We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Me and My girlfriends stay in Augusts 2013”
Review of HSM Don Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
HSM Don Juan
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Me and My girlfriends stay in Augusts 2013”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

me and my girlfriend both young and looking for a good time, ive been to magaluf so many times came here not expecting too much it was cheap but we was half board.
First impressions of the hotel is it looks out dated very much like a tired old english pub with its sofas in the reception area. We checked in with no problems, got the lift to our room on the fourth floor, the hotel has dated looking chairs dotted around the corredors to the room which was strange, the walls had been hit and had some cheap filler stuck in the walls and not even been sanded off. Im a young lad this didnt really bother me.
The room was again abit dated looking but simple with two beds a 'chair' and desk with mirror and good air con! On the last night we wanted a early night so at 5am yes 5am! we tried to get some sleep, that wasnt happening as the noise coming through the paper thin walls was too loud! Sweedish one side and Spanish the other.
Location of the hotel isnt bad, its around 10-15 minutes stroll to the bottom of the strip, its right next to the pirates.
The food was at times average at times inedible, we ate out most the days and im deffinately not fussy. Id go Tom Brown's theyre excellent.
The pool was probably the best bit, clean and tidy with a bar, pool table and ping pong, which we had to pay for.
The staff in general came accross quite rude apart from one receptionist.
To finish on a good note the cleaner was excellent, cleaning your room everyday.

Room Tip: Ear plugs or just get very drunk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan_nffc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We will inform our quality department about your suggestions and would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    174
    130
    83
    62
See reviews for
62
134
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel close to the strip, this isnt the one for you.
However, taxi fare in Magaluf is so cheap that it doesn't even matter! maximum of €3 for a taxi back from BCM.

Towards the end of my holiday it got quite noisy as more people were arriving, but thats to be expected in a place like Magaluf.

Great comfy beds, shower was okay.
Balcony was alright, dirty when i arrived however.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We will inform our quality department about all your suggestions and would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2013

At first we were impressed after reading the terrible reviews that were on here before departing. But I am still at this Hotel and as the holiday has progressed I hate this s&/t hole. The staff are angry little spanish women who screech spanish in your face, the food is cold weird crap and i want to burn this place and make a car park. Cheers, Go stay in the rocks or a sol hotel!
(ALSO ANTS IN THE FOOD)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShapelyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments.
For the circumstances you have mentioned, we would like to apologize and let you know that we have informed our quality department to improve our service. However, the beach hotel offers half board or full board. Extensive buffet offers a big selection of cold and hot dishes, as well as a wide variety of desserts. Thematic buffets.

We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

Regards from Mallorca,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Magaluf hotels

Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Second family holiday here at the don juan, and have booked for septmeber as well.
There are young groups staying , couples and families, but the management are strict, and the patty goers are well behaved when they come home in the early hours. Don juan is situated in a quiet corner of magaluf away from the strip, so you can get to sleep easily, as there is no noise, but near enough to walk, to the town and strip when you want.
Very spanish hotel, clean , friendly ,and all staff really help full including , receptionists, bar, security and kids club staff, we love it here..

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise, rooms over looking the pool, get the morning sun x If kids fall asl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo020273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our service. We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed here on my own as my friends were in another hotel. Hotel staff were all really nice and friendly especially the guy who works at night he was ledge. Rooms were perfect and the maids were really friendly... I didn't really spend a lot of time in the hotel as I was always out and at my mates hotel, the time I did spend at the hotel though was perfect.. It's about 5/10 minutes away from the main strip which is perfect cos you don't get the noise or the drunk people to disturb you. Overall it's a really nice hotel with nice staff

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhav52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel. Our hotel staff will be delighted to read it as they are doing their best to make our clients´ holidays really special and it is always great to know the clients appreciate their hard work. We would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Returned again this July as usual with family (2 children) and found the hotel excellent value when you consider what you pay. The management place young partygoers on lower floors so they don't disturb families etc. when they come back from "strip" in early hours and it works well.
Situated on outskirts of town, at least half a mile from "strip" and just about 7 minutes flat walk to beach.
Found management very obliging and strict about good behaviour, which is good for everyone.
Nice selection of nationalities, young and older and families.
Food average but always great selection so tastes to suit all, from pizza to paella to pasta and roast meats, vegetables, salads, good selection of desserts and fresh fruit.
Entertainment mostly by in-house with guest acts a few nights of the week. Water aerobics, water games etc.
I would recommend quite highly but just remember "you get what you pay for". This hotel group also own a 4* hotel next door.

Room Tip: Talk to management who are very obliging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

A group of 10 of us girls and boys went out on the 19th - 26th July 2013. After reading the reviews we was all a bit worried and didnt really expect much from the hotel. However when we entered the hotel we was greated by lovely reception staff who checked us all in. They do take your passports for safe keeping throughout your stay to. We went to our rooms and the rooms where average only thing there was no fridge in the rooms to keep any drinks cool however you can ask at reception and hire a fridge from a local company that deliever and collect for like 20 euros for the week. Which is worth it if you want to keep your drinks cool. The maids were always polite to you however we stayed a week we didnt get new bedding once, they gave us new towels everyday as look as they was put inside the bath and they sweeped and bleached the bathroom everyday. DO NOT LEAVE VALUBLES LAYING AROUND this is because of lack of security once you leave the hotel you give your key to reception for safe keeping and all you have to do is say you room number and they hand over the key no questions. So dont leave anything laying around they do have safes for hire there to. The food and drink was average. Everyone in the hotel mainly drinks the special not all the drinks are all inclsive so be careful which you are ordering the bar closes at 12am and the food is different everyday however got sick of the sight of pasta rice and chips but there is alot to choose from just make sure you read the labels above the food as they serve things like rabbit and shark which you may not want to try. The pool was very cold however it was tge best way to cool of in the heat. The pool sunbeds do get busy early so make sure you are up and down there early enough for a bed. The staff where all polite most of them speak and understand english. The maids dont. Good locations about 10 mins from beach and the strip. Pre drinks MANOS is the place its 10euros for 2 hours free bar and they give you 1 shots to most free bars dont give you any. Bar in mind when they offer yoy a jug of something its a pint glass we made that mistake and thought 2 jugs between 10 is good but got in there and 2 pints didnt work really. You get a lot of promo people knock on your rooms about bar crawls and bcm events and free bars so look out for them. Overall the hotel was nice you get what you pay for and I would deffently return to the hotel again.
As for the place in general I would never go to magaluf again it was the first and last time. It is very rough out here so keep your back up all the time dont let your guard down. AVOID JACK DANIELS BAR there is male staff that stand outside the girls toilets there is no locks and lets people in there when he knows youve gone in there my 2 friends tried going in together to hold the door shut for eachother and he didnt like the idea and punched her in the face and held a broken glass to her throat and the other staff said sory but he is really drunk. The strip is crazy so many people and so many lights nothing like I imagned aslong as you stick in your group you should have a brillant hoilday I just found it to rough but that is personal view. The beach is lovely the sand is to hot to walk on anf the sea is so blue.

Overall if you are chosing to do magaluf this is the hotel to go to. Its perfect for the younger clubbing generation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ameliajx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel. We will inform our quality department about all your suggestions and would be happy to welcome you back in one of our 19 HSM Saint Michel hotels in Mallorca.

With kind regards,

HSM Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#4 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.1 mi away
HSM Atlantic Park
HSM Atlantic Park
#12 of 28 in Magaluf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Universal Hotel Florida
Universal Hotel Florida
#9 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
0.8 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#3 of 28 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Don Juan

Property: HSM Don Juan
Address: Calderon de la Barca 4, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Don Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel, HSM Don Juan, now offers high quality facilities and service after its refurbishment in 2008. The highlight of the hotel is its ideal location in the lively city of Magalluf. During your stay with us you can enjoy all the attractions that the resort to offer, or you can relax and spend your days by the hotel's swimming pool. The hotel is open from February to November. LOCATION: HSM Don Juan is situated in Magalluf, one of the most popular and well known resorts in Mallorca. The beautiful sandy beach boasts a blue flag, thanks to its high quality year after year. The hotel is only 400 m away from the beach and it offers the possibility to practice water sports. Nearby there are countless bars, restaurants and shops, which turn Magalluf into one of the most vibrant and attractive cities on the island. Attractions such as: water park "Western Park", karting or famous "Pirates" show, just steps away from the hotel, complement the wide variety of fun the city has to offer! There are also various golf courses close by: Golf Poniente (2 km away), Real Golf Bendinat or Golf Santa Ponsa, therefore the hotel is an ideal place to stay for those who love golf! In the area there are many possibilities to practice other sports, even on professional level: Magalluf offers the following facilities: athletics tracks (certified, class A), grass football field, rugby field, tennis and paddle tennis courts, etc. Palma de Mallorca is situated 15 km away, the airport 22 km. There is a public bus service to the capital; the bus stop is only 100 m away from the hotel entrance. ROOMS: The hotel offers newly refurbished double and single rooms that present a modern and up-to-date look. All of the rooms include a bathroom, heating and air conditioning, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), parquet floor, satellite TV and a balcony! There are some rooms that can allocate families with 2 children (on request). GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board or full board food and beverage packages. The extensive buffet offers a big selection of hot and cold dishes, as well as a wide variety of fruit and desserts. The restaurant offers some dishes prepared instantly in show cooking, as well. All food is served in thematic buffet style. Drinks in half board and full board are not included in the price (lunch and dinner). FACILITIES: The hotel offers a spacious terrace with a swimming pool for adults with a separate space for children. The pool is surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool is available. Inside of the facilities at HSM Don Juan there are cozy common areas, a game room, as well as an indoor bar! CHILDREN: At HSM Don Juan there is a mini club for children during the summer months and swimming area for children. Baby cots and high chairs are also available in the restaurant at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept both Visa and Mastercard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Daytime and evening entertainment, shows or live music various times per week. Billiards (extra charge), table tennis, French bowls in the complex. Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your HSM Don Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Juan
Don Juan Magalluf
HSM Don Juan Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing