We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Belmond La Residencia
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good, but not perfect”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for eight nights at this beautifully situated hotel in the lovely little village of Deia. We were picked up from the airport by the first of what was virtually without exception an excellent set of staff. Marga on reception and Andro one of the Maitre D's were particularly impressive amongst a very happy and helpful team.
We spent part of our stay in a junior Suite and part in a Classic Room. ( We booked late and couldnt get a suite for the whole stay) Both were spacious and well equipped, with good maid service twice a day. The bathroom in our Classic Room was a bit small, and the aircon wasn't adequate. The TV reception was poor, which made watching Wimbledon in the early evening and Lions at the weekend difficult. We raised the aircon and TV with reception but there was no discernable improvement. Not really good enough at €1000 a night on average.

Breakfast is in El Olivo and is excellent. Great choice in the buffet and you can get virtually anything you like cooked freshly. And a great location in the morning sunshine on the terrace.

Other food was mixed. We tried San Morague for dinner which was OK but a bit soul less but accompanied by a determined pianist, and had a good couple of lunches at the poolside restaurant, the buffet is great. We had dinner three times at El Olivo, and can say it was OK, but no more. It is also pretty expensive for what you get. On our final night we were virtually ignored by the Maitre D, but he was also not directing the staff either so it was quite chaotic. Dishes we had were Soller Prawns with Pork Belly which ranged from good on the first night to poor on the last, turbot which was over salted, sea bass which was excellent, beef which was pretty good and monkfish which was OK. Extensive and expensive wine list with no half bottles other than dessert wine, a shame.

The main pool is good, but got slightly noisy and posy so we mainly went to the smaller adults only one. Good poolside service with remote buzzers to call a waiter. Plenty of sun loungers and towels and umbrellas.
The Spa was good with very pleasant and competent staff.

The gardens and terraces are really beautiful.

Reception staff were really helpful, efficiently organising car hire and restaurant bookings off site. Deia has some good restaurants, Sebastian is probably the best all round but we also enjoyed Es
Raco d'es Teix and even a basic Italian, all within a couple of hundred yards walk of the hotel. See separate reviews.

La Residencia is physically a beautiful hotel with generally fantastic staff, and Deia is lovely, if possibly a bit quiet for some, but not us. So why not 5 out of 5? I think mainly because of a series of individually minor issues, the small bathroom, the inadequate aircon, the poor TV, the OK but not great but expensive food in the evenings, the overwhipped and somewhat artificial cream rather than proper cream with the afternoon tea, none of it individually major issues, but just a bit disappointing. So it's only four out of five I am afraid. Would we go back? Definitely and hope that we are able to give it five out of five next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jerseyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulisses M, General Manager at Belmond La Residencia, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your extensive and detailed review, which had our best attention.

I am glad that in general you have enjoyed your stay in Deià and thank you for choosing La Residencia. Definitely the whole setting is magical, complemented then with our dedicated team, makes it a very special place.

The comments on El Olivo were taken in very good consideration and addressed with the respective department heads, as our aim is to have it consistent, and your feedback is of great importance.

We keep investing on the property and in the people working with us, so look forward to your next visit and for a 5 out of 5.

With best regards from Sunny Mallorca.

Ulisses Marreiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    81
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
109
370
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Let me start off by saying that I only came to mallorca because of La Residencia. I adore orient-express hotels (particularly caruso and splendido), and I try to go to as many of them as possible in. I'm american, and I had never heard of Mallorca before I saw it on an orient-express map.

La Residencia was the last hotel we stayed at; we also stayed at can cera, son brull, and jumeriah port soller---see my other reviews for my comments on those.

La Residencia is, in my opinion, the only hotel on the island that is luxurious, while maintaining a sense of Mallorcan culture, and while still having a fabulous location. We did the donkey picnic with two wonderful burros, Luna and Pancho, and it was my favorite activity that we did during our entire stay in Mallorca. We ate at Miro twice, watching the sun set over the water while eating tapas that were not unreasonably priced (especially compared to other restaurants in Deia). We had an outdoor couples massage which was amazing, with the scenery of Deia right behind us. And, on the recommendation of the staff, the last night we went to Sa Fonda, a local music bar within walking distance, which was a really fun experience :)

This wasn't my favorite orient-express hotel, only because I like to be near the water, and our room (a junior suite) was quite dark with no balcony, so I thought it was a little expensive given that we paid the same price as the hotel caruso to stay here. But, the character of this place far exceeds caruso and even splendido, in my opinion. It really does feel like a home away from home---so the name la residencia is quite appropriate, in my opinion. Highly recommended, and hope we can return soon!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cambie032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulisses M, General Manager at Belmond La Residencia, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your visit and review on this forum.

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your time in Mallorca and that our company has enticed you and helped to discover this pearl in the Mediterranean.

La Residencia is really an amazing place, full of character with unique and interesting experiences. I hope that next time you can enjoy a master class with our resident artists or our walk and talk tour visiting the local artists.

Look forward to welcoming you again in your home in Mallorca.

Best regards from Tramuntana Mountains.

Ulisses Marreiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here back in may so it was still spring time and wasn't that hot and not too busy! The hotel was amazing with such a relaxing atmosphere the rooms had a Mediterranean decor .. I had an amazing view of the valley and my parents got an amazing room with two terraces ! The food at all the restaurants were amazing we had loads of mallorcan wine which was of course recommended by the waiters my favourite time of the day was relaxing with a cocktail before dinner on the terrace of the hotel the service was really good and the spa I highly recommend ! An overall great experience definitely recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The setting of this hotel is superb, in Deia yet with huge grounds. More colourful flowers this year. Core staff well trained and greet you like an old friend (what ever they feel!) Seasonal staff not as good, understandably. Wonderful main pool, happily underused. Introduction of children does not seem to have caused problems.
What could be better? well sadly some rooms need refurbishment if people are to remain happy paying the huge rate. Up again this year? For a hotel of stature food needs upgrading. El Olivo has always been overpriced and now loosing cachet being used for breakfast, where there is little sun in the eating area, by the way. Cafe Miro, poor site, average food , excessive price. Pool provides the best food but is expensive. Wine prices... well, you can get a bottle of cava in the village for less than a glass in the hotel .
la Res is the sort of place where if prices matter you should not go, but they are teetering on the brink with charges at the moment, I feel.
Wonderful site, wonderful core staff though!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poggy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulisses M, General Manager at Belmond La Residencia, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review and feedback.

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed the new colours on the terrace and all the flowers, as well the warm hospitality delivered by our team. We appreciate the recognition of the training delivered and your words will encourage us to continue with it. We have just finished another 11 days of intensive training for all.

We would love for you to try El Olivo and its new selection of dishes, and definitely did not loose cachet, and gained even more awareness, after serving the breakfast there. You would like to know that also recently we have changed the menu at the Café Miró.

The prices for all the drinks are displayed on the wine list, which has 480 references, and within them, you will find a wide range of items and prices, that are in accordance with the majority of the establishments of the same level.

Look forward to welcome all of you to enjoy the beauty of the Tramuntana mountains and our genuine hospitality.

With best regards.

Ulisses Marreiros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and were pleased generally and I was in two minds about posting this as the criticisms seem almost petty but for about £1k a night including food you would hope it was as good as anywhere and the reality fell a little short.Our small patio garden was overgrown with 10 inch weeds,the breakfast was usually cold with missing items.The East European staff did not seem as well trained as the local staff and the lead waitress for dinner announced that one of our starters was made of Philadelphia cheese (I think she meant cream cheese) and referred to any ladies in our party as 'Okay laydeee' which seemed a little strange.My main course was also burnt but I didn’t bother to send it back as our party of 8 would have been delayed.Our particular bedroom was overlooked by every single angle so we had to be careful not to scare the hotel patrons when exiting the shower or while in bedroom and needed to keep all shutters closed if we were not dressed which was a little tiresome.That said the room was clean and the staff generally well trained and the hotel has a unique position and we were glad to have gone there.However its not as good as Le Manoir,Finca Courtesan or Relais La Suvera in Italy.I dont think the restaurant demonstrated true value and while the food was good it was by no means truly great.The complimentary boat trip was excellent and well thought through and a great touch.All in all nice hotel but not up there with the greats in my opinion.

Room Tip: Ask if there is demolish/construction work happening in the village when you stay as the valley in w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancisD_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulisses M, General Manager at Belmond La Residencia, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind review.

I am glad to read that in general you have enjoyed your time in our hotel, and that our new added value of the complimentary mini cruise, was also appreciated.

The comments made were taken in great consideration and in a constructive way. They will be used in the training we constantly deliver and the basic shortfalls, on service and cuisine level, were already addressed with the respective department heads. I regret that they were not immediately reported and apologize for it.

Once again many thanks for your visit and definitely we will be striving to do more and better, and your comments will help us to get there.

With best regards from Sunny Mallorca.

Ulisses Marreiros
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from the most magical stay at La Residencia.
From the moment you enter the driveway you are welcomed by the most beautiful grounds and spectacular backdrop of the mountains.
The staff were so friendly and professional from the moment we arrived - nothing was too much trouble.
We stayed with two young children who were catered for extremely well to ensure we all had a relaxing holiday.
We had a fantastic babysitter from the hotel, our toddler loved his very special sculpting lesson with the delightful in-house sculptor and the new boat trip around the coastline was simply stunning.
This hotel is truly special and caters for all those looking for true relaxation.
The staff and management have successfully created a haven for all by having dedicated areas for adults and children and providing absolutely first class customer service.
We had the most memorable stay and look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Youonlyliveoncex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a truly amazing hotel this is. Perfection at its best. Will definitely be going back. Stayed in room 24 and it was a lovely room. Lots of space 2 bathrooms very peaceful! The staff were excellent in every way. Never obtrusive but always on hand if you needed anything. Evans in the pool area was a star!

Room Tip: Room 24 is excellent and whilst chatting with some of the other returning guests apparently 64 is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deia
4.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
811 reviews
42.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 16 in Canyamel
329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Moli Hotel
Es Moli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Deia
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
Sant Francesc Hotel Singular
#3 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
436 reviews
12.4 mi away
Posada Terra Santa
Posada Terra Santa
#2 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
771 reviews
14.5 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#3 of 182 in Calvia
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residencia

Property: Belmond La Residencia
Address: Calle Canals s/n, 07179 Deia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Deia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residencia 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone's throw from the Mediterranean, nestled beneath the Sierra de Tramuntana, Belmond La Residencia is set in two manor houses from the 16th and 17th century. All the 67 rooms and suites are exclusively designed and decorated in typical Mallorcan style and some suites feature a private swimming pool. For the ultimate of privacy, guests can choose to stay in the hotel's private villa, sharing all the facilities with the hotel and located just a few steps away in the charming village of Deià, a secluded artists' haven. Dining opportunities on property include the gourmet El Olivo Restaurant, the Cafè Mirò and the relaxed Pool Restaurant located just beside one of the pools. Guests at Belmond La Residencia have plenty of possibilities to relax and regenerate. They can linger by one of the two outdoor swimming pools, be spoiled with an exclusive treatments at the award-winning Spa, which includes an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gym and six treatment rooms, or they can enjoy a fully-equipped fitness centre and two superb tennis courts with a resident tennis coach. A complimentary boat excursion is available daily during summer months to explore the most beautiful corners of the coast. And to enter the deepest spirit of Mallorca, the hotel offers an exclusive donkey trail with its resident donkeys in the hotel's own olive groves followed by a picnic with traditional Mallorcan dishes. Moreover, the hotel boasts an art gallery with temporary art exhibitions and art classes with the resident painter and sculptor. A Kid's Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of funny and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Belmond La Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Deia
La Residencia Hotel Deia
Belmond La Residencia Deia, Spain - Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing