we got a nice appology saying that the chef was home sick, and so there was a chaos in the kitchen.

Would reccomend this hotel a thousand times! I LOVED it!
don't hesitate ! GO GO GO! :) Thank you so much, every one on Sotavento, for the best 2 weeks of 2012!

Room Tip: We were lucky with the room we got, can't remember the number, but it was at the second floor, t...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Hi Elise,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at Sotavento, we really do appreciate you sharing your good times with us.

I am so pleased that you had a fantastic holiday with us and like you say the hill is nothing really, particularly after a drink or 2!!

I have passed on your comments to all our team particularly the cleaning team as its always good to know when you are doing a good job!

I am sorry you had a disappointing meal one day at our restaurant, when you do come back to stay with us at Sotavento please get in touch with me and I will make sure we give you a complimentary meal as this is not typical of the standard of food we serve.

Thanks once again for sharing your experience of Sotavento with other potential travellers and we hope to see you back with us some time soon.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went here with three male friends for a week. It was a brilliant hotel with really nice staff and the rooms were very nice. Had a ground floor room with a balcony looking out over the pool. Constant partying it was amazing and the bar was really cheap. The music was always brilliant and the DJ was a legend. Close to the strip and the hotel was justt amazing in general ,Would definitely go back there :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Becca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hi Becca,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave a review at our Tripadvisor page. We are really pleased that you and your friends had a fantastic time with us at Sotavento. We do try to be very different from other properties in Magaluf and I can pleased that you enjoyed the "Sotavento Difference".

Thanks again for sharing your experience with other potential travellers and we hope that we see you again at Sotavento soon. If you do want to come back to Sotavento please get in contact with me and we will get you the best deal possible.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed here party off 5 ,age range 40,s in late sept .on arrival dj was in full blast and i thought omg . But reception manager greeted us and could not be more helpful as our party were all arriving on different days nothing was a problem.Fantastic service.Hill bit steep but we all coped . Really enjoyed our stay rooms,beds comfy really felt safe in complex cameras cover all areas no noise after 10ish . NOW ROLL ON SEPT 2013 cannot wait to go back ...

Room Tip: pool facing noiser but no late night noise
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Hi Maggie,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Sotavento, we are really pleased that you and your friends had a fantastic time with us.

The age range in the hotel does change througout the season, with April, May and early June a great time for groups of friends of all ages to come and enjoy the sun and fun of Magaluf. In July and August the age range does tend to be lower with the classic 18-30 type of guest and then in Sep and Oct we go back to the very mixed age range which you encountered during your stay.

We try to also vary our entertainment programme to match the guests staying at the time so I am really pleased that you enjoyed all our facilities.

Thanks again for your comments and if you do want to come back again next September please get in touch, you can find my email address at our website.

We hope to see you back at Sotavento next Summer.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Came to the Sotavento for a week in July 2012, and had the most amazing time ever ! Just booked to stay for 11 nights in July next year!

Without a doubt th best place to stay in Magaluf, hotel staff are so polite and helpful and really down to eath. The hotel is kept really clean at all times, the bedrooms get cleaned often and are great. Rooms are equiped with a safe which was great.
The hotel has a great atmosphere and there is always stuff going on to make your holiday fun.

The hill is not an issue like some people make out, you can barely notice it when your walking home after a night out, and your so close to the strip, fantastic location.

The food is fab and cheap, and the drinks deals are great. The pool has DJ all day which is fab when your chilling round the pool.
I didnt have any issues getting to sleep and neither did any of my other 11 girls i went with !
AMAZING value for money !

Cant wait to go back in 2013 .
AMAZING - STAY HERE :)

Room Tip: Pool views are great, but i did have a back view which was a little more quiet not that it matters...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Laurr94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Hi,

Firstly thanks for leaving a review at our page, we really appreciate you sharing your views of Sotavento with other potential guests.

We are really pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us, we do try to be very different from other properties in Magaluf and try to create an atmosphere where everyone can have a great holiday is safe and comfortable surroundings.

We are really pleased that you have reserved to come back to see us next summer, we have lots planned and already are just about sold out for July..so its going to be ver busy!

We have many new and exciting things organised for next summer, so I know you will have another fantastic holiday with us!

Thanks again for leaving the review, very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back next July!

Regards.

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decent hotel, fun place to stay and even despite the hill, was extra close to the strip, I would take advantage of the offers on all the time! Defo would suggest to stay here! Not a huge amount of cooking facilities but there are plenty of decent places to eat out!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Sotavento, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.

We do try to be different from the other hotel/apartments in Magaluf and this with our excellent location helps our guests have a fantastic stay with us.

Thanks once again for the feedback and we very much hope to see you back at Sotavento some time soon.

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Never seen myself going to Magaluf at all never mind going back for a second time! This hotel definately is the best place to stay without a doubt.. Stayed here in September 2011 and returned again in August/September 2012 and most definately would return to the hotel if i ever return to magaluf again!!
Hotel is super clean and modern, reception staff are very helpful with anything you need, although there was one grumpy/rude waitress in the restaurant which a few people complained about but nothing major to put you off the hotel !! The pool has a DJ playing music all day which is relaxing when sunbathing by the pool!
The hotel is at the top of a steep hill but it's not as bad as everyone makes out, being at the top of a hill makes for a good view out the hotel balconys! plus half way down the hill is the stairs to the beach and at the bottom is the magaluf strip so it's in a brillaint location because it's so close to the strip but you can get away from the noise of the clubs and pubs at the end of the night!!

would most definately recommend this hotel to anyone going to magaluf, no matter what age!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view, you get better sun on the balcony throughout the day
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank h1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Hi,

Firstly thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, we do appreciate your comments.

We are really pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and very much hope that you do come back to see us again soon.

I have passed your comments onto our reception team as its always great to know that you are doing a good job!

We do think that we have a perfect location in Magaluf, despite the hill! We are less than 5 minutes walk to the beach and just a couple of minutes more to the strip with all its bars etc.

We have lots of new things and further imrovements planned for summer 2013, so if you do want to come back please contact me directly via the email address at our website and I will make sure we get you the best deal.

Thanks again for leaving the review, so pleased that you had a great stay with us!

Regards,

Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
1,493 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
2,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 28 in Magaluf
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.5 mi away
Sol House Mallorca
Sol House Mallorca
#8 of 28 in Magaluf
663 reviews
0.0 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Apartments

Address: Torrenova 34 | Calvià, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Best Value Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: $56 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotavento Apartments is in the perfect location to take advantage of everything Magaluf has to offer. Its minimalist style, modern facilities and tasteful Hed-Kandi esque decor help to create a special atmosphere to chill out and relax.These stylish, elegant and up market apartments are situated at the top of the hill, just minutes from the beach, and Magaluf’s famous “Strip” which has numerous bars, restaurants and nightclubs and all just a few minutes’ walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sotavento Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Hotel Magalluf
Sotavento Apartments Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing