We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the cheapest....but very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Guadalupe by Melia
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Magaluf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

It's true you can get much cheaper deals in Magalluf but I felt this hotel was worth the extra cash. Stayed on 8th May for 4 nights with a group of middle aged guys and it suited us down to the ground. Didn't see too many youngsters though I'm sure they do stay here in greater numbers in the Summer months. A pretty quiet hotel with a very large (cold!) pool - again I'm sure it heats up by August.

We were lucky and had great weather. Short, 8 min walk to the beach. It's the 'bottom end' of Magalluf ie the Southern end. Well away from the Strip which gets a bit crazy. Oh, and on that subject the PR guys & gals are much more pushy these days. Walk from place to place individually and they won't bother you so much. They're only interested in larger groups. If, like us, you frequent the Plaza Cafe in the evenings it's about a 15 min walk, no more.

Went half board and the food was pretty good. Lots of variety. One of our group felt it was a little 'samey' but I didn't. Down to personal taste I suppose. Staff were very friendy and they booked us in as soon as we arrived at 9.30am which surprised us as we expected to have to store our bags until the afternoon. The lady receptionist put our rooms next to each other too. Rooms very clean - absolutely spotless - but the cleaners respected your 'Do Not Disturb' sign if you wanted a lie-in.

We're off again next May and will almost certainly book here again.

Room Tip: I stayed overlooking the pool on the third floor. This was great. However, my mate stayed on the opp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 2,289 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

Very near the centre of Magaluf but far enough away from it to stay away. Near to lots of lovely restaurants. As we were staying in Magaluf, we were worried the hotel would be full of drunk 18/19 year olds, but it wasn't! The lovely beach was a short walk. If we didn't go to the beach it was very nice to lay by the pool. Lots of sun beds and a good sized pool. We were so impressed with everything in this hotel. The food was great and hotel was very modern. Would recommend anyone considering to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Latiffe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaB418, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Guadalupe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Latiffe1,

It was very kind from you to share your opinion about Sol Guadalupe and to recommend it! Thank you very much. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we all hope to see in a near future.

Kindest regards,
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a long weekend in May. Stay here every year but was a little disappointed this time as my room on the 9th floor smelt of drains when we advised the hotel of this a cleaner just put extra beach down the toilet and for 4 day our room stank.

The food was nice but no fresh prawns or salmon like before.
Would still visit the hotel as always clean and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadeth89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaB418, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Guadalupe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Jadeth89,

Many thanks for such a good review, your comments have been passed on to the personnel concerned. Some strange smell in the bathroom could take place in the mounth of May because we opened the hotel on the 1st May and during the winter it was closed so you were the first guest in that room this season and we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience.

Waiting for your next visit!
Kindest regards.
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We decided to stay in Magalluf as it is the closest resort to the beautiful cove beach of El Mago. We picked this hotel because of the price.
The hotel is clean, spacious. The standard of food is good though the restaurant felt more like a canteen than a restaurant. The staff were helpful when needed. We stayed in room 457 which was close to the lifts. It could be noisy at times because of this. This is a family hotel so if children running around and babies crying bothers you, then this hotel isn't for you. Our room faced inland and an apartment complex aimed at young people. The music from this complex would annoy some though, when the balcony door was shut, you couldn't really hear it. And they did stop the music at a reasonable time. The noise may sound like an issue but it wasn't really. On the downside, they charge €5 per day for car parking (street parking a couple of minutes walk away is plentiful and free) Also, €50 for the room safe for 1 week?? Anyway, this aside, we would have no problem staying at the Guadalupe Sol again. We just hope we get better weather next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaB418, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Guadalupe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Malc H,

We thank you most sincerely for your review which has certainly motivated us all in such a positive way. We only would like to make a small comment regarding the room safe: it was some kind of misunderstanding because it costs 15 euros per week and 5 euros - a key deposit which will be refunded to you at the end of your stay.

Best wishes and see you soon,
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I have been visiting Magalluf for 10 years and always stay here, The hotel is in a great location , the pool is great for families, the maids do a great job as always very pleasant.The food has slightly went downhill in the evenings not as much choice as there used to be but could always find something i liked.The staff seem to do a good job.
Hairdryer in bathroom. small fridge in room large tv.
I stayed in May and glad i did not have my kids with me the groups of guys that were guests had no manners no fault of the hotel but could not even get to the bar to get served in the evening.
I am returning in July for a family holiday so hopefully i will be giving the Guadalupe an excellent review after that.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweedy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaB418, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Guadalupe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Tweedy67,

Your kind remarks have been passed to all our personal as it is always a great pleasure to hear from guests who choose our hotel time and time again. Client satisfaction is the most important thing for us and it's so nice to hear that all our efforts mean that so many people choose to come back to see us so often. Sincere thanks for your comments and we look forward to your next visit in July and we hope your next stay with us will be perfect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is recently renovated and stylishly decorated. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Rooms were average size for a 4* but were comfortable with air conditioning, a roof fan and a small fridge. Breakfast was the same everyday with either continental or a good full English Breakfast being available (with HP Brown Sauce). Dinner was varied offering about five different meal types and there was also a good salad selection. On the whole a winner!

Room Tip: Pool View is a bit noisy because Manos Bar is directly over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiteiveston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaB418, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Guadalupe by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Whiteiveston,

We are very happy to know that in Sol Guadalupe you have found everything you were looking for. Hope to see you and your friends in a near future!

Many thanks and best wishes,
Olga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Myself and 5 friends stayed. We wanted a nice hotel that was peaceful at night when we were ready to sleep!

Great decor very modern style, pool lovely and overall a nice quality place to stay.

Location ideal for beach and not too far a walk to the

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Magaluf
0.2 mi away
Hotel Samos
Hotel Samos
#1 of 30 in Magaluf
1,826 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol House Mallorca
Sol House Mallorca
#9 of 30 in Magaluf
703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Wave House Hotel
Sol Wave House Hotel
#8 of 30 in Magaluf
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sol Katmandu Park & Resort
0.7 mi away
Universal Hotel Florida
Universal Hotel Florida
#10 of 30 in Magaluf
1,081 reviews
38.5 mi away
Sol Cala d'Or by Melia Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Guadalupe by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Guadalupe by Melia

Address: Ctra La Porrassa S/N | Calvia Beach, 07181 Magaluf, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Sol House Guadalupe)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Magaluf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Magaluf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Magaluf
Price Range: $64 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Guadalupe by Melia 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Guadalupe is ideally located only 200 meters away from the magnificent sandy Calvia beach. The hotel is offering leisure and entertainment services designed for all ages. Enjoy the spectacular lagoon-style pool with whirlpool as well, 2 kid's pools (one of them with slides) and 1 semi-covered pool. Modern and comfortable rooms completely refurbished with balcony overlooking the pools, the mountains or with sea view. Sport activities programme, entertainment with live music, shows and musicals for all ages. Mini club with creative games, crafts and sport activities. 24-hour self-service kitchen for families with babies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Guadalupe by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Guadalupe Magalluf
Sol Melia Magalluf
Sol Guadalupe By Melia Magaluf, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing