We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sotavento Apartments
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Never seen myself going to Magaluf at all never mind going back for a second time! This hotel definately is the best place to stay without a doubt.. Stayed here in September 2011 and returned again in August/September 2012 and most definately would return to the hotel if i ever return to magaluf again!!
Hotel is super clean and modern, reception staff are very helpful with anything you need, although there was one grumpy/rude waitress in the restaurant which a few people complained about but nothing major to put you off the hotel !! The pool has a DJ playing music all day which is relaxing when sunbathing by the pool!
The hotel is at the top of a steep hill but it's not as bad as everyone makes out, being at the top of a hill makes for a good view out the hotel balconys! plus half way down the hill is the stairs to the beach and at the bottom is the magaluf strip so it's in a brillaint location because it's so close to the strip but you can get away from the noise of the clubs and pubs at the end of the night!!

would most definately recommend this hotel to anyone going to magaluf, no matter what age!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view, you get better sun on the balcony throughout the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank h1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hi,

Firstly thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, we do appreciate your comments.

We are really pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us and very much hope that you do come back to see us again soon.

I have passed your comments onto our reception team as its always great to know that you are doing a good job!

We do think that we have a perfect location in Magaluf, despite the hill! We are less than 5 minutes walk to the beach and just a couple of minutes more to the strip with all its bars etc.

We have lots of new things and further imrovements planned for summer 2013, so if you do want to come back please contact me directly via the email address at our website and I will make sure we get you the best deal.

Thanks again for leaving the review, so pleased that you had a great stay with us!

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    148
    37
    22
    13
See reviews for
13
58
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 7 nights in October. The hotel is well located, about 5mins from the beach, on top of rather steep hill.
The studio amenities were well set, it had a bedroom with twin beds which although we asked for a double bed, we ended up moving them together ouselves. The living room and kitchen facilities were good, pots, plates, cutlery etc provided. Good quality bathroom, balcony overlooking the hotel pool and tiny bit of sea view.
No toiletries or hair dryer in the room.
Despite the nice set up of the studio, the beds were rather uncomfortable.
The maid service was very good, they came every second day to change the towels and tidy up, and every 4th day they changed the sheets. Unfortunately, the A/C wasn't the best. You have to shut all windows for it to work. Even if you set it on the lowest temperature on the A/C panel it still wouldn't cool the room temperature. Therefore, you have to keep your windows open at night..The main disadvantage was the noise coming from the street. All the drunk parties coming back from parties at 4am, (Magaluf i infamous for rather trashy british pubs, clubs etc).
The worst were the coaches and cars transporting the tourists 24/7.
Staff was excellent! Friendly and helpful.
Didn't use the pool or jacuzzi, there always drinking parties outside.

Recommendation would be, that if you are travelling to Magaluf for party reasons this is a great hotel to stay at, but if you would like to have a nice and peaceful holiday, stay somewhere away from the main roads. Get a hotel right on the coast or with windows overlooking the rare garden etc.

Btw, there is no internet in the rooms provided. There were few stationery computers in Front Office area.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back garden are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay at Sotavento, we appreciate the feedback from all of our guests as it helps us improve our product for future visitors to our property.

Like most other apartment complexes in Spain, at Sotavento Apartments we do not have any double beds. Apartments are set up to be as flexible as possible in order to cater for varying party sizes etc so unfortunately we could not offer you a double bed. We do explain fully the apartment layout at our website and all our other distribution channels.

As in all cases air conditioning units do not work effectively if there are open windows and balcony doors in the area that is to be cooled, as in reality the cool air does not then circulate in a confined space. Our units do go off for example if the balcony door is open. This is purely because the unit will not work effectively with the door open.

I am sorry that you experienced noise from the street during your stay, this is very unusual as we are set in one of the quieter roads in Magaluf. Asyou can see from past guests reviews many of our guests recommend Sotavento because it is away from the noise of the main entertainment area of Magaluf, yet only a 5 minute walk - so the best of both worlds.

Thank you for the excellent feedback about our housekeeping team, as you can imagine they at times have a very difficult job and its great for us to share the appreciation of guests with our team.

Magaluf is not known as a peaceful holiday destination and in fairness to Sotavento and Magaluf none of our publicity material would promote our property for this kind of holiday.

The great news for Summer 2013 is that we are going to have WIFI available in the hotel. This year we had 4 internet stations in the reception, which will remain for our guests to use, but they will now also have the advantage of WIFI.

Thanks once again for sharing your views of Sotavento and I hope that I have answered some of the questions/issues that you encountered during your stay.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

In all honestly as group of 7 girls some of whom are in their forties we were not entirely sure of what to expect from magaluf! Could not of been more wrong, on arriving at the hotel we were greeted by friendly and well organised staff. We had three apartments which were all spotless. After checking in we had a bite to eat, food was fine for a lunchtime snack! I can't emphasise how friendly the staff are, nothing too much trouble! We laughed from minute we arrived until the minute we left. What really made it for our group was the poolside entertainment especially the resident DJ! If your worried about your age ie early forties don't be we didn't feel old at all! Already planning next years trip!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank windyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi there,

Firstly thanks for taking the time to share your experience at Sotavento with other potential guests, we really appreciate it!

I am so pleased that you and your friends had a great stay with us. At Sotavento we do try to be very different from other properties in Magaluf and I am pleased that you noticed the "Sotavento Difference". We do cater for all age ranges, our guests age range in low season can be anything from 20-55 with many groups of friends taking a quick break or hen and stag parties that include uncles, fathers etc so all in all a great mix of ages.

Thanks for the comments about our team, its great to get good feedback on the service that you offer and I have passed this onto all of our team, including Grant one of our DJ´s!

We very much hope to see you back at Sotavento next summer, when you are ready to make a reservation, please contact me at the email address shown on website and I will make sure you get you a great deal.

We look forward to welcoming you and the girls back to Sotavento next summer!

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I came here with 9 girls at the end of September for 4 nights. The hotel was clean, modern and had a great vibe. People have commented on how the hill is a downside to the hotel, we found it great the view was brilliant front the hotel due to it's location. The staff were helpful and polite, the bar man Louis was great. We had no issue with noise even though we didn't return until around 6am, we were still greeted by the reception staff politely. The food was ok but great value with a daily special which included a drink for 6€, and the beauty was you could have a full English as a takeaway so you could eat it by the pool!!! All in all a fab hotel and we will be returning next year. The only down side to this hotel was no WiFi but that's not the end of the world as there was plenty of entertainment in the day!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurenatkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hi Lauren,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us, we really appreicate your comments.

I am so pleased that you and the girls had a fantastic holiday with us and we hope to see you back with us very soon. I have passed on your comments to the team and particularly Lewis - who does a great job for us at the pool bar!. As you now know, we are at the top of a hill in Magaluf, but the great advantage is that you can escape the noise of the strip etc yet its only a 5 minute walk, so like you say not really that bad!

Thanks for the your comments about WIFI, the good news is that we will have WIFI in the hotel for next summer!

Thanks again for taking the time to share you experience of Sotavento with other potential guests. When you are ready to make your reservation for next summer, please get in touch via the email address at our website and I will make sure we get you the best deal.

Thanks again.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just spent 3 nights at the Sotavento with 11 mates . we arrived 12-30 Friday dinnertime and we where checked in almost straight away, which meant we where able too hit the pool area asap ..the rooms are neat and tidy, maybe an extra towel or 2 wouldn't go amiss. The gent on reception was spot on and very helpful.
The pool area is class, with sunbeds aplenty, there's decent music played round the pool area all day everyday.
On our last day there was an end of season pool party with DJs,dancers etc, which made for a cracking day in the scorching sunshine. All in all I've stopped in 5 other hotels in Magaluf but this was easily the friendliest and would recommend it to groups or couples who like a lively holiday or mini break in the sun . ..
PS I was informed on checking out that if anyone was thinking of coming back to these apartments , if they booked by a certain time they could guarantee a pool facing room ( these are in short supply) unfortunately I had missed out on this because the Wife decided to book this Hotel while I was still here, for short break next April!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marksteady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Mark,

Firstly thanks for taking the time to share you experience of Sotavento with other potential guests, we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave a review at our page.

We are really pleased that you had a fantastic weekend with us and that you enjoyed our pool and particularly the closing pool party on Saturday!

We do try to be very different from most of the other properties in Magaluf and I am pleased that having stayed in many other hotels in Magaluf that you have rated Sotavento as the best place to stay!

I am not sure from your review if you wife has already confirmed to stay at Sotavento next April, if this is the case please contact via email (our address can be found at our website) and I will try to get you a pool view room.

Thanks again for the excellent feedback, we hope to see you and the boys back at Sotavento next summer.

Regards,
Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Recently went on a group break and stayed at Sotavento and it was spot on for our requirements. Staff were fantastic especially the young lads round the pool who we had a right laugh with. Saturday's tunes and entertainment round the pool were perfect recovery chilling. Rooms were clean and comfortable and location of Sotavento is great (even with the welcome exercise of the hill!). Great job Sotavento - good luck for the future. You've got a good formula there. Thanks for making our stay so great

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi Tim,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us here at Sotavento, we really do appreciate it!

I am so pleased that you and your group had a great stay with us, we do try to create something a little different from other hotels/apartments in Magaluf and I am pleased you and your friends enjoyed the "Sotavento Difference"!

thanks for your comments about the service you received from our team, I have shared your comments with all our team as its always good know your work is appreciated - thank you.

We hope to welcome you and your friends back to Sotavento some time in the future. If you do want to make a reservation please contact me at the email address at our website and I will make sure we get you the best deal available.

Kind Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Read the reviews on trip advisor before we booked. Hotel was as described. Perfect hotel, modern, clean and staff were very friendly and helpful, would definitely go back. We new about the deposit €80 on check in, all hotels should do this, as it seems to work. I feel that guests respect the hotel more, knowing that they will have to pay for any damages

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asquiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter D, Director of Sales at Sotavento Apartments, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hi There,

Thanks for taking the time to share you thougts about Sotavento with other potential guests. We are really pleased that you had a great stay with us and have passed on your comments about the service you have receieved to all our team.

We hope to welcome you back to Sotavento in the future, if you do want to make a reservation you can contact me directly via the email address at our website.

Thanks again for leaving a review, we really do appreciate it.

Regards,

Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#4 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.6 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intertur Hotel Hawaii Mallorca & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sotavento Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sotavento Apartments

Property: Sotavento Apartments
Address: Torrenova 34 | Calvià, 7181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Best Value Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sotavento Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sotavento Apartments is in the perfect location to take advantage of everything Magaluf has to offer. Its minimalist style, modern facilities and tasteful Hed-Kandi esque decor help to create a special atmosphere to chill out and relax.These stylish, elegant and up market apartments are situated at the top of the hill, just minutes from the beach, and Magaluf’s famous “Strip” which has numerous bars, restaurants and nightclubs and all just a few minutes’ walk from the apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sotavento Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sotavento Apartments Hotel Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Magalluf
Apartamentos Sotavento Hotel Magalluf
Sotavento Apartments Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing