We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem along the spectacular drive on the west side of Mallorca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belmond La Residencia
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We enjoyed the tour from Andratx with all the curves and bends. Almost too much, but we arrived in Deia with apetite for a lunch at a place out of this world. We had been told that this hotel is worth a stop, and not only that, but spending time and money there. We parked off the main road and walked up to a splendid terrasse where we were greeted by the Maitre D´hotel as if were long time friends.
No hesitation. We sat down at the terrasse in wonderful sunshine. Nov. 20.!!! And enjoyed the excellent food and service of the very friendly staff.
Please make a note of this place and make it a natural ´pit-stop´on your trip around the island.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Olav_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 656 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2012

We dined in El Olivio restaurant in La Residencia for our anniversary. We had a pre dinner drink sitting outside on beautiful white couches on the lawn. The atmosphere in the restuarant was very romantic and the food was outstanding. I was very impressed with the number of languages spoken by the maitre d. We will certainly go back. I would like to stay in the hotel next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

In off season despite few guests the staff were perfect.
The location & village are fantastic even when it is raining.
And the wellness area is the best we have had in the last time.
Breakfast is an expierence. Take it slow & enjoy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecosseMunchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel had been on my list of places to visit for many years so I was very much looking forward to staying here. In the main, it really is a very nice place to stay but it isn't perfect, or certainly wasn't during our stay. I do agree with the other reviewer who mentioned the average age of the guests though - even though we're in our 40s I think we brought the average age down by about 15 years.
Let's start with the good. We had an entry level room and whilst it wasn't massive it was very comfortable indeed, and included free wifi and ipod docks as well as all the usual amenities. The room was in the house that also contains reception and we were pleased with this - as opposed to some of the other rooms which seemed to be housed very close to the breakfast room.
The staff are in the main very nice and friendly and helpful.
The main pool, whilst a little chilly, was a great area and never seemed to be that busy.
Breakfast, both food and setting was lovely.
Despite our worst fears, we actually really enjoyed the managers cocktail party and talking to the staff.
So, to the bad. We waited almost 1.5 hours for our table to be ready in the main 'casual' restaurant despite having a reservation. We weren't the only ones who waited this long. I gather it was an off night but the price was still the same. Then, on our final night, despite having booked at reception, Olivo restaurant didn't have our reservation. They still seated us but that's not the point.
Both points were raised with the hotel who apologised profusely but it's not really what you would expect at this level.
I'm glad we went and I'd consider a revisit but I'd probably stick to a high quality boutique offering in future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheryltheperil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Well - its expensive BUT you are paying for 5 star set up. Great location, beautiful setting, excellent food & quality accommodation. We arrived for a 4 day break planning to continue exploring Mallorca by car after a week in the south. But the car stayed in the car park as we just chilled. Highly recommended, & if the food is to much, try Sebastians in Deia - 5 minutes away. Will return!

Room Tip: Check out if you have a courtyard room as ours was noisy late night & early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andmarCornwall_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is a great base for a cycling holiday with numerous routes to ride via Valdemossa to the south and Soller to the north. The west coast is anything but flat with spectacular scenery and after 50 or 60km in the saddle there is no better hotel to return to. Great comfort, food, service and all under one roof.
The hotel will organise everything including a variety of top road bikes from a Trek to a Mercx. Lots of other activities such as tennis, walking, pilates and an excellent gym. Closed from November to March. October and April are great cycling months with temperatures in the low 20's

Room Tip: They are all good and there is a secure cycling store.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

La Residencia has been on my to do list since the mid 90's when Branson took it over along with an old favourite, Rhinefield House in the UK. Now part of Orient Express with rates to match I thought La Residencia would be amazing. Although we couldn't actually stay on this trip I thought the next best thing to do was to have a look around and try the restaurant, so this review is only really about the food. The hotel looked great, although be sure to get a room at the front with a view of the mountains or else you will be paying a lot for just another hotel room. There isn't much to do in the tiny town so either have a car, a good book or a very good friend with you... As for the El Olivo restaurant (the only one open)....THE GOOD: the view was awesome...over the cutesy town to the stunning mountain backdrop...perfect. The staff were friendly and helpful. THE BAD: The menu was ordinary...plain...dull, dull, dull. I expected so much more from an Orient Express hotel in the beautiful mountains of Mallorca. Hamburger and chips? Garlic bread with olive tapenade? Really? There was so little of the local cuisine that it was soul destroying. I tried the fish and shellfish broth...small bowl with plenty of fish chunks but the shellfish must have escaped on the way back from the market...and the broth was so fishy it was like licking the floor of the fish markets at the end of a hot day...yuck...couldn't finish it. THE UGLY: What's worse is that my girlfriend has spent the last 30 hours throwing up from food poisoning! Yep, a dodgy something at El Olivo hit her so badly that we had to miss our flights to Barcelona the following day and get her medical assistance to recover. If I had been staying at the hotel and paying the rates demanded I would have been even more furious, but I don't see myself ever taking that leap of faith in the future. Eat there at your own risk.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank HulaKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deia
4.4 mi away
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
Jumeirah Port Soller Hotel & Spa
#2 of 8 in Port de Soller
889 reviews
0.4 mi away
Es Moli Hotel
Es Moli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Deia
497 reviews
42.5 mi away
Park Hyatt Mallorca
Park Hyatt Mallorca
#1 of 15 in Canyamel
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
Boutique Hotel Can Cera
#4 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
569 reviews
10.9 mi away
Gran Hotel Son Net
Gran Hotel Son Net
#1 of 1 in Puigpunyent
608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
Hotel Sa Pedrissa
#5 of 7 in Deia
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond La Residencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residencia

Address: Calle Canals s/n, 07179 Deia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Deia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Deia
Price Range: $482 - $1,427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond La Residencia 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone's throw from the Mediterranean, nestled beneath the Sierra de Tramuntana, Belmond La Residencia is set in two manor houses from the 16th and 17th century. All the 67 rooms and suites are exclusively designed and decorated in typical Mallorcan style and some suites feature a private swimming pool. For the ultimate of privacy, guests can choose to stay in the hotel's private villa, sharing all the facilities with the hotel and located just a few steps away in the charming village of Deià, a secluded artists' haven. Dining opportunities on property include the gourmet El Olivo Restaurant, the Cafè Mirò and the relaxed Pool Restaurant located just beside one of the pools. Guests at Belmond La Residencia have plenty of possibilities to relax and regenerate. They can linger by one of the two outdoor swimming pools, be spoiled with an exclusive treatments at the award-winning Spa, which includes an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, gym and six treatment rooms, or they can enjoy a fully-equipped fitness centre and two superb tennis courts with a resident tennis coach. A complimentary boat excursion is available daily during summer months to explore the most beautiful corners of the coast. And to enter the deepest spirit of Mallorca, the hotel offers an exclusive donkey trail with its resident donkeys in the hotel's own olive groves followed by a picnic with traditional Mallorcan dishes. Moreover, the hotel boasts an art gallery with temporary art exhibitions and art classes with the resident painter and sculptor. A Kid's Club with an English-speaking supervisor is available to entertain the younger guests with lots of funny and exciting activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Belmond La Residencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residencia Deia
La Residencia Hotel Deia
Belmond La Residencia Deia, Spain - Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing