We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best 3*** Hotel in Magaluf”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of HSM Don Juan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
HSM Don Juan
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best 3*** Hotel in Magaluf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

We have stayed at this hotel many times it is in our opinoin the best 3*** hotel in Magaluf, the staff are brilliant and we class them as our friends not hotel staff. The hotel is always clean and in August it was kept nice ane cool, it is in a quiet position away from the noise but within easy walking distance of the bars and shops and of course the beach. The rooms are kept clean and maintained to a high standard. The food is of very high standard and always kept at the right tempreture, internet access is good and car parking is free and plentiful. Our thanks once again to Jesus and all our friends for a great stay at The Don Juan, see you next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timandterri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    171
    130
    82
    62
See reviews for
62
131
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Me and my two mates, all guys came to the hotel aged 19 and 20 for a parting holiday. From looking at the hotel it seemed ideal as it was in a key location and was all inlclusive. Arrived at 11 at night and we were greeted by a friendly receptionist. She quickly checked us in with no problems, the room was very clean and well presented with the cleaner coming once a day to ensure it was kept clean.
All was good untill we went for lunch, all I can say is iv honestly never seen any food like it ! It was terrible and I was unaware food could even be cooked that badly. Everything was coverd in incredible amounts of oil, it was all of poor quality with extremaly bland flavours with everyting having a taste of fish having been a chef my self it is quite clear they are repeatedly using the same oil, even the chips wernt cooked it seems no care had been taken at all and after two days and some upset stomachs we were forced to eat out, this was topped off by the very rude staff within the dining area its not that hard to smile is it ? and if it is why are they working in a hotel ?! The pool area was good with plenty of sun beds, and having an all inclusive bar was ideal however apart from the two younger bar man, their names which i cant rember the other two were extremaly rude ! The bar manager was the worse and he seemed to walk around all day setting out to make your holiday unhappy, didnt see him smile once or even say hello instead he enforced his petty rules and moaned whenever you actualy asked him to do some work and make you a drink. It amazed me how he was still employed by HSM because he certainly wouldnt be employed in an english company. The same goes for the other shorter bar man who one night physicaly chucked a table over a customer because he was talking on a megaphone !
Definetly a hotel to avoid

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, hsm customer service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, August 30, 2011
Dear guests,

thank you for your comments. We are really sorry to hear that our hotel was not like you have expected. We will inform our Manager about all the comments you have maid.

With kind regards,

Your
HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Magaluf hotels

Tirana, Albania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

we were a couple in our honeymoon trip and stayed there for 7 nights. Arrived at hotel to check in about 11 AM evverything went straight forward. Rooms are big and spacious bathroom was nice and clean, fresh towels every day bath was great ! Pool area is small but good, but we didn't use it because we use to go to the beach just 5 min away. Now the food, i was scary because of the reviews but everything except meat was ok. there was plenty of food and you can choose whatever you like. About Magaluf it is more for 18 - 25 people because of the night life, but it was ok in our hotel because is far from noise.
I would recommend everyone to go to Santa Ponsa Nova, wonderful and crystal clear water.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi294446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

We were a group of 3 girls aged 19 & 20 , was rather scared after reading the reviews on the hotel. However they are not as bad as you think. Arrived at hotel to check in about 5pm evverything went straight forward until we got to our room one 1st floor, room its self was ok but when we went to balcony it wasnt. you could not see the pool and ur balcony was right on a rooftop where there was lots of cats running around which if you left your door open they could easily come into your room ! so we asked to get moved to another floor which the hotel staff did with no problems. Rooms are big and spacious bathroom was nice and clean, fresh towels every day bath was great ! hotel staff were mostly nice apart from the bar manager at poolside he was no fun and made such an atmosphere however when he was not there the staff were fab very helpful and up for a laugh. Pool area is great pool not too cold just nice and sun loungers had comfy mats and you could lie on them all day. Did not have to get up early for beds as there was always plenty. Now onto the food !! It is not really catered for us brits its mostly for foreign people as we were all inclusive we had breakfast lunch and dinner . breakfast was not good scrambled egg was mushy beans cold eggs horrible and sausages were cocktail sausages in lots of oil !! whatever was on menu for lunch was the excat same for dinner which after a few days you get fed up of eating the same twice a day !! I would return to this hotel as location is good and hotel nice however the food would have to be greatly improved !! Over all had a good time at this hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ash2011186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, hsm customer service at HSM Don Juan, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank you for you nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and that you have spent a nice time with us. However, we will inform our quality department about all your suggestions. Hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

We have just spent a very restless weeks sleep here. We were a family with an 8 year old. Now I am well travelled and understand it is the height of season, but to be kept awake until 12am and woken up again at 6.30 am with a young child is not ideal. Even after complaints to reception nothing was done. Coming into a hotel at all hours, you should still have the decency to be quiet and not wake the whole hotel up, as there were several families staying here this last week!!! I would not book Magaluf at height of season again, we only wanted a cheap week away and thats what we got. There should be more of a selection food wise. The evening buffet didnt look appetising so went out to eat at night. Eggs were cold on the morning buffet, bacon looked horrible, more fat than actual bacon. Rooms were okay though, refurbished with wooden floors but could have done with a fridge in there. Pool is warm but not huge, with a bar, loungers and chairs. Maids were friendly and cleaned your room as soon as you said you were going out. We did pay 20 euros to keep our room until 5pm as we didnt leave till 7.30pm. There were alot of Italians, English, Scandinavians and Eastern Europeans at this hotel mostly in their 20's. If you want a family holiday here, i wouldnt recommend it in July/August but earlier or later in the year. Food is reasonable outside the hotel and they do drinks packages 2 beers etc for around 5 euros. There is also two supermarkets across the road from the hotel to get drinks, food and alcohol !! The beach is 5 mins walk away where you pay 11 euros for an umbrella and 2 loungers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CBCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

All the people on here are going on about this hotel being "too loud" and "not family friendly", well how about you don't take your family to Magaluf in peak season where there will be tonnes of 'us' out to have a good time!!
The All Inclusive was worth every penny in terms of the drinks, 9:30am-Midnight, we definitely drunk our moneys worth with a decent selection of spirits available.
Alot of people are complaining about the food situation, yes is isn't brilliant, but it is only 3* accommodation and i don't know anyone who couldn't find something to eat out of chips, soup, salad, chicken or pasta!
Our rooms got cleaned everyday, the air-con (which you don't pay extra for unlike some hotels) was great and much needed most nights, though yes you do have to ask for your sheets to be changed if required.
This hotel is good for 18-30's out to have a good time. Don't book it between May-Sept if your a family or a couple looking for a chilled out time because yes there is noise at all hours….it is Magaluf afterall!
During the day the pool area is quiet and not a whole lot going on but the hotels a 5 min walk from the beach or waterpark if you want to do something during the day.
BCM square and the strip is a 5 min walk away too, never took us long!
All in all Don Juan is a in a good location, you get what you pay for, drink to your hearts content to make it worth while.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank s0ph89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

i & my husband went there for our holiday we choose don juan hotel which unfortunately wasn't what we were expected, the rating is 3stars but i only would give 2. when we arrived we were sent to other hotel(which was right beside bcm, so we fall asleep about 4am only) even though they gave us AI instead of half board for inconvenience we havent stayed in the hotel for meals or drinks, better not!!
the cleanliness wasn't very good,i got my bedding changed after 3 days only when i asked at reception desk! the pool area quite small gets packed at day time, reception staff were frienly, but not the rest, housekeeping staff chatting loudly, restaurant staff - all seemed to be unhappy with mad faces. in the bar - little man who doesnt give drinks for AI if my husband is not with me,ridiculous!! paper thin walls - gets so loud in 5-6 am when everyone is returning to the hotel, they are screaming, banging doors etc (well, magaluf after all).but to hear people havin sex next door its over the top!!
the food - OMG its horrible!! went there few nights to have a look( all inclusive however!) but absolutely no choice!! so instead only having dinner elsewhere we had pretty much all the meals in restaurants nearby! (p.s.very nice meals in indian restaurant not far from the seaside, realy good food!! )
apart the hotel we had great holiday, done many activities, werent bored whatsoever! hotel has to be inprooved in so many ways to reach that 3* name, so good luck on that one!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank california37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
0.1 mi away
HSM Atlantic Park
HSM Atlantic Park
#12 of 27 in Magaluf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#4 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Universal Hotel Florida
Universal Hotel Florida
#10 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.8 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#7 of 27 in Magaluf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Don Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Don Juan

Property: HSM Don Juan
Address: Calderon de la Barca 4, 07182 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HSM Don Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IN GENERAL: The 3* hotel, HSM Don Juan, now offers high quality facilities and service after its refurbishment in 2008. The highlight of the hotel is its ideal location in the lively city of Magalluf. During your stay with us you can enjoy all the attractions that the resort to offer, or you can relax and spend your days by the hotel's swimming pool. The hotel is open from February to November. LOCATION: HSM Don Juan is situated in Magalluf, one of the most popular and well known resorts in Mallorca. The beautiful sandy beach boasts a blue flag, thanks to its high quality year after year. The hotel is only 400 m away from the beach and it offers the possibility to practice water sports. Nearby there are countless bars, restaurants and shops, which turn Magalluf into one of the most vibrant and attractive cities on the island. Attractions such as: water park "Western Park", karting or famous "Pirates" show, just steps away from the hotel, complement the wide variety of fun the city has to offer! There are also various golf courses close by: Golf Poniente (2 km away), Real Golf Bendinat or Golf Santa Ponsa, therefore the hotel is an ideal place to stay for those who love golf! In the area there are many possibilities to practice other sports, even on professional level: Magalluf offers the following facilities: athletics tracks (certified, class A), grass football field, rugby field, tennis and paddle tennis courts, etc. Palma de Mallorca is situated 15 km away, the airport 22 km. There is a public bus service to the capital; the bus stop is only 100 m away from the hotel entrance. ROOMS: The hotel offers newly refurbished double and single rooms that present a modern and up-to-date look. All of the rooms include a bathroom, heating and air conditioning, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), parquet floor, satellite TV and a balcony! There are some rooms that can allocate families with 2 children (on request). GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers half board or full board food and beverage packages. The extensive buffet offers a big selection of hot and cold dishes, as well as a wide variety of fruit and desserts. The restaurant offers some dishes prepared instantly in show cooking, as well. All food is served in thematic buffet style. Drinks in half board and full board are not included in the price (lunch and dinner). FACILITIES: The hotel offers a spacious terrace with a swimming pool for adults with a separate space for children. The pool is surrounded by sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool is available. Inside of the facilities at HSM Don Juan there are cozy common areas, a game room, as well as an indoor bar! CHILDREN: At HSM Don Juan there is a mini club for children during the summer months and swimming area for children. Baby cots and high chairs are also available in the restaurant at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car. We accept both Visa and Mastercard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: Daytime and evening entertainment, shows or live music various times per week. Billiards (extra charge), table tennis, French bowls in the complex. Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HSM Don Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Don Juan
Don Juan Magalluf
HSM Don Juan Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing