We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of THB Sur Mallorca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
THB Sur Mallorca
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a week in May and were very impressed by both the staff and the hotel itself. We had a late night arrival and were met by a very pleasant receptionist who could not do enough for us even offering to provide us with a late dinner. Our room was very clean and modern and the view from the balcony was exceptional. We had one little problem with our room safe but the hotel staff fixed this for us immediately and the service we received from all staff including bar and catering staff was exemplary. We chose half board and the quality of both breakfast and dinner was excellent. The hotel is a 5 to 10 minute walk from the town and if you're not feeling like walking a little road train stops just outside the hotel which leaves you down on the promenade. We really enjoyed our stay here and the exceptional customer focus of the staff impressed us so much that we will return later this year. All in all it's a first class hotel in a lovely small, quiet and friendly resort.

Room Tip: A North side room has wonderfu views over the mountains and Es Trenc beach in the distance and gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    199
    116
    42
    34
See reviews for
129
290
42
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just back from a seven night stay[ half board] with my wife in Sur Mallorca.We booked at short notice to escape the vagaries of our local weather and this was our first trip to Majorca.
On arrival at the hotel check in was made effortless by a friendly and helpful receptionist.We were allocated a room on the 6th floor with magnificent sea views.The room was adequately spacious,spotlessly clean and maintained in very good order.
During our stay we had no complaints over food and restaurant/bar service.Restaurant dinner menus varied by the evening and offered lot's of choice to suit different tastes.Lot's of fresh fruit on offer for breakfast as well.Dining room service was professional and helpful.The staff are really hard working and attentive.Our room was serviced daily and bed linen changed mid week.The standard of cleanliness is very high.
The resort of Sant Jordi offers very little by way of bars and restaurants,mostly by the marina and few in number.It has very few shops of quality.Because of this the hotel must be more mindful of the need to provide evening and night time entertainment for its' clientele.It fails miserably to do this.Entertainment was provided on just three of the evenings during our stay.With the exception of one evening which had a guitarist/vocalist of reasonable standard,albeit dated, the other evenings were utterly risible,amateurish and reminiscent of 1970's holiday camp rubbish.How any hotel management in this day and age should be "proud to present" an International transvestite act which mimes it's way on stage beggars belief and is really an insult to intelligence.
I did not manage to get the hang of the air con system in our room but not a major issue for us during our week.One other area of disappointment was the foul odour in the gents downstairs toilets which prevailed throughout the week.My wife found a similar problem in the ladies toilets.While both are meticulously clean the odour is ever present for some unknown reason.
The sea front location of the hotel is excellent.While the nearest beach is fifteen minutes walk away there are long sea front walks by boardwalk/paved walkway stretching for miles either side of the hotel.Terrain is level making it ideal for people with walking disabilities.
Would we go back to Majorca.? Yes.
Would we go back to this hotel.? Yes.
It has a habit of growing on you.Brilliant holiday and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcgillj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here just for one night whilst on a cycling tour. The room was recently refurbished and very nice with a good sea view. The restaurant was very good, with freshly cooked food as well as the buffet and excellent breakfast. Staff were friendly and helpful. the best bars and restaurants are about a 10-15 minute walk along the sea-front to the harbour area.

Room Tip: ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frestonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is located about a 30 minute easy drive from the airport. I used a local car rental company, autoscano@telefonica.net which came highly recommend. I was meet at the airport by Faustina and on my way within 5 minutes. No excesses to worry about. You simply return the car to the airport with the same amount of petrol. I was upgraded and allowed two hours grace.

The location of the hotel is superb. The bedrooms are very comfortable. The reception staff are a major asset to this hotel. I found them to be most welcoming, friendly, hard working and efficient. Thanks to Victoria, a very pleasant receptionist, I got a very nice quiet room on the upper floor with stunning sea views - just gorgeous! The cleaning lady was very attentive - never forgetting to replace missing bathroom accessories. The buffet represents good value for money. The noise levels in the dining room are noticeable lower than those of an equivalent size in out hotels.

Colonia de Sant Jordi's main attractions are its many beaches. The best known is Trenc, located north-west of the town which I found to be disappointing because of the enormous amount of unsightly rubbish in the area. On the other hand the beaches to the south are exceptionally clean and beautiful.

This is a very good location for safe easy walking and cycling. A pedestrian boardwalk follows the coast all the way around Colonia. Both regular and electric bicycles are available locally. I use Ciclos Mora info@ciclosmora.com located just a few blocks from the hotel and found them excellent and competitively priced.

Room Tip: All the rooms have sea views but those on the upper floors facing towards Platja des Trenc have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MunsterMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

in my opinion, the best hotel in the area as it combines the location and the value for money.

1/ it is very easy to find when arriving from the airport driving. there are many hotels in the area but this one is truly well located.

2/ it is a four star,basic, but the very friendly and helpful staff make it up to 5 star.

3/ the pool is large and clean. it is out door and not heated though, we arrived end of April, so swimming was a problem.

4/ the rooms are clean and the view is great, ninth floor. the toilet and bathroom facilities are simply perfect.

5/ the had a simple show every night at the bar area, simple but very enjoyable.

6/ the drinks and the meals are well priced and cheaper than the local restaurants.

7/ we booked breakfast as part of the package, I was very impressed, the buffet contained everything you could think off, from all kind of eggs to fresh fruits, yogurts, teas/coffees etc.

8/ other activities that you pay for, bicycle hire, tennis, shooting etc. we booked a massage session. it was definitely worth it, I would recommend it.

9/ finally, as we hired a care, we drove the whole island in 5 days. we visited most of the big cities, I was only grateful I booked this one. Palma is the biggest and the worst. Arcudia, the second biggest, best avoid, great beach but really run down. there are other places but Colonia Sant Jurdi was not as heavily populated as the rest.

10? don't forget to visit the ostrich farm, look for it, great!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank headache123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excellent hotel, very clean and well organised, breakfast was lovely...evening meal was nice with a great selection, however sometimes the food was a little cold :/

Staff were all lovely (apart from one grumpy waiter). The childrens entertainment man Gusman was lovely and very friendly, my son loved him and he made his holiday! Plus the views from the hotel were outstanding!

Overall great stay, would def stay again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Amie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our stay was perfect apart from 1 grievance with late night manager who was far from perfect - he let down all staff and leaves a lot to be desired!

Our room was excellent! Large, spotless, wonderful views and had everything you could need! Food was good, there was something for everyone and all very tasty. Little evening entertainment but that was no problem for us!

The hotel location is great, situated in a beautiful town and and easy drive to other areas of the island. I would definitely recommend hiring a car when staying here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curlz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colonia de Sant Jordi hotels
0.6 mi away
Blau Colonia Sant Jordi Resort & Spa
Blau Colonia Sant Jordi Resort &...
#1 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.3 mi away
Universal Hotel Romantica
Universal Hotel Romantica
#5 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Universal Hotel Marques
Universal Hotel Marques
#2 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Universal Hotel Cabo Blanco
Universal Hotel Cabo Blanco
#7 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lemar
Hotel Lemar
#8 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabrera
Aparthotel & Hotel Isla de Cabre...
#9 of 18 in Colonia de Sant Jordi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB Sur Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB Sur Mallorca

Property: THB Sur Mallorca
Address: Plaza Cristobal Colon, s/n, 07638 Colonia de Sant Jordi, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Colonia de Sant Jordi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colonia de Sant Jordi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — THB Sur Mallorca 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 198 rooms and they all have a balcony and sea view, a fully equipped bathroom with hair-dryer, air conditioning, a safety deposit box with charge and a TV with satellite dish.. Unbeatable facilities such as a bar, the reception hall, a satellite TV lounge, coin operated internet connection, a restaurant-buffet and a conference lounge for 50 people. There is also a sports zone with 2 tennis courts, a volleyball court, a five-a-side football court, ping-pong, and a garage for bicycles. The hotel has a swimming pool for adults and one for children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your THB Sur Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb Sur Mallorca Hotel Colonia De Sant Jordi
THB Sur Mallorca Colonia De Sant Jordi, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing