We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go all inclusive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Universal Hotel Florida
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Magaluf
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Do not go all inclusive”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It sounds like great value but the food is terrible. And mark my words it is terrible. I went recently with three other mates and we ate in the restaurant twice (dinner and lunch) and we never returned. It was sloppy old tired food. I can't stress it enough the FOOD IS TERRIBLE. The pool on the other hand was brilliant. Overlooking the sea, absolutely smashing. Also when booking your room ask for the 8th floor (you will not regret it) the view is AMAZING. I repeat the food is terrible and with restaurants a two minute walk away and so cheap why eat there. The free booze is also the cheapest of the cheap (which none of us had ever heard of).

Enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Ask for an 8th floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    381
    153
    54
    73
See reviews for
64
349
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to Magaluf for a six night holiday. We chose Hotel Florida on the basis of a good price for all inclusive and looked good on the pictures. The hotel was spot on. Clean, staff were friendly, food was average but what can you expect for £230 for a week all inclusive. The pool was pefrect, overlooking the sea. A five min walk to the Magaluf strip with many bars close by. The hotel felt very safe. I enjoyed my holiday =]Thankyou.

Room Tip: We had a room on the reception level. Perfect if you don't like steps or lifts, however the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholasssss3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Five other girls and myself just got back from our first girls holiday in Magalluf and we're so so glad we stayed at Florida! The staff were really helpful, we had a couple of problems with our safe and maintenance arrived within half an hour both times. The maids were brilliant and managed to make our rooms look presentable every day! We were half board and I thought the food was lovely, plenty of variety every evening and the wonderful hotel managed greeted us every time we entered the restaurant! It was a lot quieter than other hotels on the strip but still plenty lively enough in the day and until 12pm (Although we did get told off a couple of times for playing music past 12). The pool was plenty big enough with enough sunbeds and the chance to trot down the cliffs and jump in the sea!
Only thing to comment would probably be that we weren't actually in the main hotel but a separate building next door. Not an issue for us but if you wanted to make sure you'd probably better ring ahead and specify.
Brilliant holiday, perfect hotel!

Room Tip: Our room had a beautiful sea view, definitely worth enquiring about!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zero_Monkeyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Went for my mates hen do, and loved it! DO NOT TAKE A FAMILY!!!!!!! Full of stags, hens and bday do's. Hotel is really clean and the rooms are a good size. They did make a massive mess up with ours and and other groups rooms though and some parties were split up and sent to other hotels so make sure you take paperwork to prove you booked etc. What a view over the bay, stunning! Food was lovely and the choice was great. You may want a meal out if there longer than a few days. The hotel was really quiet at night which was a susprise. Pool area was ok. Sunbeds were chained together so we couldnt always get the sun, but we struggled through. Digital safe in each room, bonus. Would defo recommend for a short break with mates x

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPeahead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

I am recently just back from staying here from 17 june 2013. On arrival everything was great, checked in fine staff was friendly and the place is spotless through my full stay. The lift they have is a pain only 4 people are allowed inside and sometimes if it is too much weight it beeps continuosly for you to get out very frustrating with suitcases etc as you can imagine. The first few days were great however the noise level is ridiculous!! Walls are paper thin you can hear conversations from next door and people up stairs flushing the toilet to moving a chair. I also experienced wakening up to strangers in my room as my door was opened during the night which guests let themselves in. I cant even explain the food either, i lived on a few chips and that was it, it looked vile, nothing labelled just all flung into a dish. Also i was half board which meant if there was water on the table when we sat down the waiter would rudely snatch it and walk away, we had to pay for water or any sort of drink. Wifi is 10 euro for a weeks worth and it is very slow and frustrating. Also it is a good location however when i went i thought the hotel was just on the hill but thats not the case just off the trip there is one massive hill that everything else is on, not exaggerating your legs will be tonned once your back it defo takes it out of you. The hotel view is amazing though. This looks like a very negative view as i am explaining all bad but it was a fab holiday however i would just stay self catering next time and the money spent on food was 100% not worth it.

Room Tip: the reception is on level 6 so try and get a room above level 6 or the noise will irritate you! enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claudine k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is a great hotel the staff are so helpful, the restaurant is spotless very clean and the food is well presented, the restaurant staff are so welcoming and bend over backwards to service you. The manager was at the door welcoming us at ever dinner service such a nice guy he was.
The rooms had a fantastic view, the rooms were basic but clean so no problems there.
As you know magaluf is for young people and so is this hotel, I would not recommend for families.
The hotel is on top of a hill but it will keep you fit after eating all the lovely food at the hotel.

I would recommend this hotel, very well priced and good location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbury england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week with my wife and and a friend in june and had a good time. We found the rooms to be basic but clean with the biggest problem being no aircon there are fans but they made little difference.the food at the hotel was average but we always found something we liked.the staff at the hotel are very nice and friendly and would always give you a smile,we did have a few issues with the spanish youngsters pushing in at the bar but we soon told them that there was a queue or told bar manager and he sorted it.the hotel has a nice pool area with lovely views over magaluf and we never had a problem getting a sunbed all in all had a fab time and would return to this hotel if they put air-conditioning in rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunthrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Magaluf hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#2 of 28 in Magaluf
1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#6 of 28 in Magaluf
689 reviews
0.6 mi away
BH Mallorca
BH Mallorca
#10 of 28 in Magaluf
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Guadalupe
Sol Guadalupe
#5 of 28 in Magaluf
2,106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sotavento Apartments
Sotavento Apartments
#1 of 28 in Magaluf
809 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Hotel Florida

Property: Universal Hotel Florida
Address: Calle Torrenova 33, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Florida combines a privileged location, on a promontory in the bay of Magalluf, with the daytime and nighttime attractions of this well-known resort. A beautifully located sun terrace with pool and a fantastic view beckons you to relax, whilst a short walk separates the hotel from lively beaches and discos, bars, night clubs and restaurants offering fun into the early hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Universal Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Magalluf
Hotel Florida Magaluf
Universal Hotel Florida Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing