We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great walks, great holiday”
Review of Ca'n Reus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca'n Reus Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fornalutx
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Ca'n Reus is a spectacularly situated hotel, comfortable, friendly and with breakfasts which, we all agreed (I was in a group of 5), must be the best in Spain. Every morning they are different with a deft mixture of English and Mallorquin - eggs, bacon, spicy chorizo sausages, "coca" (Mallorquin pizza), local meats and cheeses and, for the health conscious, muesli, fresh fruit salads and juice made from the oranges of the valley.
The hotel rooms are a bit small but Ca'n Reus is a former merchant's family home and the decoration and atmosphere more than made up for that.
We were a walking group and the owner was incredibly helpful with advice about local walks. She even accompanied us one day on a five hour walk and organised a typical Mallorquin lunch at a "Refuge" half way around. And, on the days we did not walk, there is a pretty garden and comfortable terrace in which to read, snooze and soak up the spectacular views. In all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank liv0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Ca'n Reus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 166 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2008

We have just returned from our fifth stay in Fornalutx at the highly individual Ca'n Reus. As always we felt that we were part of a rather exclusive houseparty rather than hotel guests. We were late booking so did not wake up to amazing mountain views offered by the premier rooms but the scent of the orange blossom from the surrounding orchards and the peace of village life were more than sufficient to compensate for any lack of visual stimulation. We walked on three days of our stay, enjoying the abundance of wild flowers , the staggering views of sea and mountains and the occasional glass of fresh orange juice from farmhouses on our route. Our breakfasts at the hotel were excellent, we ate tapas by the sea at Soller and a memorable last night dinner in a lighthouse. A wonderful way to spend a birthday and as always after our sojourns at Ca'n Reus we met several couples with whom we had much in common and who we hope to meet again. Incidentally, the weather was glorious. We shall return.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AriesNewForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at Ca'n Reus. We were recommended this small hotel from some friends of ours who stayed there in August 2006, having found it in the Alistair Sawday B&B book of Spain (who is usually a very reliable source of good places to stay).
We were a bit disappointed when we booked that none of the rooms with a view over the mountains were available and had read one of your less favourable reviews about a 'cold and lonely' stay and shabby bathrooms. Nevertheless having spoken to the owner, Sue, on the phone I was reassured that this top room overlooking the narrow street at the front was fine.
We were instantly charmed by the welcoming front entrance and although our room was rather dark and cold it was very comfortable, clean and well aired, with lovely large fluffy white towels in the bathroom. We immediately explored the local area by doing one of the 45 minute walks that Sue describes in her really useful and accurate information pack found in the room. We returned to find Sue herself serving tea on the terrace which we then looked forward to every afternoon.
Nick and Sue recommended and booked a lovely restaurant for us to eat at for our anniversary, organised a taxi there, served us with Cava on the terrace before we left for our meal and even tipped off the restaurant that it was a special occasion, leading us to be handed a glass of sparkling wine as we arrived and sent out to watch the sunset!
The village really is one of the prettiest we have ever visited and we had some delicious food in the local restaurants.
Sue had some friends staying at the same time as us and we were made to feel part of one big happy family group. Her team were also excellent and very attentive when Sue was not there. The breakfasts, afternoon tea (both served outside on the terrace in the lovely warm sunshine and fresh mountain air) and overall warmth and friendliness of the place, as well as the beautiful surroundings will definitely attract us back and I would recommend it . We would hope to book into one of the larger, lighter rooms with mountain views next time but for the little time we spent in our room we were very comfortable and the rest of the hotel and service more than made up for it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WiltshireHolidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

We had booked for three nights at this hotel, we knew it would be off season and were prepared for that. What we were not prepared for was the fact that the owners would be away and the only person responsible for the hotel would only be there in the morning. The hotel was very cold, even the portable heaters didn't help much, there was an open fire but sadly it remained unlit.
Strangely we were assigned a room we didn't book, apparently this was because it had a better view, however it also had two single beds, as a couple this was inconvenient and we would have liked to be consulted before our booking was changed.

We found the information provided about the local restaurants limited and when we discovered that there was a local carnival due to happen which would mean all would be closed it was the last straw. We checked out early and booked into the Portixol hotel in Palma, which was blissfully warm, staffed and comfortable.
I think this would be a charming hotel in summer but more thought needs to be given to the comfort of guests when it is not the busy period.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Garris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jebLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank RA_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fornalutx
0.0 mi away
Fornalutx Petit Hotel
Fornalutx Petit Hotel
#4 of 4 in Fornalutx
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Can Verdera
Can Verdera
#2 of 4 in Fornalutx
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
855 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ca's Curial
Ca's Curial
#2 of 37 in Soller
453 reviews
5.8 mi away
Es Moli Hotel
Es Moli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Deia
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca'n Reus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca'n Reus Hotel

Address: Calle Alba Nr. 26, 07109 Fornalutx, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Fornalutx
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Fornalutx
Price Range: $166 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca'n Reus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca’n Reus can be found in the prettiest village on the island, Fornalutx, surrounded by lemon and orange trees and olive groves.This rural hotel offers spectacular views over the Tramuntana mountain range, comfort and warm hospitality. It is an ideal venue for walkers, for those who want to explore the island and for those who simply want to relax by the pool in the hotel garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ca'n Reus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca`n Reus Hotel Fornalutx
Ca n Reus Fornalutx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing