We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Universal Hotel Florida
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Reviewed June 26, 2008

when i looked at hotels in magaluf i stumbled across this well presented hotel with indifferent reviews. i decide to book the florida and am so glad that i did. 3 lads from sheffield stayed there and we all were amazed at how clean and well looked after it was. the most amazing view welcomed us as we opened our balcony doors, the ocean and an island known as lizard island. BREATHTAKING is the best way to describe it. The staff were always helpful and friendly especially the welcomer at mealtimes a happy very pleasant man called miguel.I would recommend this hotel to absolutely anyone young or old. it has something for everyone. the only thing that annoyed me were the prostitutes at the top of the hill near our hotel the police did not want to move them , but thats nothing to do with the hotel. WILL DEFINITELY GO AGAIN. LEE FROM SHEFFIELD

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leesheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,067)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2008

The hotel Florida looks good in the brochure, that is of course because they don't show you any pictures of the second building, which, on the outside looks depressing and when inside, looks neglected and dingy. The second building was where we stayed for a fortnight. The main entrance to the second building is through a fire exit. Inside the building, the hallways have paint peeling everywhere and look damp. The rooms however are very nice and are modern and fesh, a total contrast to the building itself. The rooms themself however have paper thin walls and so you hear everyone in the rooms below, above and next to you. During our stay, we had 3 groups of young guys in the only other rooms on our floor. We were woken up every morning at 6 when they arrived home, normally by the sound of the patio furniture smashing as it landed on the ground, 4 floors down, having been thrown from their balcony. As they were staying in the second building like us, hotel seemed to turn a blind eye. It seems that all young couples and generally the majority of british at the hote are put in this building, as the hotel caters mostly for germans, french and spanish.
The hotel food, although nice, is very limited.Upon arrival you are allocated a table which if you are acouple, you will share with another couple. Other tha the building being dingy, the views are amazing, the nightlife is great, and the pool areas nice too and the majority of staff at the bar and resturaunt are very helpful and friendly. Overall, i wouldn't return to the hotel florida as the steep hill yo walk up to get to it is the least of its concerns. Its not a hoel i would recomend, unless you are gauranteed a room in the main building.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I have just returned from a stay at this hotel. I came with 6 of my girlfriends to celebrate my fortieth birthday party. What can I say it was fantastic. We all had a seaview, the rooms were spotless and cleaned with fresh linen/towels everyday. The staff were all very hospitable and helpful. The hotel was lovely and clean, food in the restaurant was always lovely.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know and would certaintly return myself. The hill as people mentioned is steep but if 7 of us can get up there four nights on a run after a night of partying in high heels I am sure it will be no problem for anyone.

Roll on 2009 we will most definately be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Just got back from a fantastic stay at the Florida Hotel in Magaluf with one of my friends.
First off the view from our room was to die for , sea and sand as far as the eye could see. Rooms were well equipped with large bathroom , twin beds, tv and balcony.
Food was amazing large selection with something for everyone. Great location far enough away from the strip so it wasnt noisey.
Only down side was heart attack hill ( the walk too and from the hotel to get to the main strip) they say you get used to it and it gets better when your drunk ! This isnt true it took it out of us every time! Still not enough to put me off going again though deffinatly would return!!!
Any questions send me a message

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buggy07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

We have just returned from our holiday at this hotel ,and I can honestly say that It was fantastic.
The staff were verty friendly, especially in the restaurant.
The room we booked was a twin 3 as we have a young child , and it was great - there was actually a seperate bedroom that slept one - so it was great for when our child had gone to bed, we could still sit and chat on the balcony. The views from the balcony are second to none - WOW !! sea view just doesnt describe it. The food in the restaurant was excellent for adults if you are open to trying out different foods, if all you want is burgers and chips then dont bother - stay at home !! maybe there could have been a better selection of foods for younger children though.
Our rooms were cleaned every day, and the maids were very couteous.
The rooms were simple but clean.
The only down side to the hotel is the hill you have to walk up to get to it, but then it keeps you fit !! Also great for avoiding the mini tsunami and major tornado that happened whilst we were there as we were so high up !! - see videos on you tube - really, we had these !! not many trees left in magaluf !!
All in all we had an excellent stay but wont return yet as there are better hotels in the area with childrens facilities, maybe when were older and our child is on a club 18-30 in the samos then we will !!!
HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR COUPLES AND FAMILIES WITH OLDER CHILDREN WHO CAN AMUSE THEMSELVES !!
GREAT POSITION FOR GROUPS OF STAG AND HENS !!
NOT TOO GOOD FOR LESS MOBILE UNLESS GET TAXIS UP THE HILL !!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travel_agent01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2007

We stayed in the Hotel Florida 10th Sept for a week. I must say it was quite basic but if you are only there for sleeping which we were then you definately cannot go wrong with booking this hotel. The food was lovely something different each night. The short walk down to the centre of Magaluf wasnt far but that hill was a killer for the first few days but you get used to it. We met some great people and would definately go back there next year hopefully. Have fun if you decide this hotel. OH one more thing Jose the waiter - yum!!

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank EssexStacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PrincessSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
1,713 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
0.8 mi away
HM Martinique
HM Martinique
#18 of 28 in Magaluf
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.5 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#7 of 28 in Magaluf
738 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sotavento Apartments
Sotavento Apartments
#2 of 28 in Magaluf
860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Torrenova 33, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: $56 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Florida combines a privileged location, on a promontory in the bay of Magalluf, with the daytime and nighttime attractions of this well-known resort. A beautifully located sun terrace with pool and a fantastic view beckons you to relax, whilst a short walk separates the hotel from lively beaches and discos, bars, night clubs and restaurants offering fun into the early hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Universal Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Magalluf
Hotel Florida Magaluf
Universal Hotel Florida Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing