We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nightmare holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Universal Hotel Florida
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Lancs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nightmare holiday”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one long week at the start of June. On arrival we were shown to the smallest room I have ever stayed in with very few facilities, 1 chair on the balcony and 1 towel. I think we had been put into a single room and they had managed to shoehorn a double bed in.

We arrived early afternoon and made our way down to Palma Nova which was really nice.

Headed back to our hotel room late aft only to experience the nightmare that was to follow. There was a group of lads staying a couple of doors away that we're running up and down the corridors chasing each other, screaming and slamming doors. This set the scene for most nights.

There was excessive noise every night with loud shouting/screaming and doors banging.

After the first horrific nights sleep we spent the next evening trying to find alternative accommodation further away in Palma Nova - the cost was going to be about £350 for the rest of the week so we decided to give it another night.

I explained the issues to the manager and he was very understanding and most apologetic and explained that the hotel seemed to be catering for more young groups every year.

The hotel needs to decide who they are aiming at as there were plenty of more mature couples who were also struggling with noise issues. It should be either all young/groups or none, as trying to mix the two will only ever cause problems.

On a more positive note, the food and staff were fantastic and it had the potential of a great holiday.

This is my only weeks holiday this year and I came back needing a holiday more than when I arrived.

Plea to the owners........please listen to your guests and staff and decide who you are marketing to!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CountHouseBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Horace,

I´m really sorry to hear that your stay wasn´t as pleasant as you expected, also I´m sorry about the incoveniences with the room.
In these moments we had a really big group of people in ages between 18 and 35 years old, That is very common in the months of July and August and they come to Magaluf looking for fun and party and live during the night.

Once again I apologize for a bad experience at the hotel,

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    348
    139
    49
    67
See reviews for
63
327
32
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

I have recently returned from Magaluf with a group of friends. It was our first girls holiday and the best decision we made was to stay at this hotel. The staff were always on hand and were always willing to help. Couldn't have asked for better! Cleaners extremely friendly and trustworthy. We had no bad experiences whilst staying here! Food was good, bar staff amazing and cleanliness of the hotel was brilliant. Over all very friendly atmosphere! Thank you!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GG11334449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear GG11334449,

I am very grateful to read these words and pleased to know that the first stay at our hotel has been a good experience.

It help us improve and also helps other people to see the quality of our Hotel.

We hope that we will get to see you back with us sometime in the future.

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

not bad for a 3 star! well looked after for a budget holiday. Great location, food is to a good standard and feels more like a restaurant than a canteen. Staff are polite. Views are impressive. Beach and night life is a 10 minute walk.

Be aware this is a hotel for the younger generation, in my opinion not suitable for young families.... expect to have your door banged by teenagers having fun like they are on a primary school camping trip for the first time :).... the trick is to join them!

Oh and Sue's bar just around the corner sells John Smiths!

Magaluf is clean and tidy in my opinion for a party town.... well worth a visit for a good blow out!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Christopher,

Thank you so much for your comments, it takes us improve our product every day.

We really appreciate the feedback and we are very pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us.

We hope that we will see you back again,

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent food, very friendly staff, excellent views and with it's own private beach.What more could I ask for. Right next to the party area but yet far away enough to not be disturbed by the noise. I had an amazing time and can't wait to go back again in a near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Paul,

I am very grateful to read these words and pleased to know that your stay in Hotel Florida has been a good experience.

Your positive valuation means a lot to us. That's why I would like to thank your gesture. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

José Solaz ( Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Have just stayed at this hotel with a group ranging between 24yrs and 62yrs old. We stood out from the crowd of 18 yr olds but we were able to enjoy our stay mainly down to the kind and attentive staff, great views and location and the wonderful food. We paid a very good rate for the wonderful service.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Mark,

Thank you for your comments. We are very happy you liked our hotel, especially the food, the the staff friendliness, service and the great views.

I would like to thank your gesture. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,

José Solaz (Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I know that Magaluf is for party people but this was something else.
The thin walls left nothing to the imagination and sleep at any time was difficult.
Screaming down hallways and slamming room doors woke us up if we did manage to get to sleep.
If you like Stag and Hens running wild then come and stay here.
Wrong hotel for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Kay,

I,m really sorry to hear that your stay wasn´t pleasant as you expected, but during the time that you were staying in the hotel, we had a really big group of people in ages 18 and 25, which come to Magaluf looking for fun and party, they live during the night and get up around 12 in the afternoon.

Once again I apologize for a bad experience at the hotel,

Kind Regards,

José Solaz ( director )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Visiting Magaluf for the first time as a group of 7 girls, we were very aware of what could have been in store of us. We experienced the entirely opposite.

Hotel florida is the perfect place to stay, just a few minutes walk to the strip, yet far enough away to get a good nights sleep.

The food, easily the best all inclusive food I have ever had, offering themed nights such as Chinese, Mexican and Italian. It can not be faulted!

The rooms were kept very clean and seen to everyday, with fresh towels and bedding.

The pool area became very busy towards the end of our stay, however there were always some sunbeds available. The beach is only a short walk away and can be seen from the hotel, which sits at the seas edge.

The pool bar was beautiful, a big thanks to Alejandro and the rest of the staff.

Magaluf as a whole is beautiful. It is kept very clean and the restaurants offer amazing food at good prices. The clubs themselves are what you would expect anywhere for a party holiday, our favourites were Alex's R&B bar, Chaplin's and Office Club - which offered a good range of music.

The only bad experience we came across was the Escapades reps. Who messed us around so much, there was no communication, didn't turn up for a boat party we paid for, didn't tell us our transfer time and made us chase them around to the hotel across the street to finalise our bookings. Not something you expect to do on your holiday, however this was nothing to do with the hotel themselves. They were very helpful in helping us complain about our issues to the Escapades office - they did everything they could to make sure our stay was the best it could be.

Amazing hotel, a wonderful holiday. Would 100% recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Magaluf.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bethomalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
psolaz, Gerente at Universal Hotel Florida, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Beth,

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at the Hotel Florida. We really appreciate the feedback and we are very pleased that you had a fantastic stay with us.

We hope that we will get to see you back with us sometime in the future.

Thanks again for the great feedback.

Best regards,
José Solaz ( Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#3 of 27 in Magaluf
757 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#4 of 27 in Magaluf
1,975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 27 in Magaluf
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
HSM Sandalo Beach
HSM Sandalo Beach
#7 of 27 in Magaluf
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#11 of 27 in Magaluf
2,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sotavento Apartments
Sotavento Apartments
#1 of 27 in Magaluf
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Hotel Florida

Property: Universal Hotel Florida
Address: Calle Torrenova 33, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Florida combines a privileged location, on a promontory in the bay of Magalluf, with the daytime and nighttime attractions of this well-known resort. A beautifully located sun terrace with pool and a fantastic view beckons you to relax, whilst a short walk separates the hotel from lively beaches and discos, bars, night clubs and restaurants offering fun into the early hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Universal Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Magalluf
Hotel Florida Magaluf
Universal Hotel Florida Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing