We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit - very nice break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Universal Hotel Romantica
Reviewed September 13, 2013

we returned for 4 days and stayed at Hotel Romantica again. It was my birthday and they very kindly left a bottle of Cava in our room for when we got back from the beach - nice touch ! We went B&B which is fine for us. I'd recommend eating at Cafe y Sal just a few metres away, nice hot foot and very friendly staff. Also, for a drink try Bar Jayda which is on the right hand side off the first roundabout away from Romantica - much better prices than the "flexible" prices we encountered at the German bar "Heike" .. I think they charged what they liked €7.90 for a gin and tonic, as opposed to €4-5.00 everywhere else. Also, the pizza restaurant on the right (black and white sign writing) on the main road is fabulous and lovely fresh pizzas.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 299 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This big family hotel is very well located, rooms are big enough, very good attention, a little bit crowded, but nice to go with children, nighy show was fantastic, karaokes included. Food was excellent, the airport transfer fast, and the beaches nearby wonderfulll

Room Tip: try rooms with sea view, arrive early for dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

For those who plan to be in Es Trenc beach, Colonia st Jordi is the nearest village. The hotel stuff were very friendly, the room was large and comfortable. Although the hotel design is quite oldish the room was clean and with a nice sea view.
breakfast and dinner were rich and good. A very good value for money and I will sure visit again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Very nice hotel, food was good and the facilities were fine. Fabulous resort, with a few simple bars and restaurant - no karaokes, English pubs etc .. Spain in the 80's springs to mind. Very quiet past 11:00pm. Fabulous beaches and clear sea.. No pressure sellers on the beaches etc - already booked for next summer !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

The Hotel is in a good location if you want to be close to lovely beaches, bars and restaurants and want a peaceful place to relax and recharge your batteries.

The Hotel staff were all lovely (reception,bar staff, maids, and entertainment guy), with the exception of the guy who struts around at Breakfast in a suit, found him quite rude tbh.

When we checked in we were told to go to the bar where we would be welcomed by the manager (not sure what that was all about??) he came and said hello, told us that breakfast was 7-10am and we could sit where we wanted if we sat outside but that the tables inside were allocated so we would have to sit at the one allocated to our room. He then told us that the hotel had the best beach on the island (It really isn't, there are some lovely beaches very closeby but the hotel's beach doesn't have any sand, just rocks, and they have put down some decking for sun beds and a ladder down into the sea). He then told us our room number and said to go back to reception to get the key (all very strange).

The room was clean, had a bath and a shower, tv (no English channels only German ones), safe and a balcony. Downside was no air con (just a large ceiling fan) would have been ok if we could have left the balcony doors open but we were on the first floor so it didn't feel safe to do so at night.

Breakfast proved to be a problem, if you are going to sit inside make sure you ask where you can sit, most tables have numbers on them, I couldn't find one with our room number on so I sat at one without a number, only to be berated by the guy in the suit who told us to move in no uncertain terms, even though there were lots of empty tables and we were half way through breakfast!!

The sun bed policy wasn't explained to us (you have to pay to prebook them at reception) we just found a couple of empty ones and made ourselves comfy for the day only to be turfed off again because someone else had paid for them!! This could have been avoided if someone had explained this at check in (I'm sure it was all written in the welcome pack in the room, trouble is that is all in German, as was the feedback leaflet the maid left in our room on the last day).

The hotel (and the area in general) is 90% German tourists so everyhting is very much catered towards them. Wherever we went we asked if we spoke German and were greeted by surprise when we said we didn't!!

There is a little train that stops outside the hotel and takes you down to the port which has a lovely beach and restauants it takes about five minutes, or you can walk, there is a decked path along the coast if you turn left out the back of the hotel, it's a lovely walk and takes about twenty minutes. We hired bikes one day at seven euros each for the whole day, and hired a speed boat for an hour at the port for just 35 euros. Would recommend both.

Room Tip: We would have slept better if we could have left the balcony doors open because there was no air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elsie_Dee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

I can't say enough about how friendly the staff was here....They made us feel so welcome!! We left another hotel (sur mallorca) because the staff was so rude, we thought this might be the malloracan way but were pleasantly surprised!
The location of this hotel is PERFECT! It's a very short walk to the beach, and the hotel is surrounded by restaurants and shops. The hotel has a pool and a dock with loungers situated on the sea and a a ladder leading into the sea as well...It's perfect!
Breakfast was included but due to our early flight we needed to leave by 4:30 am...The staff gave us a wake up call and set up breakfast special for us. It was delicious and such a nice gesture! If given the chance to return to mallorca I would most definitely stay here!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelenfamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Just back. Stayed last week in September. Attention to service very high. Buffet breakfast and dinner was excellent. Great choice of fab fresh food. 2 mins from one of the best beaches on the island. The town is very quiet and very laid back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia de Sant Jordi hotels
0.3 mi away
Universal Hotel Marques
Universal Hotel Marques
#4 of 17 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Thb Sur Mallorca
Hotel Thb Sur Mallorca
#5 of 17 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Chiquita Hotel & Spa
Villa Chiquita Hotel & Spa
#7 of 17 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera
Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabre...
#8 of 17 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blau Colonia Sant Jordi Resort & Spa
Blau Colonia Sant Jordi Resort &...
#1 of 17 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
615 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel el Coto
Hotel el Coto
#2 of 17 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Universal Hotel Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Universal Hotel Romantica

Address: Calle Caravel.La 4, 07638 Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Colonia de Sant Jordi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Colonia de Sant Jordi
Price Range: $73 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Universal Hotel Romantica 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Children have a wonderful time here. A large garden, a children's splash pool and a creche all guarantee quality holidays for young and old alike. The most beautiful sandy beach on Mallorca is a few minutes' walk away and the nearby village and port of Colonia de Sant Jordi stands out for its quiet, family atmosphere, inviting one to stroll and relax. In the Romantica, families feel good. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Universal Hotel Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Romantica Colonia De Sant Jordi, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing