We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Picturesque Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fornalutx
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leeds
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Picturesque Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2008

Sa Tanqueta is a small family run apart /hotel with father, son, daughter and her husband all working hard to ensure you have a relaxed stay. All are lovely people with Fina Colum the main point of contact working on reception .
We stayed in a spacious beautifully appointed one bedroom apartment/suite with breathtaking views of the mountains and Soller valley.Accomodation was on a bed & breakfast basis with a good food selection at breakfast - the fresh orange juice comes straight from the hotel's own orange grove!
During our 10 day stay the mix of guests was 50/50 English and German with a predominance of young couples and guests aged 50+. I would say the hotel and area is too quiet for your average teenager.
The village of Fornalutx is a quiet picturesque gem with a good selection of decent quality restaurants and a lovely square with a couple of friendly laid back bars.The area is a walker's and sightseer's paradise (Fina was very helpful in selecting walks for me and my wife) but may not suit everyone as it is quiet and also around 4 miles from the nearest beach. A car is pretty important if you want to make the most of your holiday.
Sa Tanqueta is a million miles from the 'commercial Majorca' know to many. This is a great place for a quiet relaxing holiday in an area of stunning scenery - we will be back.

  • Liked — The stunning location & the friendly hotel team
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NickJ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
62
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2007

Yes we were back at Sa tanqueta. We were welcolmed like old friends. The apartment was as always very clean and comfy. We had a two bedroomed apartment with two bathrooms. Ideal for a family or two couples sharing, works out about one hundred and fifty pounds a night, or one hundred for a one bedded apartment. This also includes breakfast. The weather was not the best so we couldnt use the pool area which is just perfect set overlooking the valley. The village remains enchanting. We ate twice at Cafe Med the food was of top quality the service was excellent, but even this time of year it is advisable to book, tel [--]. The owner and chef are both English, and will make you very welcome.

  • Liked — Standard of accommodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reviewer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2006

This was our first visit to Mallorca although we have been to many other Med islands, large and small. We were not disappointed and anyone who thinks its all like Magaluf is in for a pleasant surprise!
Our two couple party had one of the two bedroomed apartments with 2 ensuites, a living/cooking area, and a shaded terrace overlooking the lovely pool and with unspoilt mountains as a backdrop. All the equipment and fittings were of a good standard and kept immaculately clean both inside and out. Staff were helpful and polite without exception. Car parking is easy and secure within the hotel/apartment's own grounds.
The location is simply fantastic (better for sure than Petit Hotel or Can Reus) and certainly lived up to its billing. Quiet, yet within easy reach of Soller Town by car (<10 mins) or foot, from whence you can take the old train to interesting Palma or the equally antique tram down to Soller Port (a good swimming beach to the left on the lighthouse road). We had no problems finding parking spaces anywhere except in Soller Town centre itself.
In the evenings you can stroll into the village square to the two or three cafe/bars or dine from a choice of several reasonably priced restaurants. The daily changing breakfast buffet was really excellent and the fresh orange juce from the hotel's own trees is just as good as they say.
Despite its small size the village has a couple of decent food shops for something to go with the vino.
Criticisms? The harshest thing I can say is that the interior lighting was a little dim and furnishings somewhat plain, but everything else was just "perfick" and if I was going again I'd look no further!

  • Liked — the cleanliness and outstanding view
  • Disliked — internal lighting level could be improved
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank malken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

Sa Tanqueta is in a lovely setting with most views over the Tramantana mountains. There are a few blots on the horizon - the patch of land where they plan to build a few more apartments and the local boules/football pitch can be seen from some angles! It is very quiet and had a predominately German clientele during our stay. The owners are very pleasant expecially Toni who makes up for his lack of English with his smile and enthusiasm for life! Fina and Eva look after front of house and speak very good English.
The apartments are well maintained and ours was large and bright. I think some of them may be a little darker and despite having been disappointed not to be able to book a terrace we thought some of the terrace rooms weren't so nice - although others were very well positioned. There is only a two ringed hob but this was fine - we hadn't intended to cook but we had terrific rain/thunderstorms on a few evenings and it was useful to be able to eat in as it was a little walk into the village (and one of the routes was flooded!!) and in fact everything seemed to shut down when it rained - good job we anticipated this! The crockery/glasses /pans etc were very new and plentiful. The dishwasher was a boon and tablets were supplied. We did have a leaky roof but the rainfall was unbelievably bad on two evenings so this was exceptional!
The pool area was small but lovely and very tranquil.
Breakfast was excellent - fabulous orange juice and then a good selection of fruits, meats, fish, pastries and something hot each day- bacon and scrambled eggs or fried eggs or boiled eggs. The mix is strange to us but certainly was plentiful and well presented. There was a toaster to make hot toast, served with home made jams and local honey.
The village is beautiful and there is a delightful square at the heart of the village. Regretably none of the three bars in the square lived up to expectations. Heat and serve tapas and pizza seemed to be the limit (with a picture menu board!) and this was disappointing. There is also a restaurant run by an English couple in the square but we had to cancel our meal here as "rain stopped play". We did eat at both the restaurants on the hill leading into the village. Es Turro seems to be the guidebooks favourite but we preferred C'Antuna which had a better welcome and nicer food. The food again was a little disappointing really but adequate (chips seemed to feature too heavily for our liking). There was another restaurant but this never seemed to be open after we discovered it! We did find excellent restaurants in Soller and Puerto Soller which were more authentic and varied. Soller is about a 30 minute walk through the mountains or by road if you prefer. We took the train to Palma from Soller which was fun and good value and also the tram from Soller to Puerto Soller.
The village fiesta was held during our stay - we had been warned about this but perhaps expected something a little more traditional than a rock band playing from 11.00pm to 6.00am on the football ground behind the hotel!
We did like Sa Tanqueta and would probably return if the food in the village was better - we do prefer to have good food within walking distance in the evenings and this was not really the case here.

  • Liked — Lovely setting
  • Disliked — The limited food in the village
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ALF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2006

Sa Tanqueta is indeed in a beautiful setting amongst the orange groves (and they are the most delicoius oranges we have ever tasted). It is very very quiet: we kept our voices low all the time! Our apartment was lovely with stunning viiews. Unfortunately it was over booked our first night which certainly put a dampner on the start of our holiday. We were taken to another apartment in the village for one night and told to return for breakfast the next day and our apartment would be ready at 9am, which it was. We would however certainly recommend a stay here. The village is very pretty and there are 3 or 4 good restaurants, a couple of bars in a lovely square and an excellent supermarket if you want to cook yourself. Visit the Carthusian Monastery in Valdemossa close by if you get the chance

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CAHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2006

Sa Tanqueta is situated in Fornalutx, a sleepy beautiful village set in the mountains above Soller.
If you're looking for a relaxed setting well away from any disco or beach, then this place is perfect for you.
Here's a summary: Sa Tanqueta is a group of self contained apartments built into a complex which is in-keeping with the village, ie, they look stunning inside and out! Breakfast is included in the price, and this is biased towards the classic european style of cold meat, eggs, etc.. which isn't to everybody's taste, but I'd question anybody who can fault the orange juice, seeing as the apartments are built inside the Orange grove.
Fina Colom, will assist with any requests you need, especially arranging restaurants within the region.
I see I'm the first to review the place, so others may question some of the views. Then again I am biased as the good lady accepted my proposal of marriage when we stayed here!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank RobC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornalutx
0.1 mi away
Can Verdera
Can Verdera
#2 of 4 in Fornalutx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fornalutx Petit Hotel
Fornalutx Petit Hotel
#3 of 4 in Fornalutx
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ca'n Reus Hotel
Ca'n Reus Hotel
#4 of 4 in Fornalutx
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Finca Hotel Son Palou
1.2 mi away
Finca Ca's Sant
Finca Ca's Sant
#9 of 37 in Soller
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
4.5 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta

Property: Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta
Address: Calle Sant Bernat s/n, 07109 Fornalutx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Fornalutx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Fornalutx
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sa Tanqueta Fornalutx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing